Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 45 of 45
  1. #31

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,825

    Default

    The thing I used the 9 volt test for was to check polarity.

    When I first installed my front and rear speakers in my Ram and wasnt 100% sure Id done em in phase and so rather than pull everything out I stuck the + speaker wire to the + of the 9V and was able to tell without having to pull the door panels off and speakers out and all that crap.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  2. #32

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,174

    Default

    i use the 19.2V battery of my craftsmen drill to check polarity...haha
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  3. #33

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hanover Pa.
    Posts
    26

    Default Wall power for subs?

    Am I missing something here, you used wall current to break in subwoofers? How long do you do this? Why do you do this? Please explain this, this I gotta see..

  4. #34

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,459

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Getty17331
    Am I missing something here, you used wall current to break in subwoofers? How long do you do this? Why do you do this? Please explain this, this I gotta see..
    sure, if you have one ginormous sub, or a few less-powerful ones, it's the same as a 60 Hz tone from a powerful amp (albeit rather dirtier)
    It's not good, very fundamentally simply not good. - geolemon

    "Its not good enough until we have real-time fearmongering. I want my fear mongered as it happens." - Shizelbs

  5. #35

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Getty17331
    Am I missing something here, you used wall current to break in subwoofers? How long do you do this? Why do you do this? Please explain this, this I gotta see..
    wall current is about 60 hertz.. 59.. 61.. whatever.. its around 60 depending on the time of the day.

    so...

    two 1000 watt rms subwoofers, with dual 4 ohm coils.

    string coil 1 and 2 in series on each sub... then series the subs... that's 16 ohms.

    put 16 ohms on your 110 volt AC line and you have...

    6.875 amps

    so... 6.875 * 110 vac rms = 756 watts rms across two subs...

    which is 378 watts rms across each subwoofer.

    that's pretty good break in wattage (1/3 of the rated rms wattage of the sub). leave em on there a good long time and they're nice and broken in for use.
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

  6. #36

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hanover Pa.
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Holy **** , I thought you guys were joking. It makes sense now that you explain it. Huh... I can smell the smoke now ...:D

  7. #37

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,459

    Default

    nope, no joke... just don't plug a single sub in, unless it's like a SoloX, or you WILL smell smoke :D
    It's not good, very fundamentally simply not good. - geolemon

    "Its not good enough until we have real-time fearmongering. I want my fear mongered as it happens." - Shizelbs

  8. #38

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    don't let the magic smoke out of the wires... or you'll need new catalytic transducers for your subwoofers.

    ((that IS a joke))
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

  9. #39

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Ya I tried w/ my blown Pioneer. It doesn't work if you only have the positives. I had both positive and negatives conncted to eachother on the sub and 9 Volt. Well, the sub went in. So I switched them around, (Positive to Negative on 9 V, Negative to Positive on 9 V) and the sub went out. Lol someone explain?

  10. #40

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    that means the voice coil is not 'blown' -- it is functioning... and the motor structure is at least 'functional', although it may not be 'functioning in the manner it was built to function in'.

    a sub can be 'blown' even though it still electrically functions. formers can be burned up and trashed, spiders can tear, surrounds can tear, cones can be distorted (physically) or flat out cracked, voice coils can be partially fried (yielding a higher or lower impedance than nominal... etc etc...
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

  11. #41

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    135

    Default

    dude im a newb to subs and stuff its not hard to tell if a sub is blown or it wouldnt be a bad thing. duhh just listin to it bro and if its blown u will deff tell

  12. #42

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PoweredByDodge View Post
    that means the voice coil is not 'blown' -- it is functioning... and the motor structure is at least 'functional', although it may not be 'functioning in the manner it was built to function in'.

    a sub can be 'blown' even though it still electrically functions. formers can be burned up and trashed, spiders can tear, surrounds can tear, cones can be distorted (physically) or flat out cracked, voice coils can be partially fried (yielding a higher or lower impedance than nominal... etc etc...
    In English, can my sub be saved?

  13. #43

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,825

    Default

    No. Your sub is toast. Buy a new one.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  14. #44

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Dang it.

  15. #45

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Blown Sub or Amp

    I bought my amp about 5 months ago, but just installed it about a month ago. Its a Pioneer 800W and its hooked to a Pioneer 400W which i've had for YEARS. it always sounded great, but my old amp was fried when I tried to disconnect it from my old car (long story). anyways, i have a jeep, and the top was down so naturally, you turn the music up enough to be able to just HEAR what the music is. With that, i got home from a long day and kept smelling this smoke smell. I got home, the amp was hot, smoke was coming out of the box and the box SMELLED. I have tested the amp, and there is adequate power going to it. I know its not the wires, as they are brand new, and i know they are of good quality. the sub, the wired running from the amp to the sub show no power through them. The sub doesn't turn on at all when the jeep is on. There is no sound, no movement. I'm scratching my head trying to think what it could be. I want to think its the sub and not the amp, since the amp is practically new. The fuses aren't busted. That was the first to be checked. Any ideas?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts