Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HDMI breakout?

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,539

    Default HDMI breakout?

    Ok, so I have a HDMI input on my TV and a DVI output on my cable box... so I can get a converter cable, no problems there, but I need to put audio into the TV via the HDMI connect, too.

    Has anyone seen a HDMI/ DVI+Audio cable? Everything I can find just drops the audio.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,223

    Default Re: HDMI breakout?

    Originally posted by unc2701
    Ok, so I have a HDMI input on my TV and a DVI output on my cable box... so I can get a converter cable, no problems there, but I need to put audio into the TV via the HDMI connect, too.

    Has anyone seen a HDMI/ DVI+Audio cable? Everything I can find just drops the audio.
    I don't think that kind of cable exists.
    If your box has DVI, it should also have some digital audio out, either Toslink or Digital Coax. You can put that straight to your HT receiver. If you insist on having the sound through your TV, use the RCA inputs that are associated with the HDMI input.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,539

    Default

    Yeah, there aren't any RCA's associated w/ it and there's a woman involved- so I have to have the TV functional independent of the HT. If it were for the xbox (or anything else that she never uses) I'd be fine, but it seems like I'm SOL.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,223

    Default

    Originally posted by unc2701
    Yeah, there aren't any RCA's associated w/ it and there's a woman involved- so I have to have the TV functional independent of the HT. If it were for the xbox (or anything else that she never uses) I'd be fine, but it seems like I'm SOL.
    I know what you mean, but I found a way around that.

    You need to get a fully programable learning remote.
    Program the sucker to turn on and adjust everything with macros and she won't know the difference. That was the only way to get my wife to stop complaining.
    I have a Sony RM-AV3000 programmed to do the following

    I have it set so 1 button will:
    Power on TV,
    Power on Receiver,
    Switch TV input to HDMI,
    Turn on DirecTV box,
    Set receiver input to the DirecTV box.

    Viola, 1 button and everything is ready to go.
    She can hit the guide button or just change channels. The TV speakers are turned off and the remote will only adjust the volume on the receiver.

    It took a little while to get it all working, but I also have macros to:
    Switch input to DVD,
    Switch input to VCR,
    Switch input to internal TV tuner,
    Turn off everything.

    She still gets frustrated occasionally, but that is because they still have a hard time remembering to keep the remote pointed in the right direction with an unobstructed view of the components during the whole macro sequence. My wife often moves it to an obstucted location and then complains because the sequence is messed up.

    Look here for reviews of the most common learning remotes:
    http://www.remotecentral.com/remotes.htm

    It will definetly make your life easier.

    Edit: By the way, what TV model do you have?

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,539

    Default

    It's a new Samsung 30" Thin CRT- open box at best buy + 15% off coupon= $725 before taxes ($999 usual price). Can't remember the exact model number, but it's the one that's only 15" deep (very good for a CRT).

    I hear you on the programmable remotes. Unfortunately, I just moved into her place so the compromise was my two channel system: LSi 9's, Dodd ELP, Adcom 555... no remotes there.

    Meanwhile, the guys I'm renting my house to get to enjoy the 50" LCD, bryston amps, full LSi surround and the 75% of my vinyl collection that I'm not allowed to bring over.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    5,223

    Default

    Originally posted by unc2701
    It's a new Samsung 30" Thin CRT- open box at best buy + 15% off coupon= $725 before taxes ($999 usual price). Can't remember the exact model number, but it's the one that's only 15" deep (very good for a CRT).

    I hear you on the programmable remotes. Unfortunately, I just moved into her place so the compromise was my two channel system: LSi 9's, Dodd ELP, Adcom 555... no remotes there.

    Meanwhile, the guys I'm renting my house to get to enjoy the 50" LCD, bryston amps, full LSi surround and the 75% of my vinyl collection that I'm not allowed to bring over.
    I certainly hope this is temporary AND they guys you are renting to can be trusted with your gear and vinyl.

    I would double check the owners manual on that TV. I bet that it will automatically link one of the RCA audio inputs to the HDMI input.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,539

    Post

    Yeah, it's temporary until I sell my place & all my **** goes in boxes, never to be seen again That is, until we buy a place together and I get my own room.

    Anyhow, I trust those guys (I've been renting to & living with them since I bought the place), but I need to take some pictures of my rig before I have to take it all down.

    That a good idea about the RCA's being linked. It doesn't say anything like that in the manual (I looked), but the manual sucks.
    Gallo Ref 3.1 : Bryston 4b SST : Musical fidelity CD Pre : VPI HW-19
    Gallo Ref AV, Frankengallo Ref 3, LC60i : Bryston 9b SST : Meridian 565
    Jordan JX92s : MF X-T100 : Xray v8
    Backburner:Krell KAV-300i

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    7,522

    Default

    Thanks to the Harmony remote, I don't have to deal with these wife issues. The automatic macro generator is well worth the price.

  9. #9
    Polk Engineer
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    1,441

    Default

    Ah, the joys of an interconnect technology becoming a standard on equipment before it becomes a widespread standard on receivers. :)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts