Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,358

    Default Is there a way to stream live tv

    We don't have cable. But I would like to watch the Playoffs on my Plasma and not my PC. Can I and how do I stream it live from say CBC.ca. I have a PS3 and I also have the ps3 media server. (PS3 can'
    t load the content directly from the site) . Thanks in advance. BTW I'm using WIN7.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  2. #2
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,106

    Default

    TV tuner card in the PC with a direct connection in the plasma? Since over the air broad cast is copyrighted, there are not many solutions...

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zingo View Post
    TV tuner card in the PC with a direct connection in the plasma? Since over the air broad cast is copyrighted, there are not many solutions...
    Crap, don't have cables long enough...but I do have a laptop.....hmmmm I'll have to check it out. Thanks
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    Hdmi from the laptop to your avr or tv.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jbooker82 View Post
    Hdmi from the laptop to your avr or tv.
    Kind of what I did, I don't have HDMI on my avr it went right to TV. So I watched it but the sound came from the laptop speakers. I know a sin but it was I could do at the time.
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Pocatello, Idaho
    Posts
    1,442

    Default

    Look into Air Parrot software and an Apple TV for the newest gen 3 Apple TV, or I be beige the older units can be hacked for a Windows based system.
    Home Theater
    Onkyo PR-SC5508 Sharp LC-70LE847U
    Emotiva XPA-5 Emotiva XPA-2 Emotiva UPA-2
    Front RTi-A9 Wide RTi-A7 Center CSi-A6 Surround FXi-A6 Rear RTi-A3 Sub 2x PSW505
    Sony BDP-S790 Dishnetwork Hopper/Joey Logitech Harmony One Apple TV
    Two Channel
    Oppo 105D BAT VK-500 w/BatPack SDA SRS 2.3 Dreadnought Squeezebox Touch Apple TV

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willow View Post
    Kind of what I did, I don't have HDMI on my avr it went right to TV. So I watched it but the sound came from the laptop speakers. I know a sin but it was I could do at the time.
    Maybe you can get a cable like this:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	93011.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	84904

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage

    Connect it to the headphone jack in your laptop and open RCA inputs on your AVR to send the sound to your AVR. Or if your AVR has a 3.5 mm input, you can just get this:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	55781.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	84905

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage
    Front Speakers: Polk Audio LSi15 x 2
    Center Speaker: Polk Audio LSiC
    Rear Speakers: Polk Audio LSiF/X x 2
    Subwoofers: Polk Audio PSW505 x 2
    AVR: Denon AVR-3313CI
    Amp: Emotiva XPA-5

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Also, your TV may have RCA audio out which you can connect to your AVR
    Front Speakers: Polk Audio LSi15 x 2
    Center Speaker: Polk Audio LSiC
    Rear Speakers: Polk Audio LSiF/X x 2
    Subwoofers: Polk Audio PSW505 x 2
    AVR: Denon AVR-3313CI
    Amp: Emotiva XPA-5

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amgala View Post
    Maybe you can get a cable like this:

    Attachment 84904

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage

    Connect it to the headphone jack in your laptop and open RCA inputs on your AVR to send the sound to your AVR. Or if your AVR has a 3.5 mm input, you can just get this:

    Attachment 84905

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage
    Oddly enough I picked one up lying in my box of cables and thought hmmm. put it back down. Now I will use that next time. Thank you!
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo speaker cable, XLO jumpers, AQ Diamondback Ics, AQ HDMI x2, AQ component, Signal cable analog II Ics, Signal cable digcoax, Signal cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 (on the way, thanks Sal) and Harmony PS3 Adapter(picking it up tonight) LG dvdp(for the kids) , Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willow View Post
    Oddly enough I picked one up lying in my box of cables and thought hmmm. put it back down. Now I will use that next time. Thank you!
    Sure thing, I hope it works out!
    Front Speakers: Polk Audio LSi15 x 2
    Center Speaker: Polk Audio LSiC
    Rear Speakers: Polk Audio LSiF/X x 2
    Subwoofers: Polk Audio PSW505 x 2
    AVR: Denon AVR-3313CI
    Amp: Emotiva XPA-5

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-27-2012, 12:21 PM
  2. Anyone use windows 7 to stream video
    By renowilliams in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2010, 09:21 PM
  3. PS3 doesn't stream from PC?
    By AsSiMiLaTeD in forum Video Games
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-04-2007, 01:27 AM
  4. How to stream music from XP to HT receiver?
    By MattN03 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-28-2006, 02:40 PM
  5. Progressive vs. Color Stream
    By shuotari in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2003, 05:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts