Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    127

    Default Wiring mono block amps

    Hi guys,

    Newbieeeee ???, I am looking at using mono block amps for my sda 1.2's. I am confused on how to run the speaker wiring.

    1. Do I need bi wire speaker cable? or just my stand cable
    2. Do I need to remove the jumper?

    BTW the amps are W4S SX-1000. Pic's help out much...

    Current system is a Adcom GFA 5500 amp, Adcom GFP-750 pre-amp with a dreadnaught due to adcom not being common ground.

    THX
    mco

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,559

    Default

    doesn't just the SDA cable run trough the dreadnaught? Amps to speakers and common ground through dreadnaught?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Currently yes. But the W4S mono's are not common ground and the negative posts can not be strapped

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,559

    Default

    correct mono blocks are not common ground. I was meaning that with the dreadnaught you're picking up a common ground WITH the dreadnaught. How many binding post on DN 4? Sorry man just trying to help I went back and looked though pages on the DN build and seen where Ray had his DN in front of his speakers so I may have wrongly assumed that amp to speaker binding post and the common ground was picked up from the DN.

    I'll differ until those who actually have one chime in....Larry, Jesse, Drummin got your ears on come in good buddies:)

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Thx Pit, I believe moosebach68 is using mono block with a dreadnaught.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,224

    Default

    You hook up mono blocks just like a stereo amp. Left channel +/- to the left speaker, right channel +/- to the right speaker. You must use the Dreadnaught.

    You can bi-wire, if you want.

    Replacing the stock jumpers with high quality speaker cable is always an excellent idea. Of course, if you bi-wire, you remove the jumpers.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    127

    Default

    As always CP'ers to the rescue. I can not say enough from the fine folks that have answered my questions. :)

    mco

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Not sold on bi-wiring. Trey is is building my crossovers. Went with the Gimpod upgrade with wiring, caps, inductors and new sda cable. Then new rdo-198's.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    WDSM, IA
    Posts
    2,006

    Default

    Bi-wiring is simply running 2 sets of wires to each speaker. Typically from the single set of amplifier outputs to the top and bottom binding posts on the speakers.

    This is not the same thing as bi-amping which is far more complex, involves multiple amps, an active crossover and bypassing the passive crossovers in the speakers (if active bi-amping).

    Think of bi-wiring as just using a much longer set of jumpers.
    "Unwad those panties and have a good time man. We're all here to help each other, no matter how it might appear." DSkip
    I may have an addiction... RTA-15TL, SDA 2, LSi25, LSi15, LSi9, LSi7, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LS/FX, RT/FX, DSW MP2000...and that's just the Polks...

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    127

    Default

    BTW, I spoke to Clint from W4S. Their mono amps can not be strapped FYI. (SX- models). I am leaning towards them more and more.
    Thanks everyone.
    mco

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    WDSM, IA
    Posts
    2,006

    Default

    As long as you have your Dreadnaught, there is no need to strap the grounds. The whole purpose of it is to make SDAs usable with non-common ground amps.
    "Unwad those panties and have a good time man. We're all here to help each other, no matter how it might appear." DSkip
    I may have an addiction... RTA-15TL, SDA 2, LSi25, LSi15, LSi9, LSi7, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LS/FX, RT/FX, DSW MP2000...and that's just the Polks...

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,559

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZLTFUL View Post
    As long as you have your Dreadnaught, there is no need to strap the grounds. The whole purpose of it is to make SDAs usable with non-common ground amps.

    Correct as I said before "you're picking up common ground with the dreadnaught" you have a pin/blade interconnect cable. The pin is the SDA signal the blade just goes to ground(negative binding post) in the speaker. That is why when you make a new cable AND USE a common ground amp there is not need to make a blade on the new cable...BUT that blade now carries the ground plane with the DREADNAUGHT so that is why you need 2 binding post on both sides of the dreadnaught. One is the signal one and the other ground....

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Thx, Z & pit... It is one thing to add but understanding how and why is even more important. Thus giving me more insight in understanding and tweaking my system to squeeze out the best.

    mco

  14. #14
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,182

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VCoak View Post
    BTW, I spoke to Clint from W4S. Their mono amps can not be strapped FYI. (SX- models). I am leaning towards them more and more.
    Thanks everyone.
    mco
    Correct. Strapping a W4S amp is a bad idea as they use ICEpower modules for amplification, and those have a balanced output; +1/2 positive and -1/2 negative instead of +1 positive and 0 negative.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Sacramento Ca.
    Posts
    1,855

    Default

    Be gone esteamshower.Reported!

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    292

    Default

    bump
    Too many good quotes to list..waiting for some fresh ammo. :)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Polk SDA SRS 2.3 with Mono Block Amps
    By EvilMuffin in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 01-22-2014, 12:22 AM
  2. For Sale Adcom GFA-565 Mono-Block Amps
    By Texas42 in forum For Sale (FS) Classifieds
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-05-2009, 05:02 PM
  3. Wanted mono block amps, need three
    By xj4094dg in forum Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 01:29 AM
  4. Marantz mono block amps
    By danger boy in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-07-2005, 12:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts