Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 47 of 47
  1. #31

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,033

    Default

    Could just be a standard ground loop problem too....or a bad interconnect cable. Have you tried disconnecting the sub from the receiver and see if the sound is still there ?

  2. #32

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default

    At one point i disconnected everything but one speaker. But I am going through and checking everything again, so i will put that on my list to try.

    How would i test for a grounding loop problem?
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  3. #33

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default

    My best friend, who is an engineer says that faulty wires in the house might not be caught by a line conditioner if under load, and my symptoms suggest a power issue. So he had me go out and look at my circuit switch box, suggesting that I tighten down all the wires connection screws. Wires seem to deform under pressure and time and connections can get weak he said.
    I went outside to take a look at the circuit box, and even the bolts on the cover are highly corroded (i live in a high acid rain environment that rains over 150 inches a year, Hawaii). Since it was raining I decided to wait for a clear day to get in and tighten everything down.
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  4. #34

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Descending toward the moon in the CLEM (Chinese Lunar Excursion Module), looking for Chang'e
    Posts
    11,454

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CinderLyon View Post
    ok this was fun :) I plugged in my cd player, something I have not done in over 5 years. I have been happy with my computer being the source for a long time given that I did not have my higher end equipment available to me due to living situation. First thing I noticed is I had a hard time getting my cd player to close. One of my all time favorite CD's was stuck in it. I had been looking for that sucker. :) Then I noticed that my CD player was SACD capable! woot!

    Ok so back to the issue. I may have been sensitized to listening for the funny sound so I kept thinking I was hearing it, but less so. So I gave it sometime. Then I decided to bypass my amp. And I still thought I was hearing it. That was good actually. I could rule out my amp. woot! Then I decided to move the one speaker over a bit. That seemed to help as well. Then I tried to listen to the same track on my computer and it seemed worse, so I swapped in and out of sources for a while. It was a bit worse on my computer and it showed me just how good my CD player is! woot!

    Back on my computer now and it does not seem as bad, hardly even noticeable really now. Moving my speaker seem to be the best solution so far. I will have to give it some time and more different music test to know for sure.

    Thanks guys for pointing me in a good direction to test. I am convince that my amp is just fine now. :)

    So now i get to spend my hard earned money on a good sub. :)
    Call me stupid. But have you tried listening to this track on your computer through a set of decent H-phones in order to see if you can hear the SAME distortion.

    Adcom 555s are incredibly durable. I have one. No problems whatsoever. Not in use at the moment though. They're also VERY easy to service. Especially the two channel versions like the 545 and 555, etc.

    cnh
    Onkyo TX-SR 805 System #1 HT AVR
    Office Two Channel: LSi-7s (Nakamichi CA-5, NAD 214, Pioneer BDP51fd)
    Vintage Polks: Polk Monitor 5As, Monitor 7Bs [HK 730], Monitor 10As [Marantz 2265], SDA-2Bs [Jolida JD-303, Jolida MV-MK4]
    Headphones: HD600, Q701, ATH-M50s etc. Bravo Audio Ocean amp., Onkyo P-304, Adcom GFA-555, Technics Direct Drive TT

  5. #35

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    30,423

    Default

    Your breaker box is outside??? Never heard of that before.

    A ground loop issue would be a constant hum, you couldn't mistake it for anything else.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  6. #36

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Pocatello, Idaho
    Posts
    1,444

    Default

    The house I owned in the LA area had the breaker box outside and the rental house we have in town now, has the breaker box on the outside of the house. Seems screwy to me but when I built this house I wanted the breaker box inside to help weather protect the connections.
    Home Theater
    Onkyo PR-SC5508 Sharp LC-70LE847U
    Emotiva XPA-5 Emotiva XPA-2 Emotiva UPA-2
    Front RTi-A9 Wide RTi-A7 Center CSi-A6 Surround FXi-A6 Rear RTi-A3 Sub 2x PSW505
    Sony BDP-S790 Dishnetwork Hopper/Joey Logitech Harmony One Apple TV
    Two Channel
    Oppo 105D BAT VK-500 w/BatPack SDA SRS 2.3 Dreadnought Squeezebox Touch Apple TV

  7. #37

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    5,780

    Default

    To my knowledge, every house in my neighborhood has the breaker box outside attached to the back wall. The power lines run between the houses over the property line separating the backyard. Mine has an enclosure with a door for access. It keeps the rain and sun off, and does not appear to be adversely affected by being outside.

  8. #38

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default

    cnh, i have not tired headphones. That would be a good test. I only own usb head phones at the moment, not 1/4 inch. But I could still test with that. I have switched out my digital avr for my analog pre amp and still hear it. I have also gone analog CD direct to preamp, and digital CD direct through avr, and computer sources. I think these are equivalent tests. It is definitely not my amp, since i hear it when going AVR direct. It is not my speakers either since i can hear it on all speakers (worse on the left side, but that is probably my environment and/ears) . Its not my AVR since i hear it on my preamp.

    I am down to wires and some sort of induction, or power source. I suppose it could be my amp is not powerful enough to drive my speakers at higher volumes but somehow I doubt that. I don't listen to music or HT all that loud. mostly below 75db sometimes higher but not by much; 80db tops. Oh, and I have not completely ruled out environmental sources or that I have a rattle in my head. Though i did stomp around my house (post and pillar foundation, big woofer!) and removed several noise vibration sources. And I did clean out my ears lol. :)

    The meter and breaker box are side by side on the outside of the house. And show considerable signs of weathering and rust. :( clear evening so far, so maybe i can get in there and tighten a few wires down. I do not feel like glowing while on that task. :)

    F1nut, no humming. When I got in and dusted out my amp, the low level background hiss heard when near my speakers went away completely. Dead quiet now when no music is playing. :)
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  9. #39

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,033

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CinderLyon View Post
    and even the bolts on the cover are highly corroded (i live in a high acid rain environment that rains over 150 inches a year, Hawaii). Since it was raining I decided to wait for a clear day to get in and tighten everything down.
    Always disconnect power before attempting anything in the circuit box. Since it is outside, any bare wire exposed will oxidize more quickly than an inside wire. This could be your problem. Check all wires with the power off, see where the box is grounded too as that wire is very important to line noise. Anything that doesn't have a nice shiny copper tint to it will need to be cleaned/scraped and reconnected.

    Never heard of a circuit box outside either, whats the purpose of this ?

  10. #40

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Ok well time to close this thread finally. It turns out to have been front speaker placement. I thought that I read that you wanted to offset your fronts relative to the room. Not true for fronts it turns out. I was getting constructive interference from nodes basically. I finally noticed that there was a delay in sound when I moved over a bit. So it dawned on me that I was getting time delayed stacking. And I figured out why, then went and checked out the boards. Moved my speakers to more equidistant from side walls, in a equatorial triangle relative to sweet spot and bang, noise all gone!
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  11. #41

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    543

    Default

    Alright cool. Problem solved then. Placement derived static, I'll be damn.

  12. #42

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    5,780

    Default

    Sounds like something loose is making a better connection after moving the speaker. It is hard to imagine speaker placement causing noise.

  13. #43

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default

    well I did do a whole lot of changes when i moved my speakers. Everything had to move over as well. I put up some absorbers at reflection points. along the way. The room is a bit different shaped than most as well. The fronts are at the small end of a large A frame space 40 degree slopes. High spot is at 20 feet. Lots of offset wooden beams. I am sure it is a natural amplifier of all things good and bad.
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  14. #44

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    369

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    Sounds like something loose is making a better connection after moving the speaker. It is hard to imagine speaker placement causing noise.
    +1. This sounds more conceivable based on what you wrote what you were hearing. But I guess you can never know what could be the problem. Hopefully, you have it resolved.
    __________________________________________________ ___________________________________________
    Source: SONOS Music System, DAC: W4S DAC-2, Pre/Pro: Marantz AV8801, Amp: W4S MC5, Front: Polk RTIA9, Center: Polk CSIA6, Surrounds: Polk FXIA6, Sub EQ: DSPeaker Anti-Mode 8033C, Subs: 2 - Polk DSW PRO660WI, IC & Speaker Cables: Signal Cable

  15. #45

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,195

    Default

    If you took your amp out and it persists, it's in the signal path. You swapped speakers so far and it persists.
    Have you swapped interconnects from source all the way to speaker?
    Main Surround -
    Epson 8350 Projector/ Elite Screens 120" / Pioneer Elite SC-35 / Sunfire Signature / Focal Chorus 716s / Focal Chorus CC / Polk MC80 / Polk PSW150 sub

    Bedroom - Sharp Aquos 70" 650 / Pioneer SC-1222k / Polk RT-55 / Polk CS-250

    Den - Rotel RSP-1068 / Threshold CAS-2 / Boston VR-M60 / BDP-05FD

  16. #46

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    30,423

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    Sounds like something loose is making a better connection after moving the speaker. It is hard to imagine speaker placement causing noise.
    Agreed.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  17. #47

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bismarck, ND
    Posts
    291

    Default

    It could also be wire in the open basket of the speaker.
    AVR-Onkyo TX-NR808
    Front amp-Adcom GFA 555>Polk Audio LSi9's(Vr3 Castle Mods)
    Center amp-Adcom GFA 5400>Polk Audio LSi9 bi-wired(Vr3 Castle Mod)
    Surrounds-Polk Audio F/X500's<Onkyo TX-NR808
    Sub-Velodyne SPL-1000R

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help RTi A7 without Amplifier?
    By tommyt21 in forum Speakers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-05-2011, 01:24 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2009, 01:19 AM
  3. WTB amplifier
    By acsubie in forum Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2007, 10:46 PM
  4. WTB: 2ch Amplifier
    By RuSsMaN in forum Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2006, 03:14 PM
  5. amplifier
    By rodney in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2003, 11:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts