Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Wire Length

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    16

    Default Wire Length

    I often read that speaker wires should be cut to the same length to improve sound quality. My question is...should all speakers have the same length wire regardless of distance or only PAIRS of speakers. Example..both fronts L/R have 8 ft of wire each and both surrounds have 5 ft each.....or should all speakers use same length, 8ft?

    Regards

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,860

    Default

    don't worry about it, the only way there would be a difference would be if the runs were like 50 ft to a 1 ft run, and even then you probably wouldnt notice.....5 feet and 8 feet arent even worth thinking about
    SDA 2B
    Carver m0.5t
    AMC pre
    Cobalt Cables

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,594

    Default

    Keep the wires as short as possible to reduce effects from inductance, capacitance, resistance and interference. End of story.
    Graham

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,397

    Default

    ok....yes as mentioned keep them as short as you need them....but how are your rears shorter than your mains ?
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Memphis Area
    Posts
    2,283

    Default

    Example..both fronts L/R have 8 ft of wire each and both surrounds have 5 ft each...
    Hey willow, did you ever get the Harmony remote?
    Tschüss
    Zach

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,397

    Default

    should be pickin' that puppy up this weekend......I had bad CS from kameleon.....
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Memphis Area
    Posts
    2,283

    Default

    Sounds good. Let me know how you like.

    (Sorry for the short thread hijack, I think I'm done)
    Tschüss
    Zach

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,397

    Default

    I will thanks....
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Willow,

    My receiver is located behind my seating (the couch) and the surrounds located at the sides with mains beside the TV. Guess a new TV unit/stand is next on the list.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,397

    Default

    It's what I thought.....all your cables to your TV run that long ?....
    HT- HK 335, Rotel 1075, Miova PC, AQ Indigo Speaker Cable, XLO Jumpers, AQ Diamondback ICs, AQ HDMI x2, AQ Component, Signal Cable Analog II ICs, Signal Cable Digcoax, Signal Cable Toslink, Rti8, Csi5, Rti6, Energy s10.2, Panny 42" Plasma, PS3, Harmony 1100 and Harmony PS3 Adapter, LG dvdp(for the kids), Monster 3600MKII all on a dedicated circuit.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts