Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default can i set up 2 receivers?

    anyone know how i can set up 2 receivers (hk 3390 stereo amp and a sony 725 watt 5.2 STRDH540) to 4 polk 75t monitors, a polk cs10 center and 2 polk psw108's. i was wondering becuz the polks have the bi-wiring option thinking i can use the sony for the bass ports and the hk for the treble ports. is it possible to bridge the amps so the play the same audio at the same time from my tv xbox one or anything i set it up to play?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Evergreen, CO
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Just... no.
    |Fronts - Peerless RTA-12B | Center(s) - Peerless Monitor 5 | Rears - Peerless Monitor 4 |
    |AVR - Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 |
    |TV - Philips 46" Smart LED | Gaming - Xbox One - Xbox 360 | Headphones - Philips Fidelio X1 |

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    why not

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,271

    Default

    Because you can't.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Evergreen, CO
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Bi-amping your speakers like you're talking about requires an active crossover. Also, you cannot bridge a receiver.
    |Fronts - Peerless RTA-12B | Center(s) - Peerless Monitor 5 | Rears - Peerless Monitor 4 |
    |AVR - Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 |
    |TV - Philips 46" Smart LED | Gaming - Xbox One - Xbox 360 | Headphones - Philips Fidelio X1 |

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    ok say i used the sony for 2 speakers, center and a sub then the hk for 2 speakers and sub and then ran some from the pre amp out to the sony or the main in to the hk? isnt possible to make 2 amps play same sound? or what would you suggest i do or get?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    or just **** is use one amp?

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    or just use one amp?

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Evergreen, CO
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Sell them both and get a Pioneer SC unit if you're looking for enough to power all of those speakers.
    |Fronts - Peerless RTA-12B | Center(s) - Peerless Monitor 5 | Rears - Peerless Monitor 4 |
    |AVR - Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 |
    |TV - Philips 46" Smart LED | Gaming - Xbox One - Xbox 360 | Headphones - Philips Fidelio X1 |

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    The Mars Hotel
    Posts
    31,271

    Default

    isnt possible to make 2 amps play same sound?
    They are not amps, they are audio/video receivers. Big difference.

    Sell them both and get a Pioneer SC unit if you're looking for enough to power all of those speakers.
    Good suggestion.
    'Political Correctness'.........defined

    "A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end."

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    those are like 1500+ i paid 55o for both amps new

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Evergreen, CO
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    You're not going to properly power 16 drivers and 5 tweeters with $225 receivers.
    |Fronts - Peerless RTA-12B | Center(s) - Peerless Monitor 5 | Rears - Peerless Monitor 4 |
    |AVR - Yamaha Aventage RX-A1020 |
    |TV - Philips 46" Smart LED | Gaming - Xbox One - Xbox 360 | Headphones - Philips Fidelio X1 |

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    17,102

    Default

    .....and getting the gain/volume to match.

    Your speakers are fairly easy to drive to begin with. One decent receiver is all you'll need. In audio....and life, just because you CAN do something, doesn't mean you SHOULD .

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (49)

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wyred 4 Sound
    Posts
    11,228

    Default

    Wasn't there a guy that burned down his trailer/house with a bunch of mixed gear? I know this isn't the same but it reminded me of it..

    As stated above don't do it...
    No Way But The Hard Way, So Get Used To It!!!

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    thx for tips

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    847

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rhyno View Post
    those are like 1500+ i paid 55o for both amps new
    Look at the used market. My opinion is the type of people that own a Pio SC model are going to take care of them because they cost so much. But with electronics, their value drops quickly when the new models come out. Craigslist is where I purchased most of the things in my signature. There is a risk, but just ask to audition the equipment before buying. FYI, I paid $300 for my SC-05, but had to drive a long ways to get it. So don't just search your own city on CL, check out listings from within a 3 hour drive.
    Pioneer Elite SC-05 | Pioneer BDP-51FD | Pangea: AC-9SE, AC-14 PC's
    Monster PowerCenter HTS 5000 | Sony Bravia KDL-46S4100 | Dish HDTV
    Polk: RTi8 Towers, CSi5 Center, F/Xi3 Surrounds, CSi3 Single Rear | Polk Subs: PSW125-12", PSW303-8"
    Douglas Connection: Furez DCF124BW SC's | AudioQuest Chocolate HDMI | Monster: M850 SW-12, ULT I1000FO-4 IC's
    Acoustic Treatments OC703 | Dynamat: Components, Baskets

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Nazareth, PA USA
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Now, I have a question that relates to this in a way. I recently upgraded from a Pio VSX-1018AH to a SC-1532. I was looking for a separate amp to power my mains (also 75Ts) and let the 1523 take care of the center, surrounds, and back surrounds. My SWs are already self powered. The problem I'm having is that I cannot find a decent affordable stereo power amp that has at least 100WPC AND remote functionality (either a remote comes with it or it could also have auto-on with signal present). But then I thought, why not access the main amp in the old Pio VSX-1018 via the pre-outs of the new 1523. Now the 1018 also has "across the board" pre-outs BUT it also has Multi-channel In jacks. These are normally used for DVD and BR disc players that only have multi-channel analog RCA outs. But if this is a line level in to power amp, I don't see why I couldn't use these inputs (Fronts only) to power my mains and the 1523 could take care of the rest. Does this sound feasible? I mean why dish out several hundred more if I can access the main amp of my Pio 1018? And I can control that with my Harmony.
    Pioneer SC-1523-K and VSX-1018AH-K; Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, Pioneer S-HF11C Center, Cerwin Vega VE-5M surrounds and backs; Polk PSW-505 with Mediabridge SW cable; Onkyo SKW-204 with Mediabridge SW cable; Oppo BDP-103; Akai GX-255 Open Reel, DBX 228 Dynamic Range Expander & Type II Tape NR

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Abbotsford BC
    Posts
    1,966

    Default

    Talon, a proper dedicated amp usually doesn't come with a remote. It's one of those devices you hookup, set and only deal with the power button, the pre-amp or in your case AVR will control volume to it.
    Living Room Evolved
    Onkyo TX-NR717
    Parasound HCA-1200II
    Polk Audio RTi A7 Black Front
    Polk Audio RTi A3 Black Rear
    Polk Audio CSiA6 Center
    Transparent Audio Music Wave Biwire cables > Mains
    Canare 4S11 >Center
    Audioquest Evergreens on most of the analog connections
    Tannoy TS2.12 Sub
    Marantz CD6004
    Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Piano Black TT
    Parasound Zphono Phono Preamp
    Apple Mac Mini
    Apple TV 3rd Gen
    Sony PS3 160Gb/Microsoft XBox 360
    Insignia 55 inch 120Hz TV

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Nazareth, PA USA
    Posts
    123

    Default

    thanks for that
    Last edited by Talon_Sr; 06-23-2014 at 01:52 PM.
    Pioneer SC-1523-K and VSX-1018AH-K; Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, Pioneer S-HF11C Center, Cerwin Vega VE-5M surrounds and backs; Polk PSW-505 with Mediabridge SW cable; Onkyo SKW-204 with Mediabridge SW cable; Oppo BDP-103; Akai GX-255 Open Reel, DBX 228 Dynamic Range Expander & Type II Tape NR

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    26

    Default

    your h/k will run 4 spkrs on its own and your dual sub outs can be used for the sonys low end,just add f-mods (passive filters)inline to an input on the sony and turn it up to match the output of the hk,it will lessen the load on the low end the hk is trying to produce and the sony will work much like a sub amp,just picking the right freq f-mods and putting them inline,it will work,as other members say its not the best way,ive done it myself, still have 2 sets of f-mods here 70 hertz and 500 hertz,matching the volumes to match on the recievers, its fairly simple.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    26

    Default

    sounds like it will work just fine,little tweaking,all your spkrs are closely matched sounds fine,and adjustments to your mains may affect your surrounds as well,thats the issue im facing,good luck.if both are pioneer the remote will probably work on both at the same time?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-07-2013, 11:57 PM
  2. Need Help two receivers
    By seabeerob213 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-29-2012, 06:15 PM
  3. Receivers?
    By Jondthompson21 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 10:11 PM
  4. Need help between two receivers
    By r.camacho1 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-03-2006, 02:24 AM
  5. DAC's in HK Receivers
    By timothyj in forum Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-15-2005, 08:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts