Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 40
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,396

    Default Getting with the times

    We took the plunge and ordered DSL for home. I should be getting the gear this Friday. Yipee !!

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,506

    Default

    if you have available to you cox or comcast cable high speed, it's faster than dsl. that is, unless you pay for the upgraded dsl line. either way, you'll re-discover the internet and really enjoy your time spent there!!!

    POLK SDA-SRS 1.2TL -- ADCOM GFA-5802
    PANASONIC PT-AE4000U -- DIY WILSONART DW 135" 2.35:1 SCREEN
    ONKYO TX-SR805
    CENTER: CSI5
    MAINS: RTI8'S
    SURROUNDS: RTI8'S
    7.1 SURROUNDS: RTI6'S
    SUB: SVS PB12-PLUS/2 (12.3 series)

    XBOX 360
    WiiPS3/blu-rayTOSHIBA HD-A35 hd dvd

    http://polkarmy.com/forums/index.php

    Quote Originally Posted by bobman1235
    I have no facts to back that up, but I never let facts get in the way of my arguments.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Anything is better than standard dial-up....enjoy.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7,626

    Default

    ....
    Last edited by ND13; 11-24-2005 at 12:11 PM.
    "SOME PEOPLE CALL ME MAURICE,
    CAUSE I SPEAK OF THE POMPITIOUS OF LOVE"

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ND13
    Man, it's a world of difference. I just switched from dial-up to cable a couple of months ago and the difference was like the difference between a Formula 1 car and a Yugo.
    Noel was at 2,500 posts and since his upgrade has increased his post count to 3,500....put that in your pipe and smoke it!

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Posts
    12,071

    Default

    I'll stick with my $9.99 a month dial up. :)
    madmax
    Vinyl, the final frontier...

    Avantgarde horns, 300b tubes, thats the kinda crap I want... :D

  7. #7
    Old Polk
    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,036

    Default

    Verizon is pulling the fiber optic cable for their FIOS network on my street today. Goodbye DSL as soon as it's running! (and I have a fast DSL connection)
    • Innersound Eros MK III hybrid ESL - Innersound Bass/Active Crossover amp - Sanders Sound ESL amp
    • SVS PB12-Ultra/2 sub
    • PS Audio GCP-200 preamp w/external PS
    • Bluenote Bellavista table w/Sig.5 arm and Dynavector 20-x - The Clamp - PS Audio GCPH
    • Wadia 301 CD transport - Schiit Gungnir DAC
    • MIT Shotgun S1 IC's and speaker cables
    • PS Audio P3 Power Plant
    • Panasonic 58" plasma - Denon 3805 - PS Audio GCA-250 - Revel Ultima Gems and LE1/Sub15

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madmax
    I'll stick with my $9.99 a month dial up. :)
    madmax
    You're crazy man. You can get DSL for as cheap as 15 bucks a month(assuming it's available in your area). I'd rather be punched repeatedly in the face than sit waiting for pages to l oad on dialup.
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    DSL speed is CO dependent...the closer the better. Fiber rulez.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,396

    Default

    What we are getting is the 3meg. The next major competitor couldn't even come close without asking us to sign a 2 yr contract.
    So now it shouldn't take me 2 mins to upload a pic to add here or in my showcase !!

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,396

    Default

    Also upped my ram to 400 and bought a DVD burner. I didn't even have a cd burner.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    8,009

    Default

    I've had cable modem for nearly 10 years and won't ever go back.......
    .
    comment comment comment comment. bitchy.
    .
    http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/7995/meterdq8.gif

  13. #13
    Old Polk
    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,036

    Default

    Once you're hooked-up, try this. It's about the most accurate I've run across.
    • Innersound Eros MK III hybrid ESL - Innersound Bass/Active Crossover amp - Sanders Sound ESL amp
    • SVS PB12-Ultra/2 sub
    • PS Audio GCP-200 preamp w/external PS
    • Bluenote Bellavista table w/Sig.5 arm and Dynavector 20-x - The Clamp - PS Audio GCPH
    • Wadia 301 CD transport - Schiit Gungnir DAC
    • MIT Shotgun S1 IC's and speaker cables
    • PS Audio P3 Power Plant
    • Panasonic 58" plasma - Denon 3805 - PS Audio GCA-250 - Revel Ultima Gems and LE1/Sub15

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,396

    Default

    The one at work says 500.....

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,506

    Default

    same here. i like dslreports.com the best.

    POLK SDA-SRS 1.2TL -- ADCOM GFA-5802
    PANASONIC PT-AE4000U -- DIY WILSONART DW 135" 2.35:1 SCREEN
    ONKYO TX-SR805
    CENTER: CSI5
    MAINS: RTI8'S
    SURROUNDS: RTI8'S
    7.1 SURROUNDS: RTI6'S
    SUB: SVS PB12-PLUS/2 (12.3 series)

    XBOX 360
    WiiPS3/blu-rayTOSHIBA HD-A35 hd dvd

    http://polkarmy.com/forums/index.php

    Quote Originally Posted by bobman1235
    I have no facts to back that up, but I never let facts get in the way of my arguments.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIZILL
    same here. i like dslreports.com the best.
    I agree. That site is excellent for all things computer related. They have a huge userbase with some great moderators.

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Guadalupe, SJ
    Posts
    578

    Default

    I have Dial Up at home and a dedicated T1 connection at work... it's a world of difference... :D

    Guess from where I post...? :D :D
    Last edited by CrBoy; 11-21-2005 at 03:57 PM.
    <|>

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (17)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Posts
    12,071

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrBoy
    I have Dial Up at home and a dedicated T1 connection at work... it's a world of difference... :D

    Guess from where I post...? :D :D
    Same here with T1 at work and dial up at home, but... Seems about the same to me. Either work is slow (which no ones says it is) or my dialup is screaming. I don't know, just seems slightly slower at home.


    madmax
    Vinyl, the final frontier...

    Avantgarde horns, 300b tubes, thats the kinda crap I want... :D

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    619

    Default

    Hey man i had DSL it was decent but its kinda expensive. I have RoadRunner now and it will leave any DSL connection in the dust. try to get a cable provider in your area. Cable is faster than DSL anyday.

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5,850

    Default

    For testing line speeds I use www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest . They seem to be more accurate for the East coast, as DSLreports is only west coast stuff.

    T-1 speeds are not really that great when it gets shared over multiple users. I mean, you only have an approximate 1.54MBit down speed. At home, my cable is provisioned at 5MBit down.. so I get a lot faster at home than at work. BUT, I don't have the upload capabilities of the T-1... between that and reliability, they're the only reasons to use a T1.

    I've switched a large number of dialup users over (and will continue to do so) to DSL, as Verizon has their $14.95/mo plan. While it's only 768/128, it's still a helluva lot faster than dialup, and for most people around here, it's actually CHEAPER. If you have a dedicated phone line for your computer, it's just a no-brainer.... cancel that line and your costs go down by half!

    BTW- at my old house, I was paying $50/mo for DSL service, and only getting 1.5mbit down, 256kbit up. It was my only option for broadband though, so I paid it. Then we moved into cable country, and are now paying $40/mo for 5mbit down :D
    Ludicrous gibs!

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    10,414

    Default

    Well, I have Road Runner and tried these speed testers....I think the one from bandwith must be wrong....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bandwith.JPG‎
Views:	156
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	12485   Click image for larger version

Name:	speedometer.JPG‎
Views:	141
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	12486  
    _________________________________________________
    ***\\\\\........................... My Audio Journey ............................./////***

    2008 & 2010 Football Pool WINNER
    SOPA

    Thank God for different opinions. Imagine the world if we all wanted the same woman

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,396

    Default

    I can't wait. Installed Norton 2005 last night and all my other software for my logitech, dig camera and MP3. I hope to have it up and running by this weekend and be using my burner.

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Guadalupe, SJ
    Posts
    578

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madmax
    Same here with T1 at work and dial up at home, but... Seems about the same to me. Either work is slow (which no ones says it is) or my dialup is screaming. I don't know, just seems slightly slower at home. madmax
    I don't know man... because my average download speed at Home is 5kb/s (dial up) and at work is around 300-500kb/s (T1) you can tell the difference...

    I guess your T1 sucks really bad... :(
    Last edited by CrBoy; 11-22-2005 at 01:28 PM.
    <|>

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,506

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madmax
    Same here with T1 at work and dial up at home, but... Seems about the same to me. Either work is slow (which no ones says it is) or my dialup is screaming. I don't know, just seems slightly slower at home.


    madmax
    download any huge files or stream video ever? that'll dictate how much bandwidth speed you use!

    POLK SDA-SRS 1.2TL -- ADCOM GFA-5802
    PANASONIC PT-AE4000U -- DIY WILSONART DW 135" 2.35:1 SCREEN
    ONKYO TX-SR805
    CENTER: CSI5
    MAINS: RTI8'S
    SURROUNDS: RTI8'S
    7.1 SURROUNDS: RTI6'S
    SUB: SVS PB12-PLUS/2 (12.3 series)

    XBOX 360
    WiiPS3/blu-rayTOSHIBA HD-A35 hd dvd

    http://polkarmy.com/forums/index.php

    Quote Originally Posted by bobman1235
    I have no facts to back that up, but I never let facts get in the way of my arguments.

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HTrookie
    Well, I have Road Runner and tried these speed testers....I think the one from bandwith must be wrong....
    Is RoadRunner cable? Some cable companies are up to 6Mb/s... so 5 is possible.
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    10,414

    Default

    Yes, Road Runner is Time Warner cable's internet provider....

    I am confused... T1 is supposed to be faster than cable in one of the pics, but slower in the other
    Last edited by Ricardo; 11-22-2005 at 02:09 PM.
    _________________________________________________
    ***\\\\\........................... My Audio Journey ............................./////***

    2008 & 2010 Football Pool WINNER
    SOPA

    Thank God for different opinions. Imagine the world if we all wanted the same woman

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    I don't know where that Speedometer site got its cable information. If your cable is only running 500Kbps, cancel it.

    The other just seems to be taking an average of cable users in Ohio (2Mbps... reasonable).
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    5,850

    Default

    That speedometer site doesn't appear to know what its talking about ... Cable routinely surpasses t1 speeds at the lowest package levels...
    Ludicrous gibs!

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5,506

    Default

    Agreed.

    POLK SDA-SRS 1.2TL -- ADCOM GFA-5802
    PANASONIC PT-AE4000U -- DIY WILSONART DW 135" 2.35:1 SCREEN
    ONKYO TX-SR805
    CENTER: CSI5
    MAINS: RTI8'S
    SURROUNDS: RTI8'S
    7.1 SURROUNDS: RTI6'S
    SUB: SVS PB12-PLUS/2 (12.3 series)

    XBOX 360
    WiiPS3/blu-rayTOSHIBA HD-A35 hd dvd

    http://polkarmy.com/forums/index.php

    Quote Originally Posted by bobman1235
    I have no facts to back that up, but I never let facts get in the way of my arguments.

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    The first link said I had a 2 MBPS connection speed... (McCaff)

    The second link (bandwidth place)

    Said I had one of 1 MBPS
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts