Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    441

    Default Have anyone tried this before

    So question, if you were to spilt a signal say using a simple y adapter from your receiver to the your amp using two IC cables to two separate channels and then ran two speaker cables to the speaker would that increase the power to the speaker?

    I got three channels on my BK 5000 that I'm not useing but I don't want to do it if could damage the amp.
    Last edited by polk500; 10-23-2013 at 11:39 PM.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    321

    Default

    That will let all the magic smoke out of the amplifiers.

    Don't do it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cinci,Ohio
    Posts
    991

    Default

    No bad vibes intended,but some of you guys come up with some very strange ideas!

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,026

    Default

    Can you do it....yeah, it won't hurt anything. But....why would you ? The 7's are fairly easy to drive and you'd be surprised how little power it takes to run the top section of the speaker. Plus you have a sub doing all the heavy lifting for the lower regions. Why not use another channel for the center......add some surrounds ?

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    321

    Default

    Under some rather technical conditions it can be done.
    But for the most part, the two amps end up fighting each other. If at one instant, one amp thinks the output should be 9.3V and the other wants 9.4V, each amp will dump lots of currnt into the other to try to correct the voltage.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    441

    Default

    Good morning folks, Strange question is it probably :-) , tony and speed I'm was thinking of using the same Amp the BK and double up the channels to power the Center. Why? Why not is the question :-) as you can probably tell from the question I don't know a lot about amps and how everything works. Do I need to do it no the system sounds fine as is. Just was thinking about it and figured I better ask before I let the Smoke Out :-)

    Thanks
    Roger

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    16,026

    Default

    If I was you Roger, I'd be looking to do one of 2 things at this point. Either upgrade to the LSIM's, or sell the B&K and get a different amp. Not that the B&k is a bad amp, it isn't, but B&K makes better ones that particular one. I'm a fanboy of their amps too BTW. If you wanted to ramp it up a notch or 2, I would look at B&K's higher powered amps, or McCormack amps. Similar sound between the brands but McCormack just has more of it.

    Or.....as you say you like the sound now, leave well enough alone.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    441

    Default

    Or.....as you say you like the sound now, leave well enough alone.

    Thanks for the replies folks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts