Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default HDMI from the video card doesn't render 5.1 channel, can I use S/P DIF on Sound card?

    Hello all:

    I have my 5.1 HT system and I wanted to hook it up with my computer. My video card has a HDMI port and I connected it to my AVR 2600 receiver, however only two channels have sound. After some study I concluded that the limit is in video card which only generates two channel sound. Then I noticed that I have the S/P DIF interface on my audio card. The questions are:
    1. Can I use S/P DIF to render 5.1 channel sounds if the source is equipped so?
    2. AVR 2600 should have a S/P DIF interface, right? I took a look at the back panel, still couldn't determine that;
    3. is S/P DIF some kind of old tech, is it alright to use it in my case?

    Thanks a lot,
    John

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Descending toward the moon in the CLEM (Chinese Lunar Excursion Module), looking for Chang'e
    Posts
    11,765

    Default

    Does that interface support 5.1?

    I have a relatively new Lenovo mid-level laptop i5 core/8 gig memory etc., that says "explicitly" that, in its current state (with what it has on board) it DOES NOT support 5.1 surround!

    So I'd look into it.

    Any digital interface (HDMI, toslink or coax can pass S/P DIF, etc.). The HK has ALL of those!

    cnh
    Last edited by cnh; 04-03-2013 at 03:38 PM.
    Onkyo TX-SR 805 System #1 HT AVR
    Office Two Channel: LSi-7s (Nakamichi CA-5, NAD 214, Pioneer BDP51fd)
    Vintage Polks: Polk Monitor 5As, Monitor 7Bs [HK 730], Monitor 10As [Marantz 2265], SDA-2Bs [Jolida JD-303, Jolida MV-MK4]
    Headphones: HD600, Q701, ATH-M50s etc. Bravo Audio Ocean amp., Onkyo P-304, Adcom GFA-555, Technics Direct Drive TT

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    829

    Default

    I have a Macbook pro that has the optical hook up and I have the cable to do this on the way. Should be here tomorrow. From what I understand, on my computer anyway, 5.1 will be fed to the optical output when playing files that contain 5.1 sound. I'll let you know more after tomorrow when the cable arrives. I'll be feeding the TV with HDMI via an adaptor from the mini display port. Hoping this set up will work well. We'll see after tomorrow!
    Sunfire Theater Grand IV
    Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature
    SRS 2.1TL
    SDA 2BTL's
    CSiA6
    FXiA4
    FXiA6
    SDA 2A's
    Monitor 10A's

    http://www.douglasconnection.com

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    925

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnny_hunter View Post
    Hello all:

    I have my 5.1 HT system and I wanted to hook it up with my computer. My video card has a HDMI port and I connected it to my AVR 2600 receiver, however only two channels have sound. After some study I concluded that the limit is in video card which only generates two channel sound. Then I noticed that I have the S/P DIF interface on my audio card. The questions are:
    1. Can I use S/P DIF to render 5.1 channel sounds if the source is equipped so?
    2. AVR 2600 should have a S/P DIF interface, right? I took a look at the back panel, still couldn't determine that;
    3. is S/P DIF some kind of old tech, is it alright to use it in my case?

    Thanks a lot,
    John
    What video card is it? I had an Nvidia card that only did 2 ch audio via HDMI in my HTCP, so I switched to an ATI card that does 5.1. This was a few years back, but that might be the issue.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    829

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnny_hunter View Post
    Hello all:

    I have my 5.1 HT system and I wanted to hook it up with my computer. My video card has a HDMI port and I connected it to my AVR 2600 receiver, however only two channels have sound. After some study I concluded that the limit is in video card which only generates two channel sound. Then I noticed that I have the S/P DIF interface on my audio card. The questions are:
    1. Can I use S/P DIF to render 5.1 channel sounds if the source is equipped so?
    2. AVR 2600 should have a S/P DIF interface, right? I took a look at the back panel, still couldn't determine that;
    3. is S/P DIF some kind of old tech, is it alright to use it in my case?

    Thanks a lot,
    John
    Quote Originally Posted by helipilotdoug View Post
    I have a Macbook pro that has the optical hook up and I have the cable to do this on the way. Should be here tomorrow. From what I understand, on my computer anyway, 5.1 will be fed to the optical output when playing files that contain 5.1 sound. I'll let you know more after tomorrow when the cable arrives. I'll be feeding the TV with HDMI via an adaptor from the mini display port. Hoping this set up will work well. We'll see after tomorrow!
    The cables arrived today. I'm PUMPED!!! Hooked up the mini display port to the HDMI adaptor to the TV. Hooked up the optical cable from the SPDIF toslink optical output from the computer into the Sunfire TG IV. Using VLC to play a movie I have on the computer, 5.1 channel audio came through perfectly! Great sound using this set up. Also played some music files in stereo, and am very impressed with everything. If your computer works the same as mine, the SPDIF connection should do the trick. BTW, I'm getting the same thing through the HDMI connector as you. Just 2 channel.

    Looking at a drawing of the AVR 2600, looks like there are 2 SPDIF toslink optical inputs, as well as coaxial digital inputs. And yes, SPDIF has been around for awhile, but it does do a pretty good job. It does have it's limitations, but all in all does well.
    Last edited by helipilotdoug; 04-04-2013 at 10:46 PM.
    Sunfire Theater Grand IV
    Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature
    SRS 2.1TL
    SDA 2BTL's
    CSiA6
    FXiA4
    FXiA6
    SDA 2A's
    Monitor 10A's

    http://www.douglasconnection.com

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,557

    Default

    Check this thread:

    https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...dio-over-hdmi/

    The TV is sending EDID info back to the PC telling it it is only capable of stereo sound, which limits the modes you are able to select. A suggested workaround is to leave the TV off at first, while establishing 5.1 sound to the AVR, then turn the TV on.

    I had no problems getting 5.1 audio over HDMI via a GTX 660 to a Denon AVR last weekend, but the TV's audio output was set to external (built-in speakers turned off) so that might have been why it worked without a problem.

    RT-12, CS350-LS, PSW-300, Infinity Overture 1, Monoprice RC-65i
    Adcom GFA-545II, GFA-6000, Outlaw Audio 990, Netgear NeoTV
    Denon DCM-460, DMD-1000, Sony BDP-360, Bravia KDL-40Z4100/S
    Monster AVL-300, HTS-2500 MKII

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    712

    Default

    What video card are you running? If it's old it may only do two channel across HDMI. Good news is there are plenty of $30 cards after rebate that will do 5.1.

    With SP/DIF you won't get the higher resolution audio formats in 5.1.
    So hot it burns twice

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    New York, LI
    Posts
    415

    Default

    Dont use the audio output on your video card! what are you thinking!


    Use that awesome audio card that is built into your computer. Buy a PCIe audio card. A PC will use its CPU to process audio. imagine if all stereo equipment had intel i7s or AMDs processing the data. Use the 5.1 or 7.1 out of the audio card for the best results. if you dont have the 5.1 or 7.1 out use the optical/digital out. dont forget to set it all up on the PC end. you will need to select speaker sizes, swap bass and center, disable EQs and turn off effects.

    Please Join EVGA.com and repost this question in the forum.
    2CH Setup.
    CM9
    Sonos Pre-Amp
    Crestron CNAMPX16x60 (Bridge Mode)
    MIT AVT2 Interconnects

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,557

    Default

    RamZet, HDMI audio via the video card with a decent DAC or AVR is going to be miles better than multi-channel analog out via 3.5mm outputs on a sound card.

    RT-12, CS350-LS, PSW-300, Infinity Overture 1, Monoprice RC-65i
    Adcom GFA-545II, GFA-6000, Outlaw Audio 990, Netgear NeoTV
    Denon DCM-460, DMD-1000, Sony BDP-360, Bravia KDL-40Z4100/S
    Monster AVL-300, HTS-2500 MKII

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Yes. you may try this. But be careful in case of connecting....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale Mad Dog Prowler 4.1 DSP 4-Channel PCI Sound Card NIB
    By jolax73 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 04:05 PM
  2. Need Help PC video card HDMI to power amp
    By mr2sw21 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-18-2010, 08:10 PM
  3. New Video Card
    By Early B. in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 08:15 PM
  4. PC Video Card
    By MrNightly in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 12-05-2006, 10:27 AM
  5. Got my HDMI card today!
    By I-SIG in forum Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-07-2006, 01:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts