Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Question what would happen if?

    you hooked up you CD player straight into your amp.. of course the CDP would have to have variable outputs.. but would that sound better than going thru a pre amp, or would it not?
    PolkFest 2012, who's going>?
    Vancouver, Canada Sept 30th, 2012 - Madonna concert

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    I dont see why not...

    Id just be afraid to know or find out at what volume the CD player would start off at..

    Mine can be turned down, not up... so not even going to try it...and you cant turn it down until a CD starts playing
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Funny Farm"no doubt there"
    Posts
    5,329

    Default

    depending on what the line out voltages are you could join the ranks of the passive pre gang. If your source provides 2V line out your gold and all you need is variable resistors in the line.

    It takes 1 less piece of electronics out of the mix.

    HBomb
    ***WAREMTAE***

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    seccond star to the right and strait on to morning
    Posts
    2,795

    Default

    i have experance with this i used a old kenwood to drive my samson amp when playing some music at shutdown at work it drove it to max but when i hooked my comp up to it i needed extra gain to drive the speakers past 90db
    Gonzo's World
    BenQ 8700+
    115in screen
    PS3,X-Box 360 and Wii
    Sunfire Theater Grand III
    ADCOM GFA-7607
    four avalanch 18 subs 26.12l of displacement
    Crown xti 4000

  5. #5
    Old School
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Higher & Dryer, Texas
    Posts
    10,177

    Default

    I did that with my old Denon DCD-1500, which has two outputs, a fixed and a variable. Output was not great enough to approach concert levels, but in a small room or a near field rig, it would be more than enough.

    No reason you can't try it with your fixed output. You will certainly notice differences in the play back level of your CD collection...
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

    "It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro
    "There is a certain entertainment value in ripping the occaisonal (sic) buttmunch..." - TroyD
    "Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

    Rebuilding Maggie 2-ch & Amazing 2-ch... Building 2-ch "wall"... Figuring out the HT

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    'burb of Detroit
    Posts
    3,042

    Default

    What these guys have said.

    Theoretically it is an obvious choice when things mesh correctly. The preamp is just there to smooth out the differences when the mesh doesn't happen.
    Make it Funky! :)

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,502

    Default Re: what would happen if?

    Originally posted by danger boy
    you hooked up you CD player straight into your amp.. of course the CDP would have to have variable outputs.. but would that sound better than going thru a pre amp, or would it not?
    ...or if your amp has variable outputs. It works very well. I had my CD Player (which has no output controls) connected directly for about 9 days, waiting for my MF A3CR to come in. The sound was wonderful, pure, and perfect. It was a serious PITA though, because my amps' varible outputs are on the back (Parasound HCA).

    Talk about a tough act for the A3CR to follow...

    Transport: Oppo BDP-103/USB HDD (flac)
    DAC/Preamp: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Cables: Kimber Hero/8TC; DH Labs D-75

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts