Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 33
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,258

    Default BF4, who has and what system

    Did anyone else take the plunge on BF4? If so, what system? I picked up the PC version on launch day. Haven't had much time to play, but tinkered with the single player story line some, and have run 1 multi match as well.

    Very intuitive if you've played other BF games, and the only drawback for me is I think I might need to upgrade my video card a little.

    Let me know if there are other PC players here and we can friend up on Origin.
    2007 Club Polk Football Pool Champ

    2010 Club Polk Fantasy Football Champ

    2011 Club Polk Football Pool Champ


    "It's like a koala bear crapped a rainbow in my brain!"

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,974

    Default

    Can you play co op split screen on your system? I'm not an online gamer so I look for games that 2 people can play in same room on a tv split screen. Seems like nowadays most games are only for online multiplayer. What war setting is BF4? WW2?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,258

    Default

    That I'm not sure about. Not something the PC usually supports since it's usually just 1 KB and mouse in regards to controls. Genre is modern day, which is nice.
    2007 Club Polk Football Pool Champ

    2010 Club Polk Fantasy Football Champ

    2011 Club Polk Football Pool Champ


    "It's like a koala bear crapped a rainbow in my brain!"

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    907

    Default

    I have it on XBox 360 and will upgrade when I puck my XB One in a few weeks.

    I can tell you from my Battlelog friends list that Face and PrazVT both have it on PC.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Urbandale IA
    Posts
    2,210

    Default

    Ps3 here and I'm loving it! I've only messed with the online so far, but I will certainly do the story mode. Two large thumbs up.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,429

    Default

    I've got it on PC but haven't touched it yet, hopefully my Titan can handle it
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AsSiMiLaTeD View Post
    I've got it on PC but haven't touched it yet, hopefully my Titan can handle it
    Titan eh.........you bastard (insert jealous emoticon here.)

    I've got it on PC as well, but am running an old 560ti. Sounds like the memory on my card is the bottle neck (just 1gb), so I'm waiting on the R9's to drop in price some before I upgrade.

    Look me up if you get on Assimilated. Gaming handle is "GlassPheasant".
    2007 Club Polk Football Pool Champ

    2010 Club Polk Fantasy Football Champ

    2011 Club Polk Football Pool Champ


    "It's like a koala bear crapped a rainbow in my brain!"

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,429

    Default

    The new R9 cards look nice, and will be a better price to performance ratio than the Nvidia cards (unless Nvidia drops their pricing). The Nvidia cards are more 'premium' though in that they run cooler and quitter than the AMD cards. For me personally, that quitter and cooler nature of the Nvidia cards is worth the price premium, but you can get a better price out of AMD if you're willing to compromise on those.
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,736

    Default

    Just picked up a 7970 for a little under $300 a few weeks ago, runs like a dream on my i7. Now if they could fix the server side...
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Grabbed it on PC…running Tri-SLI with 3 GTX780's. Runs 'pretty good'…and by that I mean 144fps pretty good.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bdaley6509 View Post
    Grabbed it on PC…running Tri-SLI with 3 GTX780's. Runs 'pretty good'…and by that I mean 144fps pretty good.
    Good lord. What display(s) are you running? That's a whole lotta video card going on.
    2007 Club Polk Football Pool Champ

    2010 Club Polk Fantasy Football Champ

    2011 Club Polk Football Pool Champ


    "It's like a koala bear crapped a rainbow in my brain!"

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    1,102

    Default

    Will probably grab it for the PC I'm running i7 2500-16G DDR-2 6970's in crossfire..
    Haven't upgraded in about 2 years should still run anything I throw at it at very decent frames..
    Rogue Audio 99 Magnum/McCormack DNA 500 and 250,McCormack LD-2 pre,Polk SDA SRS 3.1TL's, Paradigm Studio 100's ,Pro-Ject Xtension 10 TT/Technics SL-1200Mk2,Ortofon Cadenza Red/MIT Speaker cables,Alpha Core Python Speaker cables,MIT interconnects,Van Den Hul interconnects /Yamaha RX-A2000

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jflail2 View Post
    Good lord. What display(s) are you running? That's a whole lotta video card going on.
    Just a single Asus VG278 display that runs at 144hz. The results are so smooth. Almost feels like cheating.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2,258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jhayman View Post
    Will probably grab it for the PC I'm running i7 2500-16G DDR-2 6970's in crossfire..
    Haven't upgraded in about 2 years should still run anything I throw at it at very decent frames..
    We're running pretty much the same system, except for vid cards then. I realllllly need to grab an R9, but with Christmas coming and being house broke, that'll probably have to wait until February's bonus. Sigh.
    2007 Club Polk Football Pool Champ

    2010 Club Polk Fantasy Football Champ

    2011 Club Polk Football Pool Champ


    "It's like a koala bear crapped a rainbow in my brain!"

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,426

    Default

    I have a rental copy for Xbox One that may turn into a keeper.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Southeast Missouri
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AsSiMiLaTeD View Post
    The new R9 cards look nice, and will be a better price to performance ratio than the Nvidia cards (unless Nvidia drops their pricing). The Nvidia cards are more 'premium' though in that they run cooler and quitter than the AMD cards. For me personally, that quitter and cooler nature of the Nvidia cards is worth the price premium, but you can get a better price out of AMD if you're willing to compromise on those.
    True on all counts. But I'm afraid that you would need dry ice to keep them cool. LOL Go Crossfire and you would get nuclear fission.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    118

    Default

    Haven't bought it yet, waiting for PC wrinkles to be ironed out...hoping an i5 @ 4.7ghz and two overclocked/overvolted MSI Lightning GTX 580s will get me through a few months' worth of play, at least. Can't upgrade for a bit.
    Marantz CD6004
    Adcom GFP-750
    McCormack DNA-1
    Polk LSi9s
    Blue Jeans cable + ICs

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,736

    Default

    It hasn't crashed on me since the last update.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    907

    Default

    I have still seen a few crashes after the patch on Xbox one, but nowhere near as many as before.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tropical location
    Posts
    13

    Default

    This was the first thread that caught my eye after not being on here for a while... gamer here for sure.

    I picked this up at the first midnight launch i've been too since Halo 3, I got it for the PC.

    I'm running it on a gtx 680 and a 3770, it does a good job running it, not often do i see the frame rate drop and im often curious how much of it is lag at times because it stay consistently smooth in most matchups, but the goal right now is to grab another 680 off craigslist for cheap and run sli in another rig i have downstairs that isn't a miniITX mobo (and will let me sli two 680's), besides its connected to my polk surround system that will be getting a 505 sub upgrade this Christmas - so I owe it to my wife and neighbors to ring in the new year with life like rifle cracks and cannon fire from M1's and M320's... ect

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    409

    Default

    Yesterday's PC patch really messed things up. Getting tons of lag/stuttering now and also hate the new death animation. Game played perfectly for me before this... Frustrating.
    Bedroom 2 channel: NAD C316BEE, Marantz cd6004, Polk Audio TSi100, Audioquest Bedrock & King Cobra
    HT: Onkyo HT-RC360, Athena Micra 6

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,736

    Default

    No lag or stuttering here.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default

    play it a lot.

    I play it @ 1440p with 2x GTX 780 SLI but I had HUGE problems when I first started playing.

    Tons of stuttering, lag, framerate issues. It was almost unplayable.

    What fixed it is when I moved from Windows 7 to Windows 8.1. CPU Parking is disabled by default in 8.1 and that caused huge issues for people.

    You can manually turn it off in 7 but why not switch to 8. Even though I don't like the interface much, all games run better on it. The origianl crysis was so unoptimized i got like 10fps on 7, but like +120 on 8.1

    Anyways, the new patch that was released a couple days ago did f*** everything up. Tons of flashing textures, non-existant textures, hopefully they will fix it soon!

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    New York, LI
    Posts
    379

    Default

    You can add me if you want. PM me for my Origin name.
    I play on the PC with eyefinity (5760x1080) on two XFX R9 290 video cards.
    2CH Setup.
    CM9
    Rotel RC-1550
    Rotel RB-1070
    MIT AVT2 Interconnects

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    BOSTON
    Posts
    53

    Default

    BF4, Yes I have it...waited for the party update.

    XBOXONE

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    118

    Default

    Bought it, playing it with 2 overclocked, overvolted GTX 580s and a 2500K @ 4.6ghz...very impressed, very happily surprised with performance. Nice graphic improvement over BF3. 1920x1080 @120hz, all settings Ultra, 70-110 fps.
    Marantz CD6004
    Adcom GFP-750
    McCormack DNA-1
    Polk LSi9s
    Blue Jeans cable + ICs

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    1,581

    Default

    I'm running BF4 on my PC - 2 eVGA GTX770 SC 4GB cards in SLI, Core i7 970@ 4.2GHz (WC'd), playing @ 1900x1200. Aside from the various bugs we've been dealing with, the game has been pretty fun!

    No lag / stuttering here either! And after moving the game to an SSD, load times are much better.

    Only issue I'm seeing right now is that my MTAR loadout goes back to all accessories unloaded after each time I run the game. ie. if I exit out and join a different server, I have to go in and add everything back.
    Last edited by PrazVT; 01-04-2014 at 01:47 PM.
    ALL BOXED UP for a while until I save up for a new place :(

    Home Theater:
    KEF Q900s / MIT Shotgun S3 / MIT CVT2 ICs | KEF Q600C | Polk FXi5 | BJC Wire | Signal / AQ ICs | Shunyata / Pangea PCs | Pioneer Elite SC 57 | Parasound NC2100 Pre | NAD M25 | Marantz SA8001 | Schiit Gungnir DAC | SB Touch

    2 Channel:
    Polk LSi9 (xo mods), Polk DSW MicroPro 2000 sub | NAD c375BEE | W4S DAC1 | SB Touch | Marantz SA-8001 | MIT AVt 2 | Kimber Hero / AQ / Signal ICs | Shunyata / Signal PCs

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Sicily
    Posts
    1,131

    Default

    360 and RobD213
    HT/2channel:
    AVR: Yamaha RX-V 765
    Fronts: Polk RTiA3
    sub: Polk PSW110(will add 2x PSW 505)
    Center: CS13
    surrounds:Polk RTi4
    TV: samsung 40
    The real 2 Channel(work in progress):
    Pre:HK 3490
    Amp:Parasound 1200 MK II
    Sub:RBH 1010-SEP
    Speakers: YTD
    most of my comments are passing on of info, im a noob, im just trying to help how i can, if im wrong or out of place to comment, dont hesitate to let me know :)

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Sicily
    Posts
    1,131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeros View Post
    I have it on XBox 360 and will upgrade when I puck my XB One in a few weeks.

    I can tell you from my Battlelog friends list that Face and PrazVT both have it on PC.
    if youre still on 360, you should add me, i play with a couple guys from base, and some friends back stateside, just got my new best heeadshot at 757,9 somethin meters
    HT/2channel:
    AVR: Yamaha RX-V 765
    Fronts: Polk RTiA3
    sub: Polk PSW110(will add 2x PSW 505)
    Center: CS13
    surrounds:Polk RTi4
    TV: samsung 40
    The real 2 Channel(work in progress):
    Pre:HK 3490
    Amp:Parasound 1200 MK II
    Sub:RBH 1010-SEP
    Speakers: YTD
    most of my comments are passing on of info, im a noob, im just trying to help how i can, if im wrong or out of place to comment, dont hesitate to let me know :)

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    907

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seabeerob213 View Post
    if youre still on 360, you should add me, i play with a couple guys from base, and some friends back stateside, just got my new best heeadshot at 757,9 somethin meters
    I am on Xbox one now, but I will still send you a live friend request.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Stolen System -> New System
    By DSkip in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-06-2006, 03:48 AM
  2. Complete system 6.1 system (w/ 2 subs)
    By faheem5 in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-16-2005, 11:16 PM
  3. how to set up my 2ch system
    By nadams in forum 2 Channel Audio
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-15-2004, 10:49 PM
  4. New system
    By jwday75 in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-25-2003, 07:03 PM
  5. Added System to the System Showcase
    By peckgary in forum Speakers
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-07-2003, 12:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts