Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    92

    Default surround speaker

    Hey guys, please help me on this. I am I just hooked up my system and noticed that the right surround speaker doesn't sound right. it is somewhat distorted. I ckd the speaker connections to make sure the wires are connected to the right poles. But still the speaker sounds the same. the left surround speaker is OK. At first I thought the rm201 has a factory defect cuz i just bought it like a couple of weeks ago. I tried connecting an old radioshack surround speaker, but it too was distorted. Could it be that i bought a defective receiver. Any help/advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    My system:

    Yamaha RXV1400
    Yamaha DVD S-550
    Polk Audio Speaker RM20

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    407

    Default

    Does it sound bad in DD/DTS 5.1 discrete as well, or is this problem only in Prologic? Maybe try something more radical and hook your mains up to the rear outputs on your AVR. If it's still funky, then it's likely your AVR.

    Is this your first AVR? I had a problem once with my amp where one of the channels got messed up after the repair guy came and didn't properly ground the satellite dish - almost had a heart attack until I retraced what he did and fixed it. Anyway, if you haven't had a reciever before, make sure everything in your system has proper grounding.
    Dodd Audio ELP [ Tubes ] // Harman Kardon AVR330 // Parasound HCA-1203A // Denon DVD-2900
    Polk Audio LSi9, LSiC, LSi 7 // HSU STF-2 // Signal Cable Interconnects (SG BW/A2/MP)

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Yes, this is my very first receiver and i forgot to mention in my prior thread that this receiver is 7.1. At first when the surround speakers were not hooked up yet and only the front, center and back surround were hooked up, the system was nice. then i decided to add the surround speakers and then the problem. I program the receiver to auto as recommended by Yamaha. Now I am really at a lost cuz I bought this receiver when I was in Hongkong. If this is a grounding problem, do I need to ground the receiver and how do I do it? Could it be with the wire, although i am using monster cable as recommended by Frys. I am really new to this so please help me. thanks.

  4. #4
    Polk-a-dweeb
    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Now I am really at a lost cuz I bought this receiver when I was in Hongkong.
    Have you checked to see if the receiver is set up for U.S. power? 115v 60hz.
    9/11 - WE WILL NEVER FORGET!! (<---<<click)
    2005-06 Club Polk Football Pool Champion!! :D

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    92

    Default

    yes i did

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8,170

    Default

    Have you ruled out the speaker wire as the culprit?
    HT/2-channel Rig: Sony 50 LCD TV; Toshiba HD-A2 DVD player; Emotiva LMC-1 pre/pro; Rogue Audio M-120 monoblocks (modded); Placette RVC; Emotiva LPA-1 amp; Bada HD-22 tube CDP (modded); VMPS Tower II SE (fronts); DIY Clearwave Dynamic 4CC (center); Wharfedale Opus Tri-Surrounds (rear); and VMPS 215 sub

    "God grooves with tubes."

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    92

    Default

    not really. do you think i should try switching the cable wires to determine this?

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,584

    Default

    When you say you programmed the reciever to "auto" do you mean you used the yamaha thing where you hook up the mic and it adjusts speaker levels? If so, override that and set all the gains to zero and see if the distortion is still there. There's nothing to keep it from cranking the gain all the way up and sometimes it'll unnecessarily do that and you'll get a distorted channel.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    92

    Default

    I did programmed it that way and even during the testing process, i already noticed the distortion. I will try setting the sound level manually and see the effect. Thanks!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts