Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: dual subs?

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massillon
    Posts
    188

    Default dual subs?

    is there a way i can do this? a cable needed please help!

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massillon
    Posts
    188

    Default

    i have one hooked up from my subwoofer output and my free polk sub has analong right and left inputs?

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    7,522

    Default Re: dual subs?

    Originally posted by hexumjunkie
    is there a way i can do this? a cable needed please help!
    Use a Y splitter from the sub out on the receiver.

    Regards,
    PolkThug

  4. #4
    Old School
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Higher & Dryer, Texas
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Most often dual subs should be co-located, or stacked, for bass management.

    Use something like this at the sub end of your interconnect run from your AVR.
    More later,
    Tour...
    Vox Copuli
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. - Old English Proverb

    "It's easy to get lost in price vs performance vs ego vs illusion." - doro
    "There is a certain entertainment value in ripping the occaisonal (sic) buttmunch..." - TroyD
    "Death doesn't come with a Uhaul." - Dennis Gardner

    Rebuilding Maggie 2-ch & Amazing 2-ch... Building 2-ch "wall"... Figuring out the HT

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Deep Down the Rabbit Hole
    Posts
    9,610

    Default

    Hex,

    As PT and Tour have said you can split the signal at the receiver or the sub, I have done both and works just fine, just depends on what type of wire/connectors you have.

    I originally had my subs front and back in the HT, at the advice I received here years ago I stacked them and have been very pleased with the result, generally corner loading works pretty well.

    RT1
    REEL TIME THEATRE
    Onkyo-TX-NR5007
    B&K 7270 amplifier
    Polk SWA-500 Subwoofer amplifier
    OppO BDP-83
    Pioneer Elite 50"
    Polk LCi-RTS-105;LCi-RTS-C;LCi-RTSFx;LCi80Fx
    Subs-Twin Polk CSW200
    HTS5000


    RABBIT HOLE RIG
    BAT VK-31SE
    VTL MB-450 Signature monoblock
    Wolcott Presence monoblock
    Musical Fidelity kW SACD
    Rega P25/RB600/Clearaudio Aurum Beta
    Acoustech Phono-Pre
    Sound Lab Millenium ELS
    BillyBags Rack
    MIT S1/3 cables
    Shunyata/PS Audio/Virtual Dynamics Power Cords


    Everthing Matters...Tubes Rule...and It's Over until it's Not Over

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    856

    Default

    What Polk has to say themselves...
    http://www.polkaudio.com/home/faqad/...ticle=subsetup
    Use Two Subwoofers-
    Using two asymmetrically placed subs will minimize the effects of standing waves in your room, yielding smoother bass response (as well as better dynamic range). But don't run out and buy another sub just yet. Get the sub you have now to sound its best before spending more money. You may be perfectly happy with just one sub once you've tried our suggestions.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I am wondering about this same thing. problem is, I am already using a splitter to run my PSW250. I have the single end of the splitter running into the SUB OUT on my reciever and the dual end of the splitter running into the L and R of the sub. With that said, how would one hook up a second sub with a second splitter? And wouldnt running a second splitter split the signal in half on the reciever. Do I have my sub hooked up correctly using the linelevel inputs with the splitter?

    PS I just went back and reread my manaul fo rmy sub and it suggest that I use option 1. option 1 says to connect my 2 mains to the back of the sub . option 2 doesnt apply to my model, option 3 requires an amp and option 4 doesnt apply to my model. whats the deal, I hooked this thing up last year and have had nop problems with it. Do I have it wrong here? and how would I hok up a secong sub?
    Last edited by BOTTLEDZ28; 02-28-2005 at 04:49 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts