Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    ROLL TIDE ROLL!
    Posts
    732

    Default Can you up AC outlet handling on receivers?

    We're talking about Switched AC outlets on the back of receivers and preamps. Most all the old vintage receivers and preamps will have up to 8 outlets totaling over 1000 watts or just a few that will handle 300 and 500 watts. My Onkyo's outlets only handle 120 which really isn't good for any power amp. I'm wondering if there's way to jack the power handling of these up, to say maybe 400 or 500 watts so I could hook a power amp of substantial size (bigger than 80 wpc) Or is there another forum they talk about that kind of mod?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    Does the amp have a remote 12v turn on jack? If so could use that as the turn on, and plug amps in the wall outlet directly.

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NW Indianapolis Indiana
    Posts
    9,152

    Default

    Or just get one of those power strips with a 12v trigger or that has a riggers outlet.

    Plug your avr into the master plug and the amp into a slave.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    5,803

    Default

    I doubt if having outlets on a receiver is doing anything positive to the sound, and is probably having a negative effect. Personally, I would use a power conditioner for having extra outlets.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    ROLL TIDE ROLL!
    Posts
    732

    Default

    Not all amplifiers have 12v triggers see, an Adcom gfa1 is what I was thinking, but even more recent adcom amps don't have them, this is just for two channel.

    I would love to get a power conditioner but it'd only be for three components.

    Can upping the power handling on the outlets be done?

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    563

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Sharpe View Post
    Not all amplifiers have 12v triggers see, an Adcom gfa1 is what I was thinking, but even more recent adcom amps don't have them, this is just for two channel.

    I would love to get a power conditioner but it'd only be for three components.

    Can upping the power handling on the outlets be done?
    Are you sure is 120 watts? or it is 120V?
    Make it simple...Make it better!

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (24)

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    all I see is cows and cheese...
    Posts
    4,206

    Default

    I agree to get a power strip or do something else and not plug into an avr.
    2 Channel-
    Soundlab M3PX
    BAT VK-31
    Wyred SX1000 monos
    Esoteric DV50
    Dynavector p75 modded phono stage
    Rega P25 modded-Denon 103R Cart
    Squeezebox Touch
    Modded Music Hall DAC Burson op amps
    Richard Grey 600S
    MIT Shotgun IC's and SC

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    ROLL TIDE ROLL!
    Posts
    732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lanchile View Post
    Are you sure is 120 watts? or it is 120V?
    the outlets are rated for 1 amp at 120 volts. 120 watts for two outlets. that post was referring to 12volt triggers used for turning components on or off.

    I just thought I'd use the outlet, little easier seems like. that's just me though

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,102

    Default

    I agree with what is said above. On the subject of upgrading the outlets, it probably is not practicle if doable. There is likely a relay in the circuit that has its current limitations and the wiring. You might be able to upgrade both but may have trouble finding a relay that is the right form factor. You may also need to upgrade the power cord. However, you would still be better off powering an amp from its own outlet as the added wiring and relay will add resistance to the circuit.
    Stan

    Main 2ch:
    Polk LSi15 (DB840 upgrade)
    Parasound: C/PT-600, HCA-800II; Denon: DVD-2910, DRM-800A; Monster HTS3600-MKII, Grado SR-225i

    HT:
    Denon AVR-888, Polk: RM7, PSW10, Marantz UD5005, Panasonic TC-P42S60

    Other stuff:
    Denon: DRA-835R, DRA-825R, DCD-660, DRM-700A, DRR-780; Polk: RTA11TL (RDO198-1, XO and Damping Upgrades), S8, Monitor 5A, TSi100; Pioneer CT-6R, PL-530; Onkyo CP-1046F; Ortofon OM5E, Marantz PM5004, CD5004

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    30,462

    Default

    Never, ever plug an amp into an outlet on a receiver. In fact, never use them for anything.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    ROLL TIDE ROLL!
    Posts
    732

    Default

    Most all the receivers I've seen usually have 16awg internal wiring.

    Dad has had his GFA 1A plugged in the back of the GFP 1 for 30+ years, the GFP has 400 watt switched outlets. If the outlet has a 400 watt max why can't I plug the amp into it? I get the GFA1 has an 800 watts max but I would never use that. Are you saying it's going to mess something up regardless or are you saying it would hurt the sound so don't do it?

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Pearland Texas 77584
    Posts
    1,842

    Default

    I would think it is a good way to induce noise into either unit, noticeable, that's up to you. I wouldn't do it.

  13. #13
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,112

    Default

    Upgrading current rating is a bad idea.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    Never, ever plug an amp into an outlet on a receiver. In fact, never use them for anything.
    More fine advice from the dark one.

    Those outlets on the back are not ment to power amps. More so additional cooling fans, low power consuming items not huge ampere draws.

    Do not plug an amp into a receiver's outlet, period.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    ROLL TIDE ROLL!
    Posts
    732

    Default

    Okay, won't do it. I'll look into make another strip with a toggle switch or something.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Most of the older receivers only had two pin receptacle's. The receiver's internal wiring and power switch are only suitable for rather low powered components.

    Power outlet strips are available with a control receptacle, that senses when you turn your receiver on or off and controls all the other receptacles. Twenty some years ago, RadioShack made a very nice unit but keeping with tradition they discontinued it.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    ROLL TIDE ROLL!
    Posts
    732

    Default

    word, i just recalled hooking that old Adcom to my Onkyo in that outlet and the hum was much louder so that idea is out the window.

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1nut View Post
    Never, ever plug an amp into an outlet on a receiver. In fact, never use them for anything.

    I have no issue using the switch outlet for a small 12vdc transformer to control amps and such. Are you against this also?

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  19. #19
    pepster
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by disneyjoe7 View Post
    I have no issue using the switch outlet for a small 12vdc transformer to control amps and such. Are you against this also?
    Yep, they are good for "Triggers".

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    ROLL TIDE ROLL!
    Posts
    732

    Default

    Like I said, my dad has had his Adcom GFA1A plugged to the back of his GFP 1 for 30+ years and it sounded absolutely Amazing, I guess neither of us knew what we were missing lol the only thing I use the outlet on the back of my 3805 is a cooling fan.

    I was just curious about this cus' I guess I'm too lazy to lean down and turn the amp on, but I guess that's where putting your amp up high comes in:) Thanks for all the posts.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Pearland Texas 77584
    Posts
    1,842

    Default

    You could get you a long stick

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Sharpe View Post
    Like I said, my dad has had his Adcom GFA1A plugged to the back of his GFP 1 for 30+ years and it sounded absolutely Amazing, I guess neither of us knew what we were missing lol the only thing I use the outlet on the back of my 3805 is a cooling fan.

    I was just curious about this cus' I guess I'm too lazy to lean down and turn the amp on, but I guess that's where putting your amp up high comes in:) Thanks for all the posts.

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    central Jersey,08859
    Posts
    1,618

    Default

    I asked this ages ago. Most of the poll taken then said do not plug your devices into your preamp's outlets. This except for a few was a universal anwser. Never use those outlets in the rear of your preamp.Most said if you had to then the exception to this rule never your power amplifier. For me it would have worked perfectly if I wanted to use the Harmony1 remote, because the Adcom 555 has no remote if I were to plug it into the switched outlet of my Onkyo P-301 pre and then turn that on w/ the Harmony 1 then all would be a wonderful thing.Now w/ the same problem of my tt needs to be manually turned off I could also use that procedure.Again, no one was kidding said not to do it and forget the Harmoney remote and turn it off and on asI'm doing it now.....
    2chl- Adcom 555- Onkyo P-301 pre- JVC-QL-A200 tt- Denon 1940 ci cdp- Samson PS-15 9 outlet- Niles Sp 6- 6 zone spkr selector- DCM TF 350s- ADC 303ax-KLH 331- Polk Audio '87 SDA 2Bs w/ ic cable (Dynamat extreme, black hole-5- Mills 0.5 resistor, liquid nails, RDO- 194 tweeters, Larry's rings, Armaflex gaskets, stained walnut tops )

    H/T- Toshiba au40" flat- Yamaha RX- V665 avr- YSD-11 Dock- I-Pod- Klipsch #500HD Speaker set- Sony ce 375 5 disc carosel cdp-

    Nikko 6065 receiver- JBL J2060

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NW Indianapolis Indiana
    Posts
    9,152

    Default

    Personally I use the trigger outlet on my Citation 11 for my turntable but again thats me. Other than that device everything else is controlled by my Harmony one.
    Advice is free, the Flea Market is earned - F1Nut

    Main HT: APC H15 | Pio 51FD | Uverse DVR | Xbox 360 | Squeezebox Classic | Integra DTR 5.9 | Carver AV-705x & M1.0t MKII Opt002 | LSi 15 | LSiC | LSi F/x | Kimber Hero IC & 8VS SC

    Office Rig: Win 7 -> DacMagic w/ Pangea PSU | Pro-ject Debut III | Sunfire TGP-II | Parasound HCA-750ii | Polk RTA 11TL | Cables TBA

    Bedroom: Uverse DVR | Roku 2 | Samsung LCD | SurroundBar 2000

    Sales Rating
    Gear

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Sharpe View Post
    I get the GFA1 has an 800 watts max but I would never use that. Are you saying it's going to mess something up regardless or are you saying it would hurt the sound so don't do it?
    Even if it did not hurt the sound, inrush current when the amp is first turned on (which can be several times the outlet maximum rating) can overtax a preamp or receiver's power switch and cause it to fail eventually. Your dad is probably just lucky that the GFA1 probably does not have much inrush current at turn on, and he has not been driving the amp to the point where it has been exceeding the outlet rating foir any lengthy periods.
    Last edited by Glen B; 06-03-2013 at 05:43 PM.
    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Pearland Texas 77584
    Posts
    1,842

    Default

    When I had an older unit that had those it was used for the turntable and cassette deck or cd player

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,539

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pepster View Post
    Yep, they are good for "Triggers".
    Agreed- but make sure the wallwart you use isn't noisy. I've had more than one instance when it was causing noticeable interference.

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,102

    Default

    Good point. You want to stay away from switching power supplies (ie. laptop power supplies) as the can be noisy. Simple transformer with full wave rectifier and caps would do nicely.
    Stan

    Main 2ch:
    Polk LSi15 (DB840 upgrade)
    Parasound: C/PT-600, HCA-800II; Denon: DVD-2910, DRM-800A; Monster HTS3600-MKII, Grado SR-225i

    HT:
    Denon AVR-888, Polk: RM7, PSW10, Marantz UD5005, Panasonic TC-P42S60

    Other stuff:
    Denon: DRA-835R, DRA-825R, DCD-660, DRM-700A, DRR-780; Polk: RTA11TL (RDO198-1, XO and Damping Upgrades), S8, Monitor 5A, TSi100; Pioneer CT-6R, PL-530; Onkyo CP-1046F; Ortofon OM5E, Marantz PM5004, CD5004

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    central Jersey,08859
    Posts
    1,618

    Default

    I just happened to find my Onkyo P-301 pre owners manual,Showing a tt plugged into a unswitched outlet @ 16a w/200wats max. the other swithched outlets are shown @ total 5w with 60Owatts max.No warnings are given either way to plug or not to plug your source devices into the Onkyo. My Samson 9 outlet surge center looks like a Furman does it all for me right now.It it'self is plugged into the wall directly.So whether opinions have changed around here on plugging devices into your pre/amps I still do not.
    2chl- Adcom 555- Onkyo P-301 pre- JVC-QL-A200 tt- Denon 1940 ci cdp- Samson PS-15 9 outlet- Niles Sp 6- 6 zone spkr selector- DCM TF 350s- ADC 303ax-KLH 331- Polk Audio '87 SDA 2Bs w/ ic cable (Dynamat extreme, black hole-5- Mills 0.5 resistor, liquid nails, RDO- 194 tweeters, Larry's rings, Armaflex gaskets, stained walnut tops )

    H/T- Toshiba au40" flat- Yamaha RX- V665 avr- YSD-11 Dock- I-Pod- Klipsch #500HD Speaker set- Sony ce 375 5 disc carosel cdp-

    Nikko 6065 receiver- JBL J2060

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (26)

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The tube lair in Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    11,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leftwinger57 View Post
    I just happened to find my Onkyo P-301 pre owners manual,Showing a tt plugged into a unswitched outlet @ 16a w/200wats max. the other swithched outlets are shown @ total 5w with 60Owatts max. No warnings are given either way to plug or not to plug your source devices into the Onkyo.
    Hello, please note that the bold portion of your quote was done by me. Plugging things into an AVR or pre used to be the "thing". It's OK if you do not care about the sound and it is correct that little to no warnings are provided with these outlets. With that said, what they do not discuss is;

    How it affects the sound.
    How it effects the current draw of the AVR.
    How it drains the available power to the amplifier section of said AVR.

    Unless you do not care about the sound and you listen only at extreme lower levels then plugging things into the outlets will usually not affect anything. If you DO care about the quality of the sound and if you listen at normal listening levels to concert level listening levels, then as F1nut mentioned before, never ever plug anything into the available outlets on a receiver/AVR.

    Tom
    In search of accurate reproduction of music. Real sound is my reference and while perfection may not be attainable? If I chase it, I might just catch excellence.

    "The best way to enjoy digital music reproduction is to never listen to good analogue reproduction". - Kenneth Swauger

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    868

    Default

    Dunno if you guys noticed... but most AVR manufacturers no longer have AC outlets on the rear panels anymore... I was told too many idiots were plugging in high current devices in them, frying the AVRs....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. SDA-2B power handling
    By gmcman in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12-27-2011, 11:53 PM
  2. RTI A7 power handling
    By audion3wb in forum Speakers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 01:34 AM
  3. power handling
    By cbsimpson in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-11-2004, 01:52 PM
  4. RT/FX Power Handling
    By mwencil in forum Speakers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2002, 08:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts