Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,670

    Default 5.1 outputs for SACD and DVD-A

    Okay, I know you gotta use the 5.1 outputs, but why?? I understand the basics that it's better sound, not sure why though...
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    The decoding of the SACD / DVDA recording takes place in the player, not your rec/pre. Therefore, analog outs for each channel.

    Cheers,
    Russ
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,670

    Default

    Originally posted by RuSsMaN
    The decoding of the SACD / DVDA recording takes place in the player, not your rec/pre. Therefore, analog outs for each channel.

    Cheers,
    Russ
    so, if I were to use the digital outs, the decoding would take place in the receiver normally...just like with CD players..OK
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  4. #4
    Polk-a-dweeb
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    If you use a digital connection then you wil not be hearing the Hi-Rez audio tracks.

    Pioneer and a few others have included a single wire hook-up in their players/receivers.
    9/11 - WE WILL NEVER FORGET!! (<---<<click)
    2005-06 Club Polk Football Pool Champion!! :D

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    You don't have to use the 5.1 outputs for SACD, but you certainly can. It may depend on the manufacturer, as I can only speak for Sony gear.

    I have used both, and really didn't notice a difference....but I also wasn't trying to hear it either.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (25)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    4,447

    Default

    My understanding is SACD and DVD-A decoding is done in the players and you HAVE to use the analog outputs. The digital out on the player will only give you the stanadard PCM.

    Why? it has to do with copy protection, the format developers and music companies do not want consumers making copies of these new formats AND they also do not want to degrade the music with copy protection.

    So the solution is to do all the magical decoding in the player and only give the consumers an analog output not the hi rez digital signal.

    If you are using the digital out, then you are bybassing the decoders and not getting the hi rez that you have paid for.

    As Frank said, Pioneer has receiver(s) and player(s) that use a firewire connection. Mark does Sony offer this now?
    Last edited by hoosier21; 03-13-2004 at 03:36 PM.
    Dodd - Battery Preamp
    Monarchy Audio SE100 Delux - mono power amps
    Sony DVP-NS999ES - SACD player
    ADS 1230 - Polk SDA 2B
    DIY Stereo Subwoofer towers w/(4) 12 drivers each
    Crown K1 - Subwoofer amp
    Outlaw ICBM - crossover
    Beringher BFD - sub eq

    Where is the remote? Where is the $%#$% remote!

    "I've always been mad, I know I've been mad, like the most of us have...very hard to explain why you're mad, even if you're not mad..."

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Funny Farm"no doubt there"
    Posts
    5,329

    Default

    hoosier nailed it.

    HBomb
    ***WAREMTAE***

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Sony only offers the basic connections, to include the TOTL ES series. They do not support Firewire, although they have their own i-Link connection for the high end gear.

    I imagine that if they don't create it, they won't support it :D

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts