Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 28 of 28
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default Looking for a fuse block for 3 wires/fuses

    Didn't think it'll be that difficult to find it, need some help here.

    I have 2 4g wires coming from the battery to my amps and one 0g for big3
    So 3 wires alltogether - two 4g and one 0g

    Instead of having an inline fuse for each i'd like to get a fuse block that would have 3 ins and 3 outs with 3 fuses inbetween (one per wire)

    Ano has any suggestions???

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN Native languishing in Maryland
    Posts
    2,171

    Default

    I really like the circuit breaker type...no fuses to replace--

    Something along the lines of this...I ended up soldering end caps on the cables:







    Or perhaps you're looking for something like this:

    TNRabbit
    NO Polk Audio Equipment
    Sunfire TG-IV
    Ashly 1001 Active Crossover
    Rane PEQ-15 Parametric Equalizers x 2
    Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature Seven
    Carver AL-III Speakers
    Klipsch RT-12d Subwoofer

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    372

    Default

    Not to take over your thread, but now that this has been brought up I have a question. TNRabbit, aside from not need to replace fuses, what would be the advantage of using the circut breaker style as opposed to a fuse style?


    Thanks.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    First place to look for anything wiring:
    http://www.knukonceptz.com/productDe...?prodID=KNF-23
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KaosTsoc View Post
    Not to take over your thread, but now that this has been brought up I have a question. TNRabbit, aside from not need to replace fuses, what would be the advantage of using the circut breaker style as opposed to a fuse style?


    Thanks.
    That's about it. It also helps if you need to disconnect power, for which their can be many reasons. Instead of pulling a fuse and hoping you remember where you put it when you need it again, you can just hit a button.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    First place to look for anything wiring:
    http://www.knukonceptz.com/productDe...?prodID=KNF-23
    -Cody
    Funny u worded it that way cuz it is the VERY first place i always look at when it comes to wiring lol.

    The closest thing they have that would suit my needs is this, but it's not really it either. That's also exacltly the look and shape i'd like to have but it's more of a fused distro block, not fuse block. Im still thinking of getting it if i don't find EXACTLY what i'm after.

    https://www.knukonceptz.com/productD...?prodID=KNF-23

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TNRabbit View Post
    Or perhaps you're looking for something like this:

    Yes, that's what i'm looking for BUT everything i find is a fused distro block with something like 0g coming in and 3 4g coming out. Pic you posted looks to be just that - fused distro block, no fuse block.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN Native languishing in Maryland
    Posts
    2,171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KaosTsoc View Post
    Not to take over your thread, but now that this has been brought up I have a question. TNRabbit, aside from not need to replace fuses, what would be the advantage of using the circut breaker style as opposed to a fuse style?


    Thanks.
    Don't have to buy new fuses... if it pops, you simply reset it.
    TNRabbit
    NO Polk Audio Equipment
    Sunfire TG-IV
    Ashly 1001 Active Crossover
    Rane PEQ-15 Parametric Equalizers x 2
    Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature Seven
    Carver AL-III Speakers
    Klipsch RT-12d Subwoofer

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vital View Post
    Funny u worded it that way cuz it is the VERY first place i always look at when it comes to wiring lol.

    The closest thing they have that would suit my needs is this, but it's not really it either. That's also exacltly the look and shape i'd like to have but it's more of a fused distro block, not fuse block. Im still thinking of getting it if i don't find EXACTLY what i'm after.

    https://www.knukonceptz.com/productD...?prodID=KNF-23
    That's what I linked you to...lol.

    I guess I'm not really understanding why that won't work for you. All 3 lines are coming from the battery, and out to individual sources correct? Then this is perfect.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    That's what I linked you to...lol.

    I guess I'm not really understanding why that won't work for you. All 3 lines are coming from the battery, and out to individual sources correct? Then this is perfect.
    -Cody
    Not really. It's fused distro block. Here's from Knu's info:

    Notes The KNF-23 offers two input ports. However only one is required to be used in order to power all three fused outputs of the KNF-23 fuse block. This secondardy input port allows the installer to daisy chain additional fuse blocks together or connect a rear mounted battery to the rest of the system without adding extra connection points.
    If instead of two 4g wires i run one 0 g from the battery to this block and then split it in two 4g i'm fine.
    BUT there's still my BIG3's 0g wire. Per Knu's note quoted above second input is basically good for nothing lol, i'll still have to use an inline fuse outside of this block. OR i can use my 0g wire as a third fused output but then really i'll be interfiering with amp's power wire coming from the battery.
    It's basically a distro with one 0gauge in and 3 whatever gauge out.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vital View Post
    If instead of two 4g wires i run one 0 g from the battery to this block and then split it in two 4g i'm fine.
    BUT there's still my BIG3's 0g wire. Per Knu's note quoted above second input is basically good for nothing lol, i'll still have to use an inline fuse outside of this block. OR i can use my 0g wire as a third fused output but then really i'll be interfiering with amp's power wire coming from the battery.
    It's basically a distro with one 0gauge in and 3 whatever gauge out.
    For your original plan, you wanted to have (2) 4awg and (1) 0awg wires all coming off the battery, correct?
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Correct.
    3 wires in, 3 wires out and 3 fuses inbetween. 1 fuse for each wire.
    Basically the same thing as having 3 regular inline fuses but in one housing.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    That's what I linked you to...lol.

    -Cody
    Ooops, just realized this LOL. I didn't click on the link you posted as as soon as i saw "www.knu...." i assumed u just posted a link to knu's homepage for me to look thru lol.
    But yeah, that WAS the first thing i looked over before even starting this thread

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vital View Post
    Correct.
    3 wires in, 3 wires out and 3 fuses inbetween. 1 fuse for each wire.
    Basically the same thing as having 3 regular inline fuses but in one housing.
    Then if they're all coming off the same source, it doesn't matter if the block has 3 separate inputs, or 1 input. Either way, they're all connected somehow, either at the battery, or at the fuse block.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    True, but in order for all 3 wires coming out of the block going towards the amps to get the amount of juice needed/wires can provide there has to be double zero gauge wire coming from the battery into this block.
    Same as 0g can evenly split up into two 4gs but cant provide enought juice for three or more 4g wires. That is offcourse true ONLY if all 4g wires actually need to carry all the power to the source.

    Btw - don't get me wrong, im not trying to argue here lol, i would actually prefer someone convince me that this block is exactly what I need since I like the look of it, I just don't (yet?) See it as "perfect item" for my needs.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    I still don't see the problem. You were going to run (2) 4awg wires and (1) 1/0 wire to a fuse block, and the same out.

    Now you can run (2) 1/0 in, and whatever you want out. It's going to have the same capacity as your initial plan, but it's also going to clean it up a little since you'll have one less wire. Win-win.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,299

    Default

    Find a Machinist and have him make it to your specs.
    Polk Audio SDA SRS 1.2TL's
    With new Exotic wood, Sonicaps, Mills & RDO198's - Born on 4-24-1989 and Signed by Matthew Polk!!!!


    My Polk SDA SRS 1.2TL's http://www.LASAREATH.com/


    It All Started here: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath2

    Part Deux: http://tinyurl.com/lasareath3

    Car Stereo---->http://www.salsleaf.com/leaf_stereo/index.htm<---- NEW for 2013

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512 View Post
    I still don't see the problem. You were going to run (2) 4awg wires and (1) 1/0 wire to a fuse block, and the same out.

    Now you can run (2) 1/0 in, and whatever you want out. It's going to have the same capacity as your initial plan, but it's also going to clean it up a little since you'll have one less wire. Win-win.
    -Cody
    U're missing a very important thing here - one of the inputs does not lead to any fuses.
    First input powers up all 3 wires coming out (along with all 3 fuses)
    Second input is for "daisy chainin" which is basically another output, just not fused.

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lasareath View Post
    Find a Machinist and have him make it to your specs.
    Yeah, the more i try to find a piece i'm after the more i realize that it doesn't exist lol so i'll have to either get creative myself (should be difficult as long as i can find parts needed, including a nice cover) or pay machinist to do this for me.

    BTW while we're at it - some time ago some of you might remember i asked how i can hook up 3 fat wires to my battery post since new Nissans have ****LOADS of stocks fuses there and there's not a single aftermarket terminal post that would work with new Altimas (as well as most new Nissans)
    So i'm getting this terminal block done. Should come out very nice and clean while still holding all my wires securly.





    And here's what stock clapm looks like:


    P.S. what i SHOULD HAVE DONE in the very beginning is get a battery with additional posts dedicated to aftermarket wiring, would make my life a lot easier lol but too late now.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vital View Post
    U're missing a very important thing here - one of the inputs does not lead to any fuses.
    First input powers up all 3 wires coming out (along with all 3 fuses)
    Second input is for "daisy chainin" which is basically another output, just not fused.
    You're right. I'm definitely not understanding. Draw a picture?
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    ^^ ?

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    I'm not understanding what you're saying...can you draw a picture of what you're wanting to accomplish?
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Here's what i want (basic 3 separate fuses)



    Here's how i believe Knu's block works:



    IF Knu's block allowed for double zero gauge as an input then i'd be fine but single zero gauge wire will not split up properly to feed one 0g and two 4g's.
    what i COULD do with this block is use that second "unfused" in (which in reality is out) for my big3 wire and fuse it outside the block but that's not really what i want. I want to have only 1 fuse block, not block AND an inline fuse next to it.

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    It IS a double 1/0 input. The input is one big hunk of metal...all the same piece.

    Meaning (2) 1/0 ins, (2) 4 and (1) 1/0 out.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    The more i look at it the more i realize that what you've been saying makes sense and are you 100% correct.

    Now i feel like a complete dumbass LOL.

    THANK YOU for getting me closer to sanity!!! haha

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Happens to everyone
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    698

    Default

    Here's another "sanity check" lol,

    Technically alt is powering the battery, not the other way around. SO with this block (or any other one that's not exactly how i wanted it in the beggining - SEPARATED outs/fuses/lines) jiuce will go directly from the alt to my amps without any fuses inbetween, no???

    Not sure i like that.

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    No. It would pass from the alternator, through the alternator fuse on the distribution block, back out the distribution block through ANOTHER fuse (for the amps).

    To put it simply...the one that you wanted initially and the one I link to perform the exact same function in every way.

    -Cody

    Edit:

    BTW, knu's HAS separated outs, its the input that's one solid piece.
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Need help with fuses
    By miklbikl in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 10:08 AM
  2. Fuses and expensive speaker wires?
    By lanchile in forum DIY, Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 10:29 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 03:44 PM
  4. no power to sub so replaced the fuse and the fuse kept on blowing?????
    By newbie2k8 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 09:41 AM
  5. fuses
    By dholmes in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-17-2003, 04:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts