Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    488

    Default Subwoofer hook up

    The Velodyne sub I just got doesn't have a single subwoofer cable hookup like my old one so I was planning to use speaker wires. The manual that came with the sub says to run wires from the surround outputs to the sub and then to the surround speakers.

    I read several threads here that mention using the front outputs to the sub and then to the front speakers.

    Does it make any difference?
    Modest HT - Pioneer VSX 821K, RT800i, CS400i center, RT25i surrounds, Velodyne CHT-10 sub, Belkin PF30.
    Bedroom - Yamaha RX-V373, Monitor 7C, CS400 center

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    488

    Default

    Doesn't anyone know? If not, I guess I will stick with using the surround outputs like the book says mostly because I run my surround wires behind where the sub is place now anyway.
    Modest HT - Pioneer VSX 821K, RT800i, CS400i center, RT25i surrounds, Velodyne CHT-10 sub, Belkin PF30.
    Bedroom - Yamaha RX-V373, Monitor 7C, CS400 center

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    389

    Default

    The CHT-10 has RCA level inputs. Just go sub out from your Pioneer to the LFE input.Name:  cht-q-back.jpg
Views: 193
Size:  51.2 KB
    So hot it burns twice

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    488

    Default

    Thanks, got it. My eyes ain't what they used to be. Didn't see that one of the inputs is marked that way, I thought it had to have both inputs connected. And the book didn't mention it.

    (Not the first or last "redface" for me I am afraid).
    Modest HT - Pioneer VSX 821K, RT800i, CS400i center, RT25i surrounds, Velodyne CHT-10 sub, Belkin PF30.
    Bedroom - Yamaha RX-V373, Monitor 7C, CS400 center

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    488

    Default

    Actually, I didn't miss anything because it's not there. The sub that I have isn't marked for an LFE like the one pictured above. Guess I am back to asking the question if it matter if I use the surround outputs instead of the front.
    Name:  DSCN9733.jpg
Views: 132
Size:  78.0 KB
    Modest HT - Pioneer VSX 821K, RT800i, CS400i center, RT25i surrounds, Velodyne CHT-10 sub, Belkin PF30.
    Bedroom - Yamaha RX-V373, Monitor 7C, CS400 center

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    389

    Default

    Use either of the inputs RCA inputs.
    So hot it burns twice

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Johnson City TN
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    Jimbo-

    Habanero is right. Even though your sub does not show the LFE graphic, using either RCA input should work fine. As far as routing speaker wire- I've never heard of using wire from the surrounds. That just doesn't make any sense. I'm not doubting what you are reading in the manual, but sometimes things get screwed up in translation. All the manuals I've seen for Denon AVR's are awful and you need to be a mind reader to figure them out.

    Just think about the surrounds only receiving a small portion of the overall sound from a movie mixed in 5.1 channels. Very little LFE effects to be had by sending that signal to the sub. If anything you would use the L and R front speaker wire to sub 1st and then back to the front speakers. Especially if you are listening to a stereo source such as CD's, otherwise you would have no signal going to the sub.

    The easiest and most effective method will be to use the subwoofer pre out on you receiver into either rca input on your sub. Good luck getting it going.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NW Indiana
    Posts
    842

    Default

    From the owners manual:

    Subwoofer outputs
    The Velodyne subwoofer is designed to operate using the full range audio signal for input when using the built-in crossover. Many home theater processors/receivers (Dolby Digital, DTS, THX) have a "subwoofer out" jack that is internally filtered and designed to be used with a powered subwoofer.

    In these installations, you may bypass the internal crossover in either the processor or the Velodyne subwoofer. In some installations, it may be beneficial to have a steeper ultimate crossover slope. To do this you can use both your processor's crossover and the one internal to the Velodyne sub. You should stagger the frequencies (i.e., 120Hz sub, 80Hz processor) for best results.

    To bypass the subwoofer's internal crossover when the unit is being fed a low pass signal from another crossover, simply locate the switch marked "SUBWOOFER DIRECT/INTERNAL X-OVER" on the rear panel of the subwoofer and set to the "SUBWOOFER DIRECT" position. This will eliminate the internal crossover from the signal path.

    Note. . .
    If not using an external crossover, you should use the built-in crossover for optimal performance. When using a single channel input signal (such as a surround sound processor's subwoofer out, or LFE), the auto on/off circuit sensitivity will be affected. When one input channel is used instead of two, the unit will see lower signal levels present at the inputs. This may cause the unit to turn off when listening at low volume levels. If this occurs, simply use a "Y" adapter (available from most dealers) to allow your processor's single sub line to be fed into both L&R inputs. This will make the unit turn on at lower signal levels.
    In short, use a Y adapter into the inputs. Play around with the SUBWOOFER DIRECT/INTERNAL X-OVER switch and crossover points to see what sounds best.


    http://www.velodyne.fr/index_htm_fil...-12_manual.pdf
    Last edited by WLDock; 08-02-2013 at 11:26 AM.
    FAMILY ROOM
    TV - Mitsubishi WD-73734 73" DLP 1080P | AVR - Pioneer Elite SC-65 | Source - Sony PS3 Slim 320GB | Front - PolkAudio RT3000p | Center -PolkAudio CS400i | Surround - PolkAudio F/X1000 | Sub - DIY Stereo Integrity HT 15 | Sub Amp - Behringer EUROPOWER EP2500

    2 Ch Dreaming...hoping to purchase, build someday
    OPPO 105 | Squeezbox Touch | Odyssey, or HALO A21 amp | DIY Statements towers

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    488

    Default

    Thanks, guys. And WLDock that is exactly how my manual reads. I didn't have a Y adapter and thought I would just go with the speaker wires, and somewhere I read that this might produce slightly better signal, but as TNHDYMAN pointed out, I also thought that it didn't make sense to use the surround outputs, that's why I asked the question initially if it mattered using those, or the front, outputs.

    I will have to hit up RS or BB I guess for a Y adapter, or just use the front outputs.

    Thanks for all the help.
    Modest HT - Pioneer VSX 821K, RT800i, CS400i center, RT25i surrounds, Velodyne CHT-10 sub, Belkin PF30.
    Bedroom - Yamaha RX-V373, Monitor 7C, CS400 center

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Mono price has really nice and good Y adapters. I bought mine from them.
    AVR: PIONEER SC-1522-K
    FRONT L/R: MONITOR 70 II
    CENTER: MONITOR 25C
    SURROUND L/R: JAMO S426
    SURROUND BACK L/R: ENERGRY EF-500
    SUBWOOFER: DUAL KLIPSCH RW-12D

    SERVER: UNRAID 15TB
    MEDIA PLAYERS: DUNE SMART SERIES D1
    HDTV: SAMSUNG PN50A650

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    488

    Default

    Thanks, GFO, will do that.
    Modest HT - Pioneer VSX 821K, RT800i, CS400i center, RT25i surrounds, Velodyne CHT-10 sub, Belkin PF30.
    Bedroom - Yamaha RX-V373, Monitor 7C, CS400 center

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    3,283

    Default

    You don't need a Y adapter. Just hook up to left or right and you'll be fine.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    488

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ken brydson View Post
    You don't need a Y adapter. Just hook up to left or right and you'll be fine.
    Thanks. And actually, since I don't yet have the adapter, I did just that this morning and then ran the MCACC and it sounds great so far.

    The Velodyne definitely digs deeper than the HK did and seems great for HT so far. Not sure about music yet though.
    Modest HT - Pioneer VSX 821K, RT800i, CS400i center, RT25i surrounds, Velodyne CHT-10 sub, Belkin PF30.
    Bedroom - Yamaha RX-V373, Monitor 7C, CS400 center

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Subwoofer hook-up
    By dhh in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-06-2009, 03:04 PM
  2. Subwoofer hook up
    By SuperG in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 12:55 PM
  3. Subwoofer hook up
    By pfabulus in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 10:53 AM
  4. subwoofer hook up???????????
    By glemay in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2003, 03:36 PM
  5. Subwoofer hook-up
    By glemay in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2003, 06:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts