Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default Satellite radio for home audio

    is it possible to hook up satellite radio service, (xm, etc.) to run thru a tuner such as a sansui tu-517? if so, how do I go about doing so, and what would I need to do this? thanks.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Galveston
    Posts
    2,999

    Default

    Would recommend just getting a Sonos Connect or an as like device and use internet radio, also giving you an additional option of streaming music files if you have ripped or downloaded music on a PC or storage server....no monthly fee's etc

    All you would need are patch cables to Aux input to your Sansui

    Just my .02
    Last edited by txcoastal1; 08-01-2013 at 08:49 AM.
    Home Theater:Samsung8000-55LED,Pioneer SC35, Pioneer DV-79AVi, Sunfire TGA7201, LSi25, LCi RTSc, LC80i
    2chnl system:Melody 101 tube pre, Pass XA30.5 amp, Usher MD2 speakers, W4S Dac, MG Audio Planus2 speaker cables
    Office rig: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    San Jose, Ca
    Posts
    120

    Default

    I would agree half the time the siriusxm internet stream is better quality then the actual sat signal

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    so--if I understand this correctly, I would need to run a cable from my computer (which is in one room) to the aux of the tuner (in another room) and I will then be able to have streaming radio from the internet run thru the receiver to my rta12b's.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    San Jose, Ca
    Posts
    120

    Default

    It depends, sonos uses wifi so you would just attach it to your Sansui. Or if you have a smartphone/tablet you can attach it to the Sansui

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    what if I don't have wifi? I have a desktop computer with uverse for internet and tv. thanks.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Galveston
    Posts
    2,999

    Default

    If you are going to go with a Sonos Connect set up you can purchase a "zone bridge" from Sonos for $50. You can install the "bridge" at you computer and the "Connect" at the Sansui and download the Sonos app to your PC, or any other smart devices on Android or Apple operating systems to control the Sonos. The zone bridge creates a wireless network to one or many Sonos devices in your house.

    The wife and I love it. I use a Sonos Play 5 in the garage, (3) Connects at my HT, Living, and Office rigs, and the wife has a Connect Amp in the bathroom.

    Each zone can stream different music or stream the same music throughout the house....neat stuff
    Home Theater:Samsung8000-55LED,Pioneer SC35, Pioneer DV-79AVi, Sunfire TGA7201, LSi25, LCi RTSc, LC80i
    2chnl system:Melody 101 tube pre, Pass XA30.5 amp, Usher MD2 speakers, W4S Dac, MG Audio Planus2 speaker cables
    Office rig: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    I use one too, very cool device and their software is a notch above the rest. If you have Uverse cable, you probably have one of their routers. Connect a Sonos bridge to their router, and something like a ZP90 to your stereo and your set. Control can be wireless too by why of their own controller or free apps for android or Iphone.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    THANKS VERY MUCH!! I appreciate it. sounds (pun intended) like the way to go---------
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    198

    Default

    If you use Sonos and high quality FLAC files you need to know the following:
    - Sonos supports FLAC files up to 16 bit / 44.1 kHz
    - Sonos does not currently support high-resolution FLAC (24/96)
    AVR: PIONEER SC-1522-K
    FRONT L/R: MONITOR 70 II
    CENTER: MONITOR 25C
    SURROUND L/R: JAMO S426
    SURROUND BACK L/R: ENERGRY EF-500
    SUBWOOFER: DUAL KLIPSCH RW-12D

    SERVER: UNRAID 15TB
    MEDIA PLAYERS: DUNE SMART SERIES D1
    HDTV: SAMSUNG PN50A650

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    I have no idea what a flac file is..what is it?
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laotzu61 View Post
    I have no idea what a flac file is..what is it?
    Here you go:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FLAC
    AVR: PIONEER SC-1522-K
    FRONT L/R: MONITOR 70 II
    CENTER: MONITOR 25C
    SURROUND L/R: JAMO S426
    SURROUND BACK L/R: ENERGRY EF-500
    SUBWOOFER: DUAL KLIPSCH RW-12D

    SERVER: UNRAID 15TB
    MEDIA PLAYERS: DUNE SMART SERIES D1
    HDTV: SAMSUNG PN50A650

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    You can get modded sonos boxes that support 24/96. I have one regular Sonos ZP90 and a Cullen modded ZP90, the difference is subtle in reality. Even less so when using an outboard dac of quality.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    all I want to do, I guess, is get streaming radio from the computer to my sound system.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laotzu61 View Post
    all I want to do, I guess, is get streaming radio from the computer to my sound system.
    Do you want to do it wired directly or wireless ?

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tonyb View Post
    Do you want to do it wired directly or wireless ?
    what are the options for either? right now I have the uverse "brain" for both the computer (den) and tv(living room) in the den. it's all connected via cable thru wall outlets. hope this makes sense.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by txcoastal1 View Post
    If you are going to go with a Sonos Connect set up you can purchase a "zone bridge" from Sonos for $50. You can install the "bridge" at you computer and the "Connect" at the Sansui and download the Sonos app to your PC, or any other smart devices on Android or Apple operating systems to control the Sonos. The zone bridge creates a wireless network to one or many Sonos devices in your house.

    The wife and I love it. I use a Sonos Play 5 in the garage, (3) Connects at my HT, Living, and Office rigs, and the wife has a Connect Amp in the bathroom.

    Each zone can stream different music or stream the same music throughout the house....neat stuff
    ok. here is my next question; I go with a sonos connect set up and get the zone bridge. would I have to run this thru a tuner? is it possible to run the signal (steaming music) right to the pre and then thru the amp and speakers, or do I need the circuitry of a tuner to do this? thanks.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    No, you can go straight to a pre. The Sonos becomes the tuner too anyway with radio from all over the globe.

    Myself and some others have the Sonos, probably the single best thing I ever bought for playing music. A lot of others like the Squeezebox Touch too but they no longer are making those. The Sonos is heads and shoulders above the competition with their software, ease of use. So simple a caveman can do it.
    Last edited by tonyb; 08-02-2013 at 08:27 PM.

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Galveston
    Posts
    2,999

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laotzu61 View Post
    ok. here is my next question; I go with a sonos connect set up and get the zone bridge. would I have to run this thru a tuner? is it possible to run the signal (steaming music) right to the pre and then thru the amp and speakers, or do I need the circuitry of a tuner to do this? thanks.
    Take RCA interconnects and plug directly into your aux/source input of your pre...you can also you the Sonos as a pre to your amp it has volume control. You use the app downloaded to your PC to select from all the internet radio stations and any subscriber music streams using the app. If you have a smart mobile device (phone/tablet) there are free apps for android and Iphone that can be used to control and select stations and music library streams.

    If you have a Target/Best Buy store in your area go take a look.
    Home Theater:Samsung8000-55LED,Pioneer SC35, Pioneer DV-79AVi, Sunfire TGA7201, LSi25, LCi RTSc, LC80i
    2chnl system:Melody 101 tube pre, Pass XA30.5 amp, Usher MD2 speakers, W4S Dac, MG Audio Planus2 speaker cables
    Office rig: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Galveston
    Posts
    2,999

    Default

    Here is a screen shot from laptop control
    Name:  Sonos.JPG
Views: 145
Size:  108.3 KB
    Home Theater:Samsung8000-55LED,Pioneer SC35, Pioneer DV-79AVi, Sunfire TGA7201, LSi25, LCi RTSc, LC80i
    2chnl system:Melody 101 tube pre, Pass XA30.5 amp, Usher MD2 speakers, W4S Dac, MG Audio Planus2 speaker cables
    Office rig: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    thanks very much. that's what I needed to know at this point. and thanks to all of you for the help. sonus it is. in the words of the immortal Alvin Lee, "i'm goin' home" now!!
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Galveston
    Posts
    2,999

    Default

    Well keep us posted and let us know what you think
    Home Theater:Samsung8000-55LED,Pioneer SC35, Pioneer DV-79AVi, Sunfire TGA7201, LSi25, LCi RTSc, LC80i
    2chnl system:Melody 101 tube pre, Pass XA30.5 amp, Usher MD2 speakers, W4S Dac, MG Audio Planus2 speaker cables
    Office rig: Modwright KWI-200 Integrated, Dynaudio C1-II Signatures

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    it's going to be 2 to 3 weeks out yet, but I will do that. and thanks again. I am looking forward to this-------.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    129

    Default

    I really hated the quality of satellite radio. I thought that Wify was better although not the best.
    Panasonic 65" Plasma - Panasonic Blu-ray. Onkyo TX-NR809 RTi A7s fronts - MK CS150s surronds.

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    http://www.amazon.com/Instant-Soluti...keywords=sonos

    is this what I need, then, along with some cable? thanks.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,091

    Default

    That's just the bridge, you also need a ZP90......350 bucks roughly. Go to Sonos's web page and read up.

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    will do. thanks.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Toledo, OH
    Posts
    889

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    west bend, wi.
    Posts
    300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xsmi View Post
    thanks much, xsmi.
    "The symbol is not the reality"

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Toledo, OH
    Posts
    889

    Default

    That's what we're here for.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Satellite radio - don't let them lie
    By dnewhous in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 87
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 02:27 PM
  2. FS: JVC Satellite Radio + Car Kit
    By izafar in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-24-2005, 05:50 PM
  3. How much do you like your satellite radio?
    By dnewhous in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-20-2005, 06:51 PM
  4. Satellite Radio ?
    By dkg999 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2004, 01:04 PM
  5. FS: XM Satellite Radio
    By TheGrayGhost in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2004, 04:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts