Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32

Thread: Jriver skipping

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default Jriver skipping

    Skipping has been an issue for a while in Jriver. Usually very short interruptions, and intermittent in nature. I can listen for hours with no incident, and then get 5 skips in 20 minutes.
    Usage is such that I am most often actively using the computer while listening, but even if I am away from the desk, listening while elsewhere in the house, it will still skip.
    Last week, I changed out the cpu and RAM (AMD 8350 8 core @ 4.8Ghz, 8 GB Gskill Ripjaws). And a fresh install of Win7 64 bit on ssd. Though I didn't have any long listening sessions, I had no skips UNTIL I updated the Flash plug-in for Chrome... and now it is a daily occurrence.

    Digital chain is My Book Live cloud drive to Netgear router. Computer has HT Omega card (drivers installed) with Huffman D.I. to Peachtree Dac-It.

    I am using ASIO4ALL generic with Windows audio disabled. I have tried WASAPI and Direct Hardware, they all skip. I feel confident I can rule out cpu/RAM overload.....

    I have tried all forms of buffering, port forwarding for the external drive, disabling drivers, etc and am just going in circles.

    I hope I have provided enough info... if not, let me know. But please lend me a new direction....

    Thanks

    Steve
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (9)

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    2,487

    Default

    Definitely sounds like you have the hardware end well covered.

    Have you noticed that the bit depth or sample rate has anything to do with the skipping?

    How 'bout trying to undo the Flash update?
    Wris****ch--->Crisco

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (12)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Plainfield, Illinois
    Posts
    5,384

    Default

    I thought I read somewhere where Chrome plugins can cause conflict with JRiver and other programs. Maybe google for that and see if you catch a fix.
    Make yourself necessary to someone. Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Salk SoundScape 8's
    Krell KRC-HR Class A Pre w/ Reference Phono
    Krell Class A KSA-250
    Harmonic Technology Pro 9+
    Squeezebox Touch / Welborne Labs PS / I2S Out Mod
    Denon 3910 w/I2S/DSD Out
    Twisted Pear Buffalo III Dual Mono ESS Sabre32 DAC
    Sennheiser HD650
    Heavy Plinth Lenco L75 Idler Drive
    AA MG-1 Linear Air Bearing Arm
    AT33PTG/II & Denon 103R
    Shunyata Hydra (Original)
    NHT B-12d subs
    GIK Acoustic Treatments


    CP Showcase

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by strider View Post
    Definitely sounds like you have the hardware end well covered.

    Have you noticed that the bit depth or sample rate has anything to do with the skipping?

    How 'bout trying to undo the Flash update?
    this is a good time to say I am new-ish to Jriver. I have done little with either but run everything at 44000. my files are either 16 bit or 24 bit, depending. i have all upsampling disabled.

    Yes, I did immediately uninstall the Flash plugin.

    Quote Originally Posted by SCompRacer View Post
    I thought I read somewhere where Chrome plugins can cause conflict with JRiver and other programs. Maybe google for that and see if you catch a fix.
    it happens with Firefox as well, and even without a browser open.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    upon further investigation, it would appear I can trigger the skipping by flipping the light switch in both my office (were the gear is) and in the dining room. I have not gone father investigating every switch.
    It will not skip on every flip, but if keep hitting the switch, it will eventually start skipping and then continue... each skip coinciding with a flip in which the lights turn on.
    So, it would seem I have a bigger issue. I had a fully grounded 20A line installed just for the audio gear, and the computer is on another line in the office, so my mind tells me the problem goes back to our breaker box. The incoming service to the house was replaced two years ago, the box & sub-panel are a nice Square D, and the two electricians who have seen the box said things look good. So I am not sure if just adding a power condition is the answer, or if I should be worried about a bigger potential problem.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,790

    Default

    A ONLINE UPS for the PC would help, but it would be nice to know why exactly it's happening.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (12)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Plainfield, Illinois
    Posts
    5,384

    Default

    I like to use a simple tester to ensure things are connected properly at wall outlets. You can get them online or at Home Depot.

    Does your office light switch also have a dimmer on it or is it just on/off?

    Make yourself necessary to someone. Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Salk SoundScape 8's
    Krell KRC-HR Class A Pre w/ Reference Phono
    Krell Class A KSA-250
    Harmonic Technology Pro 9+
    Squeezebox Touch / Welborne Labs PS / I2S Out Mod
    Denon 3910 w/I2S/DSD Out
    Twisted Pear Buffalo III Dual Mono ESS Sabre32 DAC
    Sennheiser HD650
    Heavy Plinth Lenco L75 Idler Drive
    AA MG-1 Linear Air Bearing Arm
    AT33PTG/II & Denon 103R
    Shunyata Hydra (Original)
    NHT B-12d subs
    GIK Acoustic Treatments


    CP Showcase

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    All switches are just on/off.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    well, i have new found facts.

    i have been chasing many tails, and believe I have come to a conclusion. I believe the issue is my Peachtree DAC*It.

    I hooked a cd player directly to the pre, hit every switch and took every action I have found to cause skipping, and there was nothing. Not a single skip.

    However, if I hook up the cd player to the DAC*It via my Huffman digital IC, it takes next to nothing to get things to skip. and of three switches will trigger the skipping. So, either the Dac or the cable..... I am hunting down a TOSLINK cable to help rule out the cable.

    I have purchased this unit....APC 1200 voltage regulator...http://www.apc.com/products/resource...ase_sku=LE1200

    and the Dac is currently plugged into that, but the APC doesn't appear to be helping. Which confuses me. Any thoughts anyone?
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    nevermind... problem solved. my Huffman cable has a bad RCA connector. How that picked up electric switches and refrigerators turning on, I would love to know.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    ok... new info.

    The Huffman cable was sent and repaired.

    I then found the Coax port on my HT Omega card had a bad solder. That has been repaired.

    And still, the music skips when this cable is used in conjunction with the sound card. It still can be triggered with the light switch.
    But it does NOT happen, ever, when using TOSLINK.

    And, if I hook a cd player directly to DAC using the cable, there is no issue. Never a skip, light switch or not.

    So, for some reason, that specific jack on the sound card is picking up some sort of EMI? Maybe?

    Any other thoughts as to a cause or possible fix?
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    272

    Default

    You've already investigated areas that I wouldn't have thought of (at least in a short period of time)! It's obvious there's some sort of EMI issue going on if the Toslink interface is working (I use Toslink instead of coax whenever possible), but I'm not sure you'll ever completely solve the issue if there is design (grounding) problem with the sound card itself.
    Yamaha DSP-A1 Integrated Amp
    (4) Polk Monitor 10B's w/SoniCaps, Mills, and RDO-194 tweets (R/L F/R)
    (2) Polk Monitor 4's w/peerless tweets (dual centers)
    B&O TX2 Turntable
    Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
    Pioneer CLD-99 Elite LD
    Samsung BD-P2550 Blu-Ray/DVD
    LG LST-3410a OTA DVR
    Princeton AF3.0HD Monitor
    Optoma HD65 Projector

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    seattle,wa
    Posts
    933

    Default

    My Dac will drop the signal when the electric stove upstairs in the kitchen switches the burner on every time and every time the furnace shuts off. It is called ground bounce. It is a spike through the ground. The optical connection may solve the issue because there is no ground. Does your Dac use the ESS processor? My twisted pear audio Dac uses the ESS 9018 chip and they are very picky about ground noise.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bikerboy View Post
    My Dac will drop the signal when the electric stove upstairs in the kitchen switches the burner on every time and every time the furnace shuts off. It is called ground bounce. It is a spike through the ground. The optical connection may solve the issue because there is no ground. Does your Dac use the ESS processor? My twisted pear audio Dac uses the ESS 9018 chip and they are very picky about ground noise.
    I honestly believe it to be a problem with the computer, since I cannot replicate the issue using the Coax cable, going from a cd player to the DAC directly.
    and the outlet for the audio gear, and the outlet for the computer, are on two separate feeds, both new, both 20A, and both grounded.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    seattle,wa
    Posts
    933

    Default

    Try useing one outlet for both the computer and the Dac.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bikerboy View Post
    Try useing one outlet for both the computer and the Dac.
    both the computer and the DAC are plugged into an APC voltage regulator. So far the light switch will not trigger the skipping. I know it is not the voltage regulator alone fixing, because I swear to God, I had tried every conceivable way off plugging things in... yet, I must have missed this one.
    Understand that this has been a journey of months, so my optimism is tempered. But, it this solves the problem, you are my ****ing hero. Thanks bikerboy.
    But do you think it is the DAC still, even though I couldn't replicate it with DAC only? Or is it something in the relationship between the DAC and the computer?
    Last edited by 11tsteve; 03-07-2014 at 05:41 PM.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    and yes, the DAC-it uses the ESS Sabre 9023.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    ah. I think I understand.... the DAC was singular before, and the cd player on the same circuit, but since the computer was on a separate circuit, and not of common ground, this is what caused the bounce. So, ultimately, it is the DAC.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    seattle,wa
    Posts
    933

    Default

    I have looked at this issue for quite soom time and it has been very frustrating. The ESS dac chips are very sensitive to a high quality signal and they let you know when it isnt good. I get dropouts sometimes but I have finally figured out the source and can deal with it. Glad I could help, it seemed you had it solved with the bad cables.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    nope... still skipping. not as frequent, but still does.....
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    flower mound, tx
    Posts
    4,336

    Default

    ok, try something new. I've had lots of skipping problems.
    Source- POWER MANAGEMENT. Green motherboards and
    newer OS tend to do some funky stuff. Go into your operating system
    and turn off the green stuff. Don't let it throttle down your processor
    speed.
    "The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg." --Thomas Jefferson

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sucks2beme View Post
    ok, try something new. I've had lots of skipping problems.
    Source- POWER MANAGEMENT. Green motherboards and
    newer OS tend to do some funky stuff. Go into your operating system
    and turn off the green stuff. Don't let it throttle down your processor
    speed.
    thanks, but I already turn all of that stuff off for overclocking. And I have tried toggling the Spread Spectrum on and off for both the cpu and the pci slots, as this directly addresses the EMI issue, but it did nothing.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    flower mound, tx
    Posts
    4,336

    Default

    ok, so just as a double check, leave your task manager up and open into performance monitoring.
    I would assume that things are going haywire when it skips.
    Also, have you looked into a small ups for the pc?
    "The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg." --Thomas Jefferson

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    there is nothing that happens, visually, in any of the PM's live graphs. I have checked that, and Event Logs. Did you have something specific in mind in the performance monitor, or something that you have seen in your case?
    Currently, the computer is plugged into this..... http://www.posglobal.com/LE1200.html

    Part of me is starting to wonder if it is the DAC, but maybe not what we discussed earlier with the ESS chip, but possibly the fact that this Peachtree uses a power dongle instead of a three prong power cord.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    there is nothing that happens, visually, in any of the PM's live graphs. I have checked that, and Event Logs. Did you have something specific in mind in the performance monitor, or something that you have seen in your case?
    Currently, the computer is plugged into this..... http://www.posglobal.com/LE1200.html

    Part of me is starting to wonder if it is the DAC, but maybe not what we discussed earlier with the ESS chip, but possibly the fact that this Peachtree uses a power dongle instead of a three prong power cord.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    flower mound, tx
    Posts
    4,336

    Default

    just generic troubleshooting. That is all very strange.
    other than a power line monitor, or a ups,
    you're pretty much done.
    "The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg." --Thomas Jefferson

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Do you have an IR remote in the room, connected to the PC?
    Do you use compact florescent lights in the room?
    I've seen CFL lights create interference with my IR remote and remote repeater pretty randomly.

    If you're looking for strange things anyways...
    Receiver: ONKYO TX-SR806 7.1 surround 130 W/Ch THX Ultra2 Plus
    Mains: 2x Polk RTA 8TL's
    Surrounds: 2x Klipsch RS-41ii (because they fit perfectly over the door and window)
    Subwoofer: Speakerlab DAS-SW dual-voice-coil 10" '88 30Hz-150Hz
    Subwoofer Amp: ONKYO A-8019 AMP '85 100wpc
    Center: Polk CS245i
    Display: Samsung 55" UNC55-8000 3D LED
    Console: Xbox360
    DVR: custom MythTV rig w/ 3 tuners OTA
    Zone2: 2x Polk M4a '90

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Johnson City TN
    Posts
    1,710

    Default

    11steve-

    Just found this thread and wondering if you ever found a fix. I also have a Peachtree DAC-iT and run JRiver to the X1 asynchorus (sp) convertor via usb from computer and then coaxil into the DAC. Do you have any static electricity issues in your listening area? I have found in my system that while running jriver I get skipping every time I get up from the couch and touch anything metal in my system. Even walking across the area rug between couch and entertainment system will apparently send a surge that the 2ch system is picking up. Right now I have the usb cable from the computer running under this rug and am hoping to eliminate that issue when I reroute the 20' USB cable down into the crawlspace and back up into the living room, but I think I will still have issues with static electricity discharges regardless. For now I just touch the side of the stove before touching any of my audio gear.

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    northern iowa
    Posts
    816

    Default

    I had the issue with the Peachtree on digital IC but never toslink, and i never tried USB.My Keces has never had the issue in the month plus I have had it in my system.
    Polk 5jr+
    B&K Ref. 200.2
    NAD 116
    Keces DA-131
    Analysis Plus Copper Oval, AQ King Cobra
    AMD 8350 @ 4.8 Ghz.

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Southeastern Michigan
    Posts
    1,528

    Default

    I had the skipping issue when I first started in on computer music. I was using an older windows laptop. I then switched to a newer iMac and haven't had a skip since. Not one in hundreds of hours of music. Also using a Peachtree, the Dac it x. Not saying it's your computer, but it might be.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. JRiver playback static issue
    By dragon1952 in forum Going Digital
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-30-2013, 10:28 AM
  2. JRiver/Foobar Ripping Question
    By Devlon in forum Going Digital
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-23-2013, 12:08 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-31-2012, 12:53 PM
  4. dvd keeps skipping....
    By michael_w in forum Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 06:17 PM
  5. A Little help with skipping
    By DJ Sterett in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2001, 08:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts