Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Preamp

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    998

    Default Preamp

    I every now and then wonder about the technical side of audio and just wanted to ask a basic question. I just wanted to know why or how the preamp adds/improves the overall sound quality. I remember reading somewhere that it shouldnt add anything and it should be transparent. If that's the case could I just connect my amp directly to my DAC on my PC and just use the volume control on there and have an optimal setup? Rather than spending money on a good tube preamp?

    In my opinion I think it would sound better with a good preamp but just wondering more about the reason why.
    Last edited by KrazyMofo24; 04-23-2013 at 10:23 AM.
    Setup:

    2 Channel: Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand, Dared SL-2000A , B&K ST-202 , DacMagic
    PC: Vienna Acoustics Haydn Grand, Cambridge Azur 640A v2, Polk MicroPro 3000, Audioquest Dragonfly
    Cables: AQ Diamondback, Sidewinder, Kimber 4tc

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NW Indianapolis Indiana
    Posts
    9,131

    Default

    When you say the following "could I just connect my amp directly to my DAC on my PC and just use the volume control on there", what does "on there" refer to?

    If your talking about using your computers volume control then IIRC you cannot use the ASIO or WASAPI drivers in whatever music player you are using, as those drivers lock the volume at 100%.

    ALL DAC's (that are DAC's only) dont have a volume control. Using your computers volume control is normally frowned upon since most folks want to use the drivers mentioned above to get the cleanest signal from their computer to their DAC.

    DAC's/Headphone amps/pre's (like the Meridian Explorer, Audioquest Dragonfly, Audio GD NBF-5) have the ability to also be pre's in addition to being a DAC.

    So anyway you look at it, unless your using your computers volume control, if you have the ability to control the volume, you're using a pre of some sort.

    Only other way its possible is if your amp has a gain knob, which is still doing to some extent what a pre does.
    Advice is free, the Flea Market is earned - F1Nut

    Main HT: APC H15 | Pio 51FD | Uverse DVR | Xbox 360 | Squeezebox Classic | Integra DTR 5.9 | Carver AV-705x & M1.0t MKII Opt002 | LSi 15 | LSiC | LSi F/x | Kimber Hero IC & 8VS SC

    Office Rig: Win 7 -> DacMagic w/ Pangea PSU | Pro-ject Debut III | Sunfire TGP-II | Parasound HCA-750ii | Polk RTA 11TL | Cables TBA

    Bedroom: Uverse DVR | Roku 2 | Samsung LCD | SurroundBar 2000

    Sales Rating
    Gear

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    7,979

    Default

    An active preamp can provide two useful things beyond their "icing on the cake" functions (balance/tone control, switching, equalization of various kinds or signal processing).

    Useful Thing 1: gain
    Useful Thing 2: impedance matching between source and power amplifier

    Whether you need or will benefit in a net fashion from either of these things is going to depend on your ancillary components, your needs, and your expectations.

    For me (at least currently), transparency trumps those things, so I use a "passive preamp" consisting of an autoformer volume control and source selection.

    Last edited by mhardy6647; 04-23-2013 at 11:31 AM.
    all the best,
    mrh

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    998

    Default

    Thanks for the detailed responses that clears up some of the questions I had.
    Setup:

    2 Channel: Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand, Dared SL-2000A , B&K ST-202 , DacMagic
    PC: Vienna Acoustics Haydn Grand, Cambridge Azur 640A v2, Polk MicroPro 3000, Audioquest Dragonfly
    Cables: AQ Diamondback, Sidewinder, Kimber 4tc

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted WTB Rotel older Rotel preamp or preamp/tuner
    By geppy1 in forum Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 02:49 PM
  2. Need Help phono Preamp or preamp dominant in line?
    By brgman in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2012, 09:27 AM
  3. Does (Tube preamp & SS amp) = (SS preamp & TubeAmp)?
    By malikarshad in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 09:40 PM
  4. Tubecad Aikido Phono Preamp or Tetra Phono Preamp
    By Justin30 in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 05:45 PM
  5. Pass Labs X1 Preamp vs. Adcom GFP-750 Preamp
    By DarqueKnight in forum Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-13-2006, 01:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts