Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default HK on screen display, cant see

    Anyone who owns an HK receiver, mine is an avr435, any help would be appreciated. I cannot get the OSD to show on my set. I have analog video connected from my receivers out to the tv. I am clueless. But I am trying to do the EZset and I don't think I can without the OSD. Also should I do the EZset if I don't have rear speakers? Thanks in advance for any advice. I have really gotten some great advice on this forum.
    Jeremy

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sooner Country
    Posts
    3,804

    Default

    The internet makes reading the manual the last resort doesn't it? I recall that OSD only works on certain video outs, but can't recall which one it works on. I have mine set to S-video and use it that way. I know it won't work on the component outputs.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    College Park, MD
    Posts
    843

    Default

    It only outputs on svideo and composite... so if you are only using component you'll have to adjust it.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Eastern Pa.
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    There should be a monitor out on the back of the H/K. Connect that to a video in on the back of the TV and switch the TV to that input...if you are using component connections.
    suds, suds and more suds!

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default

    All the manual states that make sure the Tv is connected via the tv out on the receiver. It does state that you cannot use the component video outputs, so I connected the dvd to the tv with the components. The problem is that the tv only has 1 s video input, so i have the cable box connected that way, so the receiver is connected to the tv via the composite video cable, and i am now clueless!!!Maybe I should connect the tv to the receiver on video 2 instead of the tv out, any thoughts?

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4,500

    Default

    H/K monitor OUT (yellow cable or S-Video) into Video In on the TV (video1, video2, etc.) You don't need OSD on to use EZ-set.

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    812

    Default

    I have a H/K 230 receiver. Only the composite works for OSD. I have both composite and S-Video connected to my TV, and everytime I need to see the OSD, I have to disconnect the S-video in from my TV in order for the OSD to display.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Just run everything through the 435. Run components from the DVD player into the receiver and then out to the tv. Run the cable box into the back of video 3 via a S-video cable and then run a seperate S-video cable from the monitor out to the tv.

    HK has a nice connection diagram that they include with the receiver or you can access it from their site.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (18)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,359

    Default

    As per Kejolly, I run everything through my 335. I can only get OSD with composite and Svid. Not sure why not with component, but hey....not a big deal.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I liked their diagram, but I was just following advice to put your video connections straight to the tv, not through the receiver. I don't know if their really is a difference in video.

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I haven't noticed any changes in video and my cable sucks so bad that I couldn't tell if I tried.

    I am happy with everything hooked up through the receiver.

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    17

    Default OSD on HK

    The OSD does work through the component on the 435/635.

    1) Do a receiver master reset

    If that doesn't work.

    1) Check Firmware
    2) Update Firmware
    3) Do a receiver master reset


    You might try actually trying the composite and s-video cables to video first. Then there is an option under the Input section to pass OSD through input you are configuring.

    GOOD LUCK!
    Last edited by outerlymitz; 01-27-2006 at 02:27 PM.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Thanks I will try.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts