Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    6

    Angry Adcom GFA 555 Pre amp connection issue?

    Adcom Meridian setup photo 1 (2).JPGAdcom GFA 555 Niles setup photo 2 (2).JPGAdcom GFA 555 Closeup of missing left channel input crown photo 3 (2).JPGHello Polk Folks...

    I have had an Adcom system since new in the early 1990s [GFA 555, GFP 555 and GFT 555 along with a Niles 4 Speaker Selector,Meridian 508 CD and Monitor Audio speakers]. I have moved over 15 times since 2000 and have brought them along the way but never set the system up.

    I finally bought a house in Colorado and although its new and "wired for sound" I have a small office that I am FINANALY setting aforementioned system up. I have purchased new Monster Cable speaker cable, Monster bannana clips all around, a new Monster SS4 speaker selector as well as new Monster M1000I Stereo Cables for connection between GFA 555 and GFP 555.

    THE PROBLEM: Somewhere along the way the old Monster Stereo/Audio Connection cables came off with the "female RCA input cover" on the GFA 555...(see attached pics)

    So does anyone know; i)...How to replace?...ii) What else to do?...iii) Do I have to do anything?

    Desperate to crank this baby up ASAP. Adcom Meridian setup photo 1 (2).JPGAdcom GFA 555 Niles setup photo 2 (2).JPGAdcom GFA 555 Closeup of missing left channel input crown photo 3 (2).JPG

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Abbotsford BC
    Posts
    1,968

    Default

    I've seen it before, sometimes you can get away with not having one collar in place and sometimes not. Usually on RCA inputs the collars (-) of the signal lead is tied together between both inputs, try this, hook up your interconnects as usual, and give it a shot, if you get sound from left and right, you can get by until you get it repaired. Just a tip is all.
    Last edited by nbrowser; 04-20-2014 at 01:31 PM.
    Living Room Evolved
    Onkyo TX-NR717
    Parasound HCA-1200II
    Polk Audio RTi A7 Black Front
    Polk Audio RTi A3 Black Rear
    Polk Audio CSiA6 Center
    Transparent Audio Music Wave Biwire cables > Mains
    Canare 4S11 >Center
    Audioquest Evergreens on most of the analog connections
    Tannoy TS2.12 Sub
    Marantz CD6004
    Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Piano Black TT
    Parasound Zphono Phono Preamp
    Apple Mac Mini
    Apple TV 3rd Gen
    Sony PS3 160Gb/Microsoft XBox 360
    Insignia 55 inch 120Hz TV

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks...Will do. If that doesnt work Im pretty mechanical (at least with Ducati's and such). Cant I just order some "input collars" (-) and replace myself?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Louis Area
    Posts
    1,047

    Default

    I had this happen with my old Adcom GFA 545. If you still have the collar, you can slip it back in place. If not, you can replace the connectors. http://www.parts-express.com/chassis...pair--091-1120
    Display: Sony 42" LCD
    Sources: Harman Kardon DVD-27,
    Panasonic DMP-BDT110 blu ray player
    AVR: Sony STR-DA2400ES
    Amp: Kenwood KM-894 x 2(fronts and surrounds)
    Fronts: Polk SDA2
    Center: Polk Monitor 7C
    Surrounds: Polk Monitor 7C
    Subwoofer: SVS PB10-ISD

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thank you Squire...

    I will order them in any case...Well looks like nothing works for now. I now wonder if its my Adcom GFP - 555? The power seems to work as my GFT - 555 is plugged into the GFP - 555 and it is powered up when I turn on the system. But one thing I notice is that the GFP - 555 "red power indicator LED doesn't go on when powered up. [I also tried the "head phone" jack and got no sound??

    Frustrated.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    256

    Default

    I would not play around with that GFA-555 powered up before replacing the damaged RCA input jack. The hum from having the center pin connected to a full open input without the grounding provided by the RCA collar, could be loud enough to damage the speaker on that channel.
    Main system: Denon DP-59L | Audio-Technica AT33EV | Marantz Reference Series SA-11S2 | Classé CP-50, modified | Classé CA-300, modified | Classé DR-10, modified | Classé RC-1 | PSB Stratus Gold i's | DIY Balanced AC Power Conditioner with surge/spike suppression | Acoustic Zen and NeoTech cables | Oyaide and Furutech AC power connectors and receptacles | Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme fuses | Dedicated 20A IG AC line

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    central Jersey,08859
    Posts
    1,705

    Default

    Think we are talking about the same thing here. While I do not have an Adcom pre I did have a problem w/ my Onkyo P-301 pre when I used Monster Cable I/Cs. I evidently pulled one of them out the wrong way and almost dislodged the femal jack. I opened it up and there was no clearcut way of that I knew of how to resolder or replace it. I gave it to a friend who somehow redid the jack for meand it held ever since. I did call MC to complain that if there was a certain way to remove their cables it wasn't on the box. After about 6/7 months I got in themail an upgraded pair for free. Since then I learned it's called the grip'o death. BTW most of the pix did not help, some were sideways others showed the front and the rear shots I did not see the direct problem.
    2chl- Adcom 555- NAD 1020a pre- JVC-QL-A200 tt- Denon 1940 ci cdp- Samson - 9 outlet- Niles - 6 zone spkr selector- DCM TF 350s- ADC 303ax- KLH 331- Polk Audio '87 SDA 2Bs w/ ic cable (Dynamat extreme, black hole-5- Mills 0.5 resistor, liquid nails, RDO- 194 tweeters, Larry's rings, Armaflex gaskets, stained walnut tops )

    H/T- Toshiba au40" flat- Yamaha RX- V665 avr- YSD-11 Dock- I-Pod- Klipsch #500HD Speaker set- Sony ce 375 5 disc carosel cdp-

    Nikko 6065 receiver- JBL J2060

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Name:  Adcom GFA 555 Closeup of missing left channel input crown photo 3 (2).JPG
Views: 156
Size:  116.0 KBThanks fhe report and advice...Here is a closeup of the problem...Notice the 2 main inputs (verticle center)...The top [Right Channel] has a female gold RCA cover and the bottom [Left Channel] does not.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    central Illinois
    Posts
    3,585

    Default

    slide it back on open top and bend tabs 90* if it has tabs. Monster grip of death now you know all about it. Bending the tabs over after insertion will keep it from happening again. You could also replace if this don't help.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    6

    Default

    As you suggested...I have now received the pair of "chassis mount rca jacks" from Parts Express and will start replacing the old inputs on my Adcom GFA 555...My druthers would be to have some directions (video or written). Any thoughts or ideas here?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,273

    Default

    You'll just have to open it up to see what it is you'll need to remove to get at the board with the RCA jacks. However, you might want to put that on hold......

    But one thing I notice is that the GFP - 555 "red power indicator LED doesn't go on when powered up.
    Check the fuse(s). If they are good, your amp needs professional service, so you might as well have the tech replace the RCA jacks.

    The power seems to work as my GFT - 555 is plugged into the GFP - 555 and it is powered up when I turn on the system.
    Never plug an amp into a pre amp. Those outlets are not designed to handle the load from an amp.

    Free advice, take it or leave it. Get rid of that crappy Monster cable stuff. The speaker cables will turn green, you've already found out how bad the RCA connections are and worst of all, it doesn't sound good.

    Why are you using a speaker selector?
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    6

    Default

    F1nut: You'll just have to open it up to see what it is you'll need to remove to get at the board with the RCA jacks.
    ATM: Opened all up and RCA input jacks are actually all in one unit soldered to the board...I also checked all other connections in Amp and they are ok as well.

    F1nut: Check the fuse(s).
    ATM: They are all good.

    F1nut: Why are you using a speaker selector?
    ATM: I am only setting it up the way it was originally set up...Although your point is well taken. I guess with only 1 set of "Monitor Audio" speakers I don't need a speaker selector?

    F1nut: Never plug an amp into a pre amp. Those outlets are not designed to handle the load from an amp.
    ATM: The GFA 555 is plugged directly into a "Power Wedge 116"
    ATM: Im now wondering whether the GFP 555 is not working correctly (although the power works).

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,273

    Default

    Sorry, I'm not up on those model ID's. Obviously, I thought you had the amp powered off the pre amp. I realize now that it is your tuner.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mid Michigan
    Posts
    113

    Default

    the RCA terminal block will probably need professional service. Sadly we are on opposite sides of the country otherwise i would offer to service it. It will need to be desoldered and replaced, if you still have the ground sleeve that tore off with the connector, it can some times be reattached and soldered back to ground
    I use older adcom my self, a GTP-500 is sitting right next to me for a 2 channel system.
    I second the other poster and get rid of the Monster cable. I have lost count on the times i have seen that "stuff" damage equipment
    There is no cure....
    Luxman M117, SDA SRS 2.3, rear monitor 10, back rear bose 4.2, valodyne sub and 2 Onkyo m-504 amps Onkyo TX-NR709
    8mm, 7.62x39mm

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    28

    Default

    HeAd to monoprice, cheap and excellent quality for the win!

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    17,102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phatattack View Post
    HeAd to monoprice, cheap and excellent quality for the win!
    LOL.....cheap, yeah.....excellent quality ? UH...NO. Excellent sound ? Another no. May as well go to Walmart, same stuff.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Adcom GFA-555 Issue
    By Phish56466 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-16-2013, 09:00 PM
  2. Tweeter issue.... Cross over issue?
    By Poolgod69 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 08:05 PM
  3. : Coaxial Digital Connection Vs Digital Fiber Optical Connection?
    By PolkClyde in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 09:14 AM
  4. Mysterious connection issue
    By joeparaski in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-21-2008, 07:06 PM
  5. Novice needs help (subwoofer to receiver connection issue)
    By neeber73 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 10:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts