Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    135

    Default Bi-amping question

    Is it possible to split the preamplifier outputs to drive to separate power amplifiers?

    I am using a Nikko NR-1019 as a preamplifier for an Adcom GF-1 amplifier. I was thinking of splitting the signal and using the Nikko amplifier to drive a subwoofer.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,195

    Default

    Yes you can.
    Main Surround -
    Epson 8350 Projector/ Elite Screens 120" / Pioneer Elite SC-35 / Sunfire Signature / Focal Chorus 716s / Focal Chorus CC / Polk MC80 / Polk PSW150 sub

    Bedroom - Sharp Aquos 70" 650 / Pioneer SC-1222k / Polk RT-55 / Polk CS-250

    Den - Rotel RSP-1068 / Threshold CAS-2 / Boston VR-M60 / BDP-05FD

  3. #3
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,114

    Default

    Are you planning on doing it with an RCA cable Y splitter?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Yes. Is that a problem?

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rmaiers View Post
    Is it possible to split the preamplifier outputs to drive to separate power amplifiers?

    I am using a Nikko NR-1019 as a preamplifier for an Adcom GF-1 amplifier. I was thinking of splitting the signal and using the Nikko amplifier to drive a subwoofer.
    What you seem to be looking to do is drive a subwoofer where there is no sub output available. You can't just split the Nikko preout signal then combine the two channels at the end of one "Y" adapter to drive the sub. That will create all kinds of loading and channel summing problems with just Y adapters alone feeding the Adcom and subwoofer inputs.

    I strongly suggest a device like the Rolls SX45 active crossover ($76 at Parts Express), which has a dedicated sub output that will drive your subwoofer. You can use Y adapters to feed the Adcom and Rolls inputs. Plug the subwoofer into the Rolls unit sub out. The Rolls unit will present a high enough input impedance to the Nikko preouts so as not to cause loading problems and summing of the signal seen by the Adcom.

    http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...umber=245-1184

    Last edited by Glen B; 08-21-2013 at 01:26 PM.
    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Thanks Glen B! I tried just splitting the preout with a Y RCA splitter and it didn't work. Luckily it didn't seem to hurt anything.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    238

    Default

    The following wiring configuration should work. I have an Adcom GFA-1 too BTW I'm currently using it in my party system, to drive tweeter/midrange cabs. It is a great sounding amp and fantastic bargain that is at home in any system.

    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Parts Express was sold out but I got one for $72.00 free shipping. Thanks again for the good advice!

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I think the answer is yes

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    yes, you can, it's no problem.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Bi - Amping Question
    By kabhattacharya in forum Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2013, 12:09 AM
  2. bi-amping question
    By nastynice in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 12:32 AM
  3. Need Help bi amping question
    By maandjojo in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-29-2009, 09:31 PM
  4. Another question about bi-amping...
    By Rike255 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 10:51 PM
  5. my question on bi-amping
    By bamamusicfan in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-21-2004, 02:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts