Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    SE PA
    Posts
    180

    Default low volume in zone 2

    In my family room I have an Interga DTR-30.3 with a powered zone two, a Technics SL-D3 with an empire 3001T cartridge, an NAD 513 CD player, and an NAD 304 integrated amp. The Interga does not have a phono input and the amp section on the 304 isnít working right so Iím using the 304 as a preamp for the turntable. Due to location limitations the turntable, CD player and amp are in one location and the Integra is in another. The turntable and CD player are hooked up to the 304, and then I run a 20-foot RCA cable from the NAD to the Integra. From the Interga I run about 30 feet of speaker wire to a Sonance SS4 speaker selector. From the SS4 I have 2 runs of approximately 60 feet each; one runs is for a pair of speakers in the living room the other runs is for a pair of speakers in the basement. I usually only listen to one pair of speakers off the SS4. All speaker wire is 14 ga. The Integra is also hard wired to the Internet.

    If I listen to Pandora or FM through the Integra with the volume set at the same level in both zones, the actual volume is slightly less in zone 2.

    When listening to the CD player at the same levels, the actual volume in zone 1 is greater than the actual volume when listening to Pandora or FM in zone 1. At the same time the actual volume in zone 2 is noticeable lower than the actual volume when listening to Pandora or FM in zone 2.

    When listening to the turntable at the same levels, the actual volume in zone 1 is slightly less than the actual volume when listening to Pandora or FM in zone 1. At the same time the actual volume in zone 2 is noticeable lower than the actual volume when listening to the CD player in zone 2.

    Can anyone explain why this happens and how I can compensate for the extremely low volume in Zone 2 when listening to the turntable?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    central Jersey,08859
    Posts
    1,618

    Default

    I feel your pain and most here would say that's a convaluted system ,but for you it works kind of. I also run a zone 2 off my Yamaha RX-V-665 and it's about a 30' run done w/ cat-5 of all wires and I get no degregation or loss at all. My computer is even more wacky ,out of the headphone jack into a mini plug y splitter into 2 RCA cables back into the Yammy again 30'. It also works only once did I p/u a hum and that was due to the way my rack ac cords were run. Why the loss on just the turn table I don't know my tt is just for my 2-chll and not connected to the avr at all.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    SE PA
    Posts
    180

    Default

    Just in case anyone cares I think I finally figured it out. I did a hard reset on my receiver. After the reset the sound in zone 2 was very similar to the sound in zone 1. After running audyssey the sound in zone 1 was noticeably better than the sound in zone 2. The difference was even more noticeable after tweaking dynamic EQ and dynamic volume.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Qustion on AVR's Music volume VS dialog volume
    By naturallight in forum Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-18-2011, 06:06 PM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 01:59 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 12:54 PM
  4. Multi zone?
    By mrmusicman in forum Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-03-2005, 09:31 PM
  5. zone 2
    By glemay in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2004, 01:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts