Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,277

    Default Hooking up an amp from Thailand

    Will there be a problem with the voltage on an amp from Thailand running through the US power. If there is then is there a way to fix it, my old yaqin came from china and it worked fine

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    2,380

    Default

    I bet there is a voltage selector switch, what do they run in Thailand? I own a lot of gear That I bought in Europe and the voltage selector switch is built in.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,351

    Default

    Thailand is on 220V. You will need a step up transformer. Make sure you get one with enough juice.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (12)

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    http://audiomilitia.proboards.com
    Posts
    12,387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polkfarmboy View Post
    How much would it be to send over 2 hot 20 yr old ladyboys in a 4 by 4 foot wooden shipping container? I would pay for the bottled water, bread and cat litter of course
    You could always ask your ladybois in skinny jeans to hook you up.
    Last edited by nooshinjohn; 05-17-2013 at 12:19 AM.
    HT Setup... Pioneer Elite SC-37, Polk Audio SDA-SRS 1.2TL's , Oppo BDP 93
    Two Channel... Carver Statement 450~1 Vacuum Tube Monoblocks, Dodd Mid-line Tube Linestage with Psvane 12Ax7 tubes, Pioneer Pdd 9Mk II SACD Player, Yamaha PX-3 Turntable with Sumiko BPS EvoIII, Polk Audio SDA-SRS 1.2TLs.


    "Everything we have fought for has been lost, and everything we fought against, we have become...."

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by anonymouse View Post
    Thailand is on 220V. You will need a step up transformer. Make sure you get one with enough juice.
    Is there versions that can accommodate up to 3 devices ?

    Here is the specs advertised for a preamp I want 220 240V±5%, 50Hz/60Hz

    I have been trying to contact the seller to talk about it and maybe cancel my order as the item would have no resale value once I would want to move on
    Last edited by polkfarmboy; 05-17-2013 at 01:00 AM.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2,366

    Default

    Why don't you find out about these things before you order something? Just curious.
    If you can't hear a difference, don't waste your money.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,277

    Default

    I got carried away by the good prices

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,201

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polkfarmboy View Post
    I got carried away by the good prices
    Hence the very good reason to investigate closer. One thing i remember from long ago prices at 6th ave.electronics was they imported Yamaha Gear that was much cheaper than any other place in the U. S. BUT they had not been built for U.S. sale so they did not have any UL approved listing and some of those items caught fire when used here....

    there is an old saying you should remember forever......Starts out with "If it's too good to be true"

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    5,570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nooshinjohn View Post
    You could always ask your ladybois in skinny jeans to hook you up.
    But Troy hasn't been around here lately to ask...
    Usher CP-6311, Shuguang S200MK, Shuguang S845MK, Pioneer BDP-51fd, Douglas IC's, AQ cv-8 SC's, Pangea/Douglas PC's, Epson 8100

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polkfarmboy View Post
    Is there versions that can accommodate up to 3 devices ?

    Here is the specs advertised for a preamp I want 220 240V±5%, 50Hz/60Hz

    I have been trying to contact the seller to talk about it and maybe cancel my order as the item would have no resale value once I would want to move on
    Step-down transformers, even ones rated up to several kilowatts, are not expensive. One that is 2-3 times the maximum power consumption of the amp and other equipment you are running should work just fine.

    Step-down transformers 100W to 15kW
    Last edited by Glen B; 05-17-2013 at 01:11 PM.
    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pitdogg2 View Post
    there is an old saying you should remember forever......Starts out with "If it's too good to be true"
    There is also another saying 'Never look a gift horse in the mouth' lol
    Last edited by polkfarmboy; 05-17-2013 at 01:18 PM.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Glen B View Post
    Step-down transformers, even ones rated up to several kilowatts, are not expensive. One that is 2-3 times the maximum power consumption of the amp and other equipment you are running should work just fine.

    Step-down transformers 100W to 15kW
    Here is a pair of amps I would love to run from spain http://app.audiogon.com/listings/tub...plifiers-spain

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,201

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by polkfarmboy View Post
    There is also another saying 'Never look a gift horse in the mouth' lol
    Well you got me there But a gift means you spent no money.....So if this gear if free from Thailand then hop on that train....To my way of thinking you're going to need one more item in that chain that could induce noise...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. News Thailand
    By onebadchad in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10-06-2012, 03:34 AM
  2. Is it safe to vacation in thailand?
    By neokeelo in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-13-2010, 08:12 AM
  3. Hooking up my Amp
    By Demiurge in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-27-2006, 07:30 AM
  4. Hooking up an SVS 20-39 PC+
    By gregure in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-18-2004, 09:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts