Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Sound bar 5000 issues

    Hi all,

    I have been experiencing a couple issues with my new sound boar 5000.

    First issue is that the sound will go mute even at medium sound levels.


    Second issue is when Im done playing xbox the sound bar has an issue switching back to the TV audio.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,845

    Default

    Hello GoldTech,
    Welcome to Polk's forum. There is an automatic muting if the SB doesn't receive a strong enough signal for a certain period of time. Try raising the level of the signals that are coming into it, so that they remain above the auto-mute threshold during quiet passages. I'm not sure about your second problem. Do you mean you have trouble getting the SB to play TV sound after using the X-Box?
    Regards, Ken

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kenneth Swauger View Post
    Hello GoldTech,
    Welcome to Polk's forum. There is an automatic muting if the SB doesn't receive a strong enough signal for a certain period of time. Try raising the level of the signals that are coming into it, so that they remain above the auto-mute threshold during quiet passages. I'm not sure about your second problem. Do you mean you have trouble getting the SB to play TV sound after using the X-Box?
    Regards, Ken
    Ken,

    Thanks for the reply. yes the SB will not switch over to TV sound once I shut the Xbox off and select HDMI mode for the TV.


    Thanks!

  4. #4
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,845

    Default

    Can you describe what happens? I'm assuming you have the Xbox into one of the SB's inputs and the TV's sound into another. Is the problem that the SB won't switch inputs? Or, that you route the Xbox's audio through the TV's switching and then leaving the SB's source on the same input there's no audio?
    If so, try giving the audio of the Xbox its own source on the SB.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kenneth Swauger View Post
    Can you describe what happens? I'm assuming you have the Xbox into one of the SB's inputs and the TV's sound into another. Is the problem that the SB won't switch inputs? Or, that you route the Xbox's audio through the TV's switching and then leaving the SB's source on the same input there's no audio?
    If so, try giving the audio of the Xbox its own source on the SB.

    Ken,

    I have the Xbox connected to the TV via an HDMI cable on input 1 and my cable box connected to the TV via an HDMI cable on input 2, then I have an optical cable going from the TV to the SB.

  6. #6
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,845

    Default

    From what you describe I'm not sure that an SB issue. It is being fed the signal from the TV and the TV is selecting between input 1 and 2, correct? The SB doesn't know what input the TV has selected, it just reproduces whatever signal it receives. There might be some setup instructions with the TV that need to be set?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Ken,

    I have an additional question regarding the dolby sound. I have an optical cable going from my TV to the SB, and I have an HDMI cable going from my cable box to my TV. I have noticed that when I'm watching a network station that broadcasts in dolby, the SB light doesn't switch to green and produce dolby sound, any ideas?

  8. #8
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,845

    Default

    Hello,
    I'm not a 100% sure what might be happening, but it could be that although the original program was recorded in Dolby surround sound the cable company isn't sending it out that way. Usually there will be the disclaimer "presented in Dolby surround where available" the "where available" part is the problem. Bandwidth limitations can cause cable providers to trim off what they feel is extraneous.
    Do other programs trigger the Dolby function?
    Regards, Ken
    Recent bumpersticker: "Before you criticize someone walk a mile in his shoes. That way if he gets angry he'll be a mile behind you - and shoeless!"

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Yes, my Xbox 360 is connected the same way to the TV with an HDMI cable and it does trigger the Dolby function as well as Blu Ray movies.

    Thanks

  10. #10
     Moderator 
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Polk Audio
    Posts
    3,845

    Default

    Hello,
    It might do some good to contact your cable provider, they might have an upgrade option that would give better sound. At least they can confirm if what they are sending is surround sound or not.
    Cheers, Ken
    Recent bumpersticker: "Before you criticize someone walk a mile in his shoes. That way if he gets angry he'll be a mile behind you - and shoeless!"

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I found this on Samsung's website, this confirms the issue, hope this helps others.

    When the TV is receiving a coaxial signal, the TV will have the ability to send 5.1 CH sound to the home theater receiver or SB through the Optical output. However, when the source is a digital component connected to the TV via HDMI, only 2 CH audio will be output from all of the TVís audio output. If you want to hear 5.1 CH audio, please connect the digital audio out jack from your device directly to an amplifier,home theater or SB.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help MicroPRO 2000 sound issues
    By Milsivich in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-24-2011, 11:26 PM
  2. Replacing carpet with hardwood floor, sound issues
    By Sami in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 11-13-2008, 12:30 PM
  3. Sound issues with Youtube?
    By brettw22 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2008, 10:22 AM
  4. RT 5000 suround sound system
    By tlarsen77 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-25-2006, 08:07 PM
  5. Back issues of Sound and Vision....
    By shepx2 in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2004, 11:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts