Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wheatfield, Kansas
    Posts
    1,477

    Default Connecting processor to receiver

    Is there anything more complicated to hook a 7.1 channel processor to my Rotel receiver than running the processor's 7.1 outputs
    to the receiver's 7.1 inputs? I need the multiple hdmi inputs the receiver lacks. Then all audio sources plug into the processor?

    How is volume controlled when you use the receiver for power only? Where is volume on the receiver set?

    thanks

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,220

    Default

    The processor should be at full volume/signal all the time, and you use the receiver's volume control. Generally a receiver's volume is set on that big dial on the front, or the buttons labeled "volume up/volume down" on the remote.
    Main Surround -
    Epson 8350 Projector/ Elite Screens 120" / Pioneer Elite SC-35 / Sunfire Signature / Focal Chorus 716s / Focal Chorus CC / Polk MC80 / Polk PSW150 sub

    Bedroom - Sharp Aquos 70" 650 / Pioneer SC-1222k / Polk RT-55 / Polk CS-250

    Den - Rotel RSP-1068 / Threshold CAS-2 / Boston VR-M60 / BDP-05FD

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wheatfield, Kansas
    Posts
    1,477

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nguyendot View Post
    The processor should be at full volume/signal all the time, and you use the receiver's volume control. Generally a receiver's volume is set on that big dial on the front, or the buttons labeled "volume up/volume down" on the remote.
    Thanks. The first time I bought a power amp, I was very confused that there was no volume control. Then I learned volume was controlled through the pre/pro. I have had many receivers and separates but never hybridized them.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    17,135

    Default

    You would get better sound if you sold the receiver and bought an amp. Right now, the amp section in the receiver is all your using it for.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Connecting Amp to A/V Receiver
    By Silverfang2340 in forum Speakers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-17-2012, 04:06 AM
  2. Need Help Help connecting my pc to my tv thru my av receiver
    By filoco85 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 10:36 PM
  3. Need Help Need help connecting my pc to my tv thru my receiver
    By filoco85 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 05:25 PM
  4. Connecting receiver to amplifier HELP
    By DON73 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-07-2011, 02:59 PM
  5. Need Help connecting a new receiver
    By wakey2 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 03:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts