Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    confuzedcarguy
    Guest

    Default No sound from speakers...help please!

    I have recently installed a fosgate amp and 2 pioneer subs. I wired everything up correctly and everything turns on. The head unit comes on, plays CDs, amp comes on, and the subs put out music/bass....Only problem is, my speakers have no sound!...no hissing, no static, nothing!...i didn't touch any speaker wires while installing, and i checked for any loose connections and found nothing!...someone please help me!

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    Gonna need a little more info bro. Do you have everything running off a single amp? If so then is it a 2 channel or 4 and how did you wire them up? Mono or stereo? Do you have the speakers running off the head unit? What kind of equipment are you running? Older RF amps or the new stuff?

    This will help us in troubleshooting fer ya.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,176

    Default

    the way it sounds, he has his speakers running off the head unit and the amp is only powering his subs
    if you checked the speakers wires at the back of the head unit and at the speaker and nothing is loose, then i would have to assume something is messed up with the radio
    do you have any extra speakers laying around?
    even like one for a stereo in your room? or if you replaced the stock speakers and you still have them...i would the headunit out, cut one of the speaker wires and hook it up to the speaker, if the speaker doesnt work, then id say your headunit is done...if it does work, id rewire all your speakers...but for the wiring to be messed up on all four speakers(assuming you have four speakers) is pretty unlikely unless you pulled your head unit out too hard?
    umm...has anyone ever heard of a fuse blowing inside the headunit?
    i havent, but i guess that could be a possibility
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  4. #4
    Confuzedcarguy
    Guest

    Default

    sorry if i screw this part up but...
    Here is the link to my amp...

    http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/produ...h%20Amplifiers

    its powering 2 pioneer subs, 300watts ea.

    the speaker wires run directly from head unit to the speakers themselves. and its a pioneer head unit deh-1400

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    Nice amp.

    Well if thats the case then Cody is right. The problem is either in your head unit or wiring to the speakers.

    It could be something simple like a negative wire has been skinned a little and is touching something metal. I once forgot to hook up the neg wire on 1 out of 4 speakers and it worked itself onto one of the screws and nothing came thru any of the speakers except for a thump every 10 seconds or so. Took me hours to figure that one out!

    I dont know about Pioneer but my Alpine head unit has a feature where you can deactivate the HU's amp if youre not using it. You may check to see if the Pioneer has this feature and then check to see if it has been deactivated by accident or something.

    Ive never heard of a HU fuse blowing either but it does seem the HU is the most likely culprit.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,459

    Default

    or, it could be like my hu: when i use the preouts for the front channel from the hu, it doesn't play thru the speaker-level outputs. that is, when i amped my fronts, it automagically cut out my rears. mebbe this could be it?
    It's not good, very fundamentally simply not good. - geolemon

    "Its not good enough until we have real-time fearmongering. I want my fear mongered as it happens." - Shizelbs

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,176

    Default

    you amped your front speakers and your back speakers quit working?
    thats gay
    what kind of head unit do you have?
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    762

    Default

    Originally posted by Confuzedcarguy
    ...pioneer head unit deh-1400
    Have you tried unplugging the rca to the amp to see if the speakers start working again?
    http://www.silverdragon.com/punkie/c...net.idiot.html - Read it, know it

    Alpine 9815
    Polk MM6's in custom fiberglass door pods
    Ascendant Audio Atlas 12
    HiFonics Zeus ZX6400 - 85x2 + 350x1
    2 Gallons SecondSkin Spectrum V.2

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,176

    Default

    actually i was asking neo...im not sure if my head unit does that or not, i dont think i ever used the amp on the deck, my old JVC would run rear speakers with my front speakers amped though
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,459

    Default

    i did shut off the hu's amp when i amped the fronts... that could perhaps have done it :p
    It's not good, very fundamentally simply not good. - geolemon

    "Its not good enough until we have real-time fearmongering. I want my fear mongered as it happens." - Shizelbs

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,176

    Default

    lol...that might do it...
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  12. #12
    Confuzedcarguy
    Guest

    Default

    yeah, i did unpluggin the rca cables from the amp...nothin...so i decided to take an old speaker...wirely it directly to the harness, and guess what...sound. So im guessing its the wires..im just gonna rewire all 4 and be done with it, thanks for the help

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts