Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: NAD vs Carver

Member Sales Rating: (0)

Default NAD vs Carver

I have a NAD 7400 receiver (100 watts; essentially the NAD 3400 amp & NAD 1700 Tuner/ pre in one cabinet). I like it alot but there are holes in the sound. Could be from the NAD, could be from the Polk Monitor 70's, could be my ears. I don't think its the source; seems independent of the cd player or the TT. Local thrift has a Carver CT7 tuner & Carver M-05T amp for $150 each. That seems steep to me/ I'm thinking $200 for the pair. Would the Carver separates be an upgrade over the NAD? I think the Carver amp is the lower end of their line & 140 watts. Appreciate your thoughts. I have no experience with Carver equipment. I paid $75 for the NAD so I don't have a ton of cash tied up in it. TIA

Member Sales Rating: (1)

Price seems about right. I can only comment on my own experiences with those 2 brands. Nad has a better sound quality to me over the Carver. Not that Carver is bad, just too sterile sounding for my ears anyway. Nad, while sounding better seems to have some quality control issues.

With that said, 200 bucks isn't going to get you much of anything in the way of a big jump in sound quality from what your acustomed to. Local Craigslist in Chicago has a few nice amps and pre's between 3 and 5 bones.

Member Sales Rating: (6)

What is it about your sound that you do not like?

There are holes in the audio spectrum. You hear certain instruments clear as day. Others are there if you listen for them but muted. It seems those instruments are always around the same frequencies so I think its a fault somewhere. As if you could hear a triangle & a cowbell perfectly but you had to listen closely to hear snare drums. Thats the concept.

Tony
    Bingo on the quality control. I think I've repaired the worst of the crummy cold solder joints. I'll check out Chi Craigslist. Not much lately in Milwaukee or Madison.