Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kentuckiana
    Posts
    456

    Default Panamax M5100-PM Conditioner

    I know someone that has a Panamax M5100-PM Conditioner and is willing to sell it. He asked me to make an offer. I know nothing about AC Conditioners. Is this a good product/brand? What should I offer? If my electrical outlets aren't grounded in this house, will I get any benefit from using a conditioner?

    Thanks!

    DGS
    Pioneer Elite SC-05 | Pioneer BDP-51FD, Pangea AC-14 PC
    Sony Bravia KDL-46S4100 | Dish HDTV
    Monster PowerCenter HTS 5000
    Polk: RTi8 Towers, CSi3 Center, F/Xi3 Surrounds | Polk Subs: PSW125-12", PSW303-8"
    Douglas Connection: Furez DCF124BW, DCF92 SC's
    AudioQuest Chocolate HDMI | Monster: M-Series M850SW, Ultra 1000FO Toslink, Ultra 800 HDMI IC's
    Acoustic Treatments OC703 | Dynamat: Components, Baskets

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    321

    Default

    Do any of your components have 3 pin power plugs?

    Is this a stand alone audio system or does it have wire connections to the outside world (internet or cable TV) ?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kentuckiana
    Posts
    456

    Default

    It's not connected to the internet, but is connected to DISH network. The only two with a three pin plug is my TV and DISH receiver. All the audio equipment is two pin. I'm currently using a $30 six outlet power strip.
    Pioneer Elite SC-05 | Pioneer BDP-51FD, Pangea AC-14 PC
    Sony Bravia KDL-46S4100 | Dish HDTV
    Monster PowerCenter HTS 5000
    Polk: RTi8 Towers, CSi3 Center, F/Xi3 Surrounds | Polk Subs: PSW125-12", PSW303-8"
    Douglas Connection: Furez DCF124BW, DCF92 SC's
    AudioQuest Chocolate HDMI | Monster: M-Series M850SW, Ultra 1000FO Toslink, Ultra 800 HDMI IC's
    Acoustic Treatments OC703 | Dynamat: Components, Baskets

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hermitism View Post
    If my electrical outlets aren't grounded in this house, will I get any benefit from using a conditioner?
    How old is your house ? Older homes can have two-prong ungrounded outlets, but the metal receptacle box in the wall may be grounded because the branch circuit is run with "BX" cable, an older type of armored cable, with flexible steel outer jacket. That steel jacket was usually grounded at the electrical panel end, and clamped to the receptacle box in the wall, making it grounded. You can have an electrician check to see if the receptacle box is grounded. The cover plate will need to be removed and inside checked for type of wiring, and if bx cable is present, verify the presence of a ground connection with a multimeter. If the box is grounded, all that will need to be done is replace your old two-prong outlet with a three-prong grounded outlet.

    BX cable:

    Last edited by Glen B; 07-31-2013 at 04:52 PM.
    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hermitism View Post
    It's not connected to the internet, but is connected to DISH network. The only two with a three pin plug is my TV and DISH receiver. All the audio equipment is two pin. I'm currently using a $30 six outlet power strip.
    Dish Network boxes should not be connected to surge protector's per Dish personal. If you pay for the Dish protection 7.00 per month you will be covered no matter what. Also do not run any of the Dish RG6 through any of those you will lose about 1.5db-2.5db of signal and in stormy/snowy weather conditions it may mean the difference between enough signal to get picture or not any signal at all. If non are grounded you could go and buy THNN green covered wire buy a grounded outlet and run that THNN back to the ground on your panel to get the ground. I had to do that before I removed all my knob and tube wiring.

  6. #6
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,106

    Default

    It is a good brand and a good unit, but you have a two prong surge protector? I didn't even know they made those!

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kentuckiana
    Posts
    456

    Default

    My surge protector is three prong. I have to use an adapter. So it's not actually being used as a surge protector, but I needed six outlets. It's just a $30 six outlet strip. The wiring was redone around 1975. It's as thick as modern day wiring but does not have the ground wire. The "grounded" and "protected" lights do not light up on my power strip. I knew that you needed a ground for a surge protector to work, I just didn't know if I bought a conditioner, if it had to be grounded for it to be used to improve picture and sound quality. Some people say they make a difference and some people say they don't as far as filtering "noise". I thought it would be worth buying at a good "used" price. I'm not having any problems with background noise, I just didn't know if I'd get any benefit from buying one. I plan on running a ground to a cold water pipe and clamping it to the pipe. I don't know much about conditioners, brands and prices, so I thought I'd ask.
    Pioneer Elite SC-05 | Pioneer BDP-51FD, Pangea AC-14 PC
    Sony Bravia KDL-46S4100 | Dish HDTV
    Monster PowerCenter HTS 5000
    Polk: RTi8 Towers, CSi3 Center, F/Xi3 Surrounds | Polk Subs: PSW125-12", PSW303-8"
    Douglas Connection: Furez DCF124BW, DCF92 SC's
    AudioQuest Chocolate HDMI | Monster: M-Series M850SW, Ultra 1000FO Toslink, Ultra 800 HDMI IC's
    Acoustic Treatments OC703 | Dynamat: Components, Baskets

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kentuckiana
    Posts
    456

    Default

    I've been trying to make small inexpensive upgrades. One of the things I wanted to try was to buy a used power conditioner for $75 or under. The guy that had the Panamax unit wanted too much. I ended up buying a Monster Home Theater Reference Powercenter HTS 5000 on eBay tonight for $60 plus shipping. I know they made a HTS 5000 MKII, but I don't think this is a MKII because it doesn't say it anywhere on the unit or the original box in the pictures. I assume the MKII is a newer version of the unit.

    After doing a lot of reading from various boards, some people have mixed opinions about conditioners. I've seen a few people complain that conditioners limit current delivery and can damage amps. I know nothing about this, so I'd like to get everyone's opinion on this. This unit has two outlets for "High Current Filters" labeled "Main Amp" and "Surround Amp". But has a different outlet for "Video Filters", one which is labeled "AV Receiver". I'm nut running a separate amp on my system. Shouldn't my Receiver and Subwoofer both be plugged into the High Current outlets?

    Thank you for taking the time to help.
    Pioneer Elite SC-05 | Pioneer BDP-51FD, Pangea AC-14 PC
    Sony Bravia KDL-46S4100 | Dish HDTV
    Monster PowerCenter HTS 5000
    Polk: RTi8 Towers, CSi3 Center, F/Xi3 Surrounds | Polk Subs: PSW125-12", PSW303-8"
    Douglas Connection: Furez DCF124BW, DCF92 SC's
    AudioQuest Chocolate HDMI | Monster: M-Series M850SW, Ultra 1000FO Toslink, Ultra 800 HDMI IC's
    Acoustic Treatments OC703 | Dynamat: Components, Baskets

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. SOLD Panamax M5300-PM power conditioner
    By jephdood in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2012, 11:07 PM
  2. Panamax M4300-EX Power Conditioner
    By aboroth00 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-16-2012, 11:11 PM
  3. For Sale Panamax M5400-EX power conditioner
    By iskandam in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-07-2012, 04:24 PM
  4. SOLD Panamax M5100-PM Power Conditioner
    By BWilberg266 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2011, 12:22 AM
  5. For Sale Panamax M5100-PM 11-Outlet Home Theater Power Conditioner
    By jolax73 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 07:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts