Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default spl vs Audyssey MultEQ® XT32

    Is there any issue with correcting sound level with an spl after setting up with Audyssey MultEQ® XT32? I check and Audyssey MultEQ® XT32 can be off a bit.
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    823

    Default

    The issue here would be that by using terms such as "correcting" and "off a bit", you're for some reason assuming that a manual measurement with an SPL meter is the more accurate one. This is quite unlikely. The meter in your XT32 processing is at least as accurate as the typical SPL meters sold for home use. The data it collects are then processed electronically and should have a very low margin of error. In contrast, using an SPL meter for a manual calibration adds the element of human error in reading the meter. The Audyssey calibration is likely to be the more accurate one.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Well i went and tested it against a known source (test cd 3 from audiophile).

    Basically my current conclusion supports using Audyssey and leaving it alone. I do have a pretty decent spl. but I don't think I can do much better than what this version of audyssey is doing with out some more expensive gear. I could see tweaking to personal preference such as increasing the surrounds bit.
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,039

    Default

    Actually, human error is involved in both ways. Never take an auto calibration as gospel and always tweek settings to your tastes. There's no rocket science here.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    3,267

    Default

    Also realize that using Audyssey isn't as simple as you might think. You need to follow obvious steps to ensure that the data you're giving it is good, so you don't get a garbage-in/garbage-out situation. If you're not using a tripod or boom mic stand for the mic, you're doing it wrong. If you're not using all available positions, you're doing it wrong. There are plenty of places where you can read the proper steps to use Audyssey for best results.
    Equipment list:
    Onkyo TX-NR3010 9.2 AVR
    Emotiva XPA-3 amp
    Polk RTi70 mains, CSi40 center, RTi38 surrounds, RTi28 rears and heights
    SVS 20-39CS+ subwoofer powered by Crown XLS1500
    Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray player
    DarbeeVision DVP5000 video processor
    Epson 8500UB 1080p projector
    Elite Screens Sable 120" CineWhite screen

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,039

    Default

    Exactly.....the calibration software can be thrown off by human error too. Where the mic is set up, if any noise is going on in the home while it's running the calibration, etc. I don't know how many times we have seen threads of people running the auto calibration and then complaining about their system sounding like garbage.

    Always check/tweek settings, auto calibration is probably best described as a very good starting point, but not the end point.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    823

    Default

    The topic here was the possible use of an SPL meter, and has nothing to do with the complex Audyssey room correction process. The calibration for levels and distance delays is the relatively simple preliminary step taken at one position. Again, the added factor of possible human error in reading the meter, which doesn't exist in the Audyssey calibration, makes it highly unlikely that a manual reading of an SPL meter would be more accurate.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    5,784

    Default

    When I calibrated my new pre/pro it produced a steady tone. It wasn't very difficult to read a number on the SPL, and then make sure each channel provided the same number. If the tone sweeps through a variety of levels then manually reading an SPL meter would be error prone.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    102

    Default

    For what it is worth i calibrated with Audyssey yesterday, and a dog started a few houses away. I then re-calibrated this morning when things were quite. Pretty big difference in the surround calibration. The dog started barking at position 7 and 8 and messed up my surround calibration. I spot checked this morning with my spl on slow, c and Hi and used a known reference CD pink noise playback. The DB was within 0.2 db for all channels.

    I trust Audyseey if done in a quite environment.
    Fronts: Polk RTiA9
    Center: Polk CSiA4
    Sides: Polk F/XiA6
    Rears: Polk RtiA3
    Sub:Polk DSWPRO 660wi

    extras: 2x JBL Monitor 4206

    AVR: Onkyo TX-NR818
    Amp: ADCOM GFA-555
    Power Conditioner: Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console pf60
    Roku, ChromeCast (on the way)

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Audyssey adjusts for time correction and delay - so if you measure with an SPL meter, all speakers might be off by a db or two.

    How does Audyssey MultEQ measure and correct problems with room acoustics?

    https://audyssey.zendesk.com/entries...om-correction-
    Last edited by spock 2054; 07-16-2013 at 06:31 PM.
    http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/syst...?userid=114347
    polk monitor 70's
    center - polk monitor cs2
    surround - polk monitor 60's
    surround back - jbl e10
    sub - velodyne dps 12
    sub - polk psw110
    avr/pre-amp - onkyo tx-nr809
    amp - carver av405
    display - sharp lc70le847u
    internet devices - WD TV Live Hubs
    blu-ray - sony bdp s770
    blu-ray - pansonic dmp bdt 310
    hd dvd - toshiba hd xa2
    dvr - sony dhg hdd250
    control - logitech harmony one
    turntable - technics sl1500 mkII

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    lol, I havent ever plugged in my Audissey mic. I'm pretty intimidated by my receivers remote, really.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Audyssey MultEQ and Velodyne SMS-1
    By POLKHT in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 10:37 AM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 04:14 PM
  3. Need Help Audyssey XT32 Subwoofer Sweep
    By wingnut4772 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-13-2012, 04:57 PM
  4. MCACC v. MultEQ XT32 (Pio SC-35 v. Denon 4311CI)
    By EndersShadow in forum Electronics
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 06:13 PM
  5. Audyssey MultEq and SDA's?
    By civilian in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 04:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts