Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 56 of 56
  1. #31

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Along the Eastern shore of Lake Michigan
    Posts
    732

    Default

    Now here's the deal. You may need a car anyway so lease a new hybrid and rig up a cord in the garage and run it direct via some voltage reducers, F1nut can work out the details. The car sits there with perfect voltage and starts up by itself when needed and if you screw it up it's under warranty.
    Main Family Room: Sony 46 LCD, Sony Blue Ray, Sony DVD/VCR combo,Onkyo TXNR 708, Parasound 5250,
    Polk SDS-SRS with mods, CSI 5 center + Klipsch SC2, Polk RT2000P rears, Klipsch KG 1.5's sides, Polk Micro Pro 1000, Polk Micro Pro 2000, Polk SW505, Belkin PF60, Signal Cable Classics,Monster IC's, 2 15 amp circuits & 1 20 amp circuit.

    Living Room: Belkin PF60, Parasound HCA2200, MIT ProlineEXP balanced IC's,Emotiva XDA-1 DAC/Pre,Emotiva ERC2 transport,MIT AVT2, Polk LSI 9's.

  2. #32

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Magnolia, NJ
    Posts
    4,079

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    Still not good enough to use with a he-man amp.
    Yeah, I guess you're right...what do the pros & recording studios know? The only downside to the Equitech units is the pricing (if one is on a limited budget)...but worth every penny & then some. Trust me any he-man amp would jump up & kiss you for plugging it into one of those units. The wall socket be damned.
    "2 Channel & 11.2 HT "
    Panny 65" 3D Plasma
    Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3010 AVR
    D>SONIC M2-600M mono's / mains
    Rotel RMB-1095 / 5 channel amp
    Rotel RMB-1075 / 5 channel amp
    TEAC UD - 501 DAC
    Oppo BDP-93
    SONOS System
    KEF Q900 / mains
    KEF Q600 / center
    KEF Q800 / surrounds
    KEF Q100 / rear surr.
    Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 / front & rear presence
    Velodyne SPL-1200R subs / dual pair
    DSPeaker Anti-Mode 8033 sub EQ
    Equitech Balanced Power Son of Q 1.5R
    Extensive room treatments

  3. #33

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    13,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    It's only rated at 1500 VA / 12A. Certainly not something one wants to plug a he-man amp into.
    You are correct for banks 1 -4 which are not designed for high current devices like a Man amp or in this case the Bat amp, you have to use the 2 High current outlets that are rated at 1800 VA / 15A. Not many amps require more juice that that my friend , maybe on start up and IF you listen at extreme volumes and tax the Caps inside the amp. Then you might consider using something else. But on that budget , this used would be a great find. It's a perfect balance between Voltage correction, line conditioning , Surge protection , High current ability and at a affordable price used and fits this budget. New it's a bit out of budget but how can one put a budget on protecting ones system?
    On a side note I have run Big NAD , Anthem , Bryston , Krell , Rotel , B&K amps off this very unit and never ran out of juice. Again remember that unless your running full power max volume and taxing the amp , you will never need any more juice. I have done some pretty bad ass theater rooms with Multichannel amps from those companies and ran at reference volumes and didn't lose dynamic range due to not enough current supplied to the amp.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/PANAMAX-M540...item4d0b1407a2
    Last edited by mantis; 03-31-2013 at 08:32 AM.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.

  4. #34

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    3,469

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mantis View Post
    Panamax 5400 is the one man , forget the rest and get the best at the price point.
    Dan, I've been looking at these a lot. How big of a step up is the 5400PM from the 5400EX? What about the 5300PM and EX?
    2-Channel:

    Source 1: PC
    Source 2: Rega Apollo CDP
    USB > SPDIF Converter: Stello U3
    DAC: Audio GD NFB-7
    Preamp: Audio Research LS-15
    Power Amp: BAT VK-500
    Speakers: Magnepan 3.7's

    HT:

    Source 1: HTPC
    Source 2: Oppo 103
    Pre/Pro: Marantz av8003
    Power Amp: Rotel RMB-1095
    Fronts: LSiM-705's
    Center: LSiM-704c
    Surrounds: LSiM-702's
    Subs: Dual SVS PC12-NSD's

  5. #35

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,416

    Default

    I like my Panamax 5500EX, I bought it used for $550 a few years ago but they are very hard to find. It is a regenerator as well.

    http://www.lasareath.com/html/84%20-...er%20Cords.htm

    Eventually I will be installing one of these into my system at the power panel:

    http://www.surgex.com/pdf/XN120-LR.pdf
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  6. #36

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Rocky Top TN
    Posts
    401

    Default

    To drift a little in direction...let me ask a question. Would we be better off taking a hard look at the components we put into our audio systems before getting real out there in expense and effort on the power side?

    Let me explain. If you have typical noise spewing switch mode supplies in any component in your audio system and don't do something, then you've increased the chances of less resolution in the audio produced. The vast majority of noise comes from those most intimately connected components. Then after that...from other things in physical proximity and then after that...from other things on the same power legs in the house. I'd suggest little typically comes in from the outside world. Most the noise on the lines YOU have introduced with your selections of devices and appliances!

    I am not suggesting noise treatment isn't appropriate. Quite the opposite. I'm simply suggesting that often no thought is given to the type of things we introduce into our systems and their low level but persistant audio problems that can be introduced as a result.

    You can read in any forum on the ol' WWW of heroic heavy lifting being done to power lines. How often to you read of somebody ripping a noisy power supply out of their digital source and building a nice quiet linear supply? How much scrutiny is there on the filtering on the power lines of your CD player with regards to noise being impressed on the lines as the result of it's insertion into your system?

    It makes no sense to not be critical of some of the cheap switcher wall warts or using the fraudulent Obama bulbs in your house and then go back and worry about trying to filter this noise back out. I'm suggesting that filtering is a good thing....AFTER you look at balancing the load in the house between phases, after you try to get the noisier appliances off the leg feeding your system and after you try to at least minimize if not dispose of the noise makers.

    Power lines are transmission lines and the source impedances the power originates from is a dominant effect. The most effective filtering is to never introduce the noise in the first place. THEN work on the remaining.

    CJ
    As seen on the AVS forum... "Radio Shack zip cord kicks butt."

  7. #37

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,215

    Default

    Trust me any he-man amp would jump up & kiss you for plugging it into one of those units. The wall socket be damned.
    Oh, how little you know. Do you even have dedicated lines?

    or in this case the Bat amp, you have to use the 2 High current outlets that are rated at 1800 VA / 15A.
    But that amp requires at least one 2400V/20 amp line.

    On a side note I have run Big NAD , Anthem , Bryston , Krell , Rotel , B&K amps off this very unit and never ran out of juice. Again remember that unless your running full power max volume and taxing the amp , you will never need any more juice.
    Sure you can run a he-man amp off a 15 amp line, but it will never perform as it could at any volume level. Think transients and dynamics. Not to mention the amp will run cooler. Hell, I upgraded the line to my Poineer AVR from 15 to 20 amps and can clearly hear the improvement.

    I have done some pretty bad ass theater rooms with Multichannel amps from those companies and ran at reference volumes and didn't lose dynamic range due to not enough current supplied to the amp.
    How would you know they didn't lose dynamic range since you have nothing to compare? Maybe you can get one of your customers with a 15 amp line and the Panamax to upgrade to at least one dedicated 20 amp line, then run the power gear directly. You and they WILL hear the difference.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  8. #38

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    360

    Default

    That poor little 15 Amp circuit is rated for 15 Amps continuous for 3 hours. I don't want to be anywhere near a home hi-fi system using that kind of power. The only way a 15 Amp circuit breaker can limit power is by tripping.

    If you has a 15 Amp circuit connect 18 of those old fashion 100 Watt light bulbs to it, the turn-on current could reach 150 Amps!

  9. #39

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    Since we are on the subject I guess I'll ask a question.

    Currently I plug my Belles 350a Amp into the wall socket. Is the Belles considered a mans Amp? I'd guess it's a 15 amp circuit.

    I'm not causing myself a problem am I?

  10. #40

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedskater View Post
    That poor little 15 Amp circuit is rated for 15 Amps continuous for 3 hours. I don't want to be anywhere near a home hi-fi system using that kind of power. The only way a 15 Amp circuit breaker can limit power is by tripping.

    If you has a 15 Amp circuit connect 18 of those old fashion 100 Watt light bulbs to it, the turn-on current could reach 150 Amps!
    I'll bet you don't think cables matter either.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  11. #41

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NJPOLKER View Post
    Since we are on the subject I guess I'll ask a question.

    Currently I plug my Belles 350a Amp into the wall socket. Is the Belles considered a mans Amp? I'd guess it's a 15 amp circuit.

    I'm not causing myself a problem am I?
    Yes Drew, it's a man's amp. Not so much causing a problem, it's a case of not getting all that your amp has to offer. Run a 20 amp line to it and you'll hear what a difference it makes.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  12. #42

    Member Sales Rating: (47)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sufficiently Breathless
    Posts
    11,270

    Default

    No Drew,, it's a girlie amp-- ditch it quickly!
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)

  13. #43

    Member Sales Rating: (7)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by george daniel View Post
    No Drew,, it's a girlie amp-- ditch it quickly!
    Thanks George!!! Is that why you want one???????????? I gotta run that 20 amp line. Should be easy since I have access through the basement ceiling.

    Thanks guys

  14. #44

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Magnolia, NJ
    Posts
    4,079

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    Oh, how little you know. Do you even have dedicated lines?



    But that amp requires at least one 2400V/20 amp line.



    Sure you can run a he-man amp off a 15 amp line, but it will never perform as it could at any volume level. Think transients and dynamics. Not to mention the amp will run cooler. Hell, I upgraded the line to my Poineer AVR from 15 to 20 amps and can clearly hear the improvement.



    How would you know they didn't lose dynamic range since you have nothing to compare? Maybe you can get one of your customers with a 15 amp line and the Panamax to upgrade to at least one dedicated 20 amp line, then run the power gear directly. You and they WILL hear the difference.
    I must say your posts are very entertaining with no actual substance. Pretty much you MO. But don't fret, we still love ya!!!! Oh and yes I have a dedicated 20amp line & nothing will ever replace my Equitech unit. Do you even know anything about them?
    "2 Channel & 11.2 HT "
    Panny 65" 3D Plasma
    Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3010 AVR
    D>SONIC M2-600M mono's / mains
    Rotel RMB-1095 / 5 channel amp
    Rotel RMB-1075 / 5 channel amp
    TEAC UD - 501 DAC
    Oppo BDP-93
    SONOS System
    KEF Q900 / mains
    KEF Q600 / center
    KEF Q800 / surrounds
    KEF Q100 / rear surr.
    Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 / front & rear presence
    Velodyne SPL-1200R subs / dual pair
    DSPeaker Anti-Mode 8033 sub EQ
    Equitech Balanced Power Son of Q 1.5R
    Extensive room treatments

  15. #45

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canuckistan
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    But that amp requires at least one 2400V/20 amp line.


    The BAT VK500?Does it come from the factory with a 20 amp AC cord or IEC input?

  16. #46

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pearsall001 View Post
    I must say your posts are very entertaining with no actual substance. Pretty much you MO. But don't fret, we still love ya!!!! Oh and yes I have a dedicated 20amp line & nothing will ever replace my Equitech unit. Do you even know anything about them?
    No Phil, you're the joke and frankly I'm sick of your piss poor advice. You're not even smart enough to have purchased the Equitech 20 amp version that would allow you to utilize that 20 amp line to it's full potential.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  17. #47

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FTGV View Post
    The BAT VK500?Does it come from the factory with a 20 amp AC cord or IEC input?
    Good question and I'm not sure. I do know that it's full power consumption rating is 2000 watts.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  18. #48

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Magnolia, NJ
    Posts
    4,079

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    No Phil, you're the joke and frankly I'm sick of your piss poor advice. You're not even smart enough to have purchased the Equitech 20 amp version that would allow you to utilize that 20 amp line to it's full potential.
    Priceless...worth the price of admission. : Oh & by the way the Equitech unit was purchased back in 2005, the dedicated line came a few years later. No biggie...it still performs beautifully.
    "2 Channel & 11.2 HT "
    Panny 65" 3D Plasma
    Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3010 AVR
    D>SONIC M2-600M mono's / mains
    Rotel RMB-1095 / 5 channel amp
    Rotel RMB-1075 / 5 channel amp
    TEAC UD - 501 DAC
    Oppo BDP-93
    SONOS System
    KEF Q900 / mains
    KEF Q600 / center
    KEF Q800 / surrounds
    KEF Q100 / rear surr.
    Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 / front & rear presence
    Velodyne SPL-1200R subs / dual pair
    DSPeaker Anti-Mode 8033 sub EQ
    Equitech Balanced Power Son of Q 1.5R
    Extensive room treatments

  19. #49

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pearsall001 View Post
    Oh & by the way the Equitech unit was purchased back in 2005, the dedicated line came a few years later. No biggie...it still performs beautifully as a choke point.
    Fixed it for you.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  20. #50

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Magnolia, NJ
    Posts
    4,079

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    Fixed it for you.
    Thank you so much, I feel much better now that you cleared that up. But of course you still don't know what the hell you're talking about.
    "2 Channel & 11.2 HT "
    Panny 65" 3D Plasma
    Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3010 AVR
    D>SONIC M2-600M mono's / mains
    Rotel RMB-1095 / 5 channel amp
    Rotel RMB-1075 / 5 channel amp
    TEAC UD - 501 DAC
    Oppo BDP-93
    SONOS System
    KEF Q900 / mains
    KEF Q600 / center
    KEF Q800 / surrounds
    KEF Q100 / rear surr.
    Def Tech ProMonitor 1000 / front & rear presence
    Velodyne SPL-1200R subs / dual pair
    DSPeaker Anti-Mode 8033 sub EQ
    Equitech Balanced Power Son of Q 1.5R
    Extensive room treatments

  21. #51

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    131

    Default

    I have belkin PF60 and that is the first one I ever bought. So really i cannot comment on comparison, but it certainly is doing great job for us. I feel that the pic is a bit crisp and the humming noise that I would rather get due to cable box and other equipment in the system is not there.

  22. #52

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,439

    Default

    I have a panamax that just robs my amp with the logans

  23. #53

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    It's only rated at 1500 VA / 12A. Certainly not something one wants to plug a he-man amp into.
    Check again. That 12A rating is only for the voltage regulated outlet banks. The unit also has high current outlet banks that are not voltage regulated.
    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  24. #54

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    Good question and I'm not sure. I do know that it's full power consumption rating is 2000 watts.
    Full power consumption that it will only use when driven to its limits, in the case of a class AB amp. At average listening levels, its going to be drawing no where near maximum, and any 15A rated line conditioner or AC branch circuit may be enough under those conditions. A 15A time delay breaker will pass several times its nominal rating for moments at a time, as in response to musical transients.
    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  25. #55

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    I'll bet you don't think cables matter either.
    What's this nonsense, cables matter? Name:  jerry.gif
Views: 102
Size:  2.0 KB
    If you can't hear a difference, don't waste your money.

  26. #56

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    119

    Default

    panamax

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Power Conditioners/Power Plants
    By dei08dei in forum Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-04-2011, 06:49 PM
  2. Power Conditioners/Line Conditioners
    By GregoryOrme in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 10-03-2009, 07:16 AM
  3. Power conditioners
    By Skynut in forum Electronics
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 11:00 PM
  4. Power Conditioners and power draw......
    By brettw22 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-06-2005, 01:01 PM
  5. Power Conditioners
    By trubluluc in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-13-2001, 11:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts