Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 44 of 44
  1. #31

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    4,502

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markmarc
    D-link makes an Access Point that gives off a wireless signal without being a router itself. I use it at my school to avoid conflicts with other routers. I bought mine at Office Depot.
    You can disable the router portion and only use the wireless if you wish on wireless routers.

  2. #32

    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Live Free or Die
    Posts
    10,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sami
    I don't think any cell phone protocol goes close to 2.4GHz. All GSM's are below 2GHz (850/900/1800/1900) and 3G's go to 2200MHz at highest. CDMA, I think, is 1900MHz.
    Cordless phones tend to be 900MHz, 1.8GHz or 2.4GHz, I believe. NOt CELL, but actual landline cordless phones.
    If you will it, dude, it is no dream.

  3. #33

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    4,502

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bobman1235
    Cordless phones tend to be 900MHz, 1.8GHz or 2.4GHz, I believe. NOt CELL, but actual landline cordless phones.
    Yep, 2.4GHz cordless phones share the frequencies with B & G networks, 5.8GHz phones share them with A networks. Cell phones do not share.

  4. #34

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sahuarita, Arizona
    Posts
    2,410

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sami
    Yep, 2.4GHz cordless phones share the frequencies with B & G networks, 5.8GHz phones share them with A networks. Cell phones do not share.
    I understand that part, but my son's cell phone plays havoc with his wireless connection. He will either loose connection, or speeds will drop to near 0, but he will move the cell phone into another room, or just shut it off, and connection returns to full strength. So there is some type of interference. But it has to be near his computer....wanted to make that clear.
    Sean
    XboxLive--->avelanchefan
    PSN---->Floppa
    http://card.mygamercard.net/avelanchefan.png

  5. #35

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    4,502

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by avelanchefan
    I understand that part, but my son's cell phone plays havoc with his wireless connection. He will either loose connection, or speeds will drop to near 0, but he will move the cell phone into another room, or just shut it off, and connection returns to full strength. So there is some type of interference. But it has to be near his computer....wanted to make that clear.
    There is something wrong with his cell phone. Have it services.

  6. #36

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    no cell phone, **** just cuts out, i reset the router today for the third time, hopefully everything will be working right
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  7. #37

    Member Sales Rating: (20)

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    7th Circle of Hell - aka DFW
    Posts
    10,428

    Default

    Cisco beotches!!!
    Main HT
    Magnepan 1.6QR fronts, POlk R15 surrounds, Pioneer SC-25, Parasound Halo A23, Oppo BDP-105, Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Sony PS3, Apple TV

    Bedroom System
    Polk Blackstone TL3, Polk PSWi225 Wireless Sub, HK 3490 Integrated, Oppo BDP-103, Sharp Aquos 32" TV, Apple TV

    Office Rig
    27" iMac w/Amarra, AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2, Focal XS Book, Schiit Valhalla, Cypher Labs Theorem 720, Philips Fidelio X1, Sennheiser HD600, HiFiMan HE-500, B&W P7, LG 47LM7600, Sony PS3, Apple TV

  8. #38

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,904

    Default

    Cisco is great but it's a little out of the d-link / linksys price range. It's like comparing yamaha to rotel.

    Not quite sure what's wrong Cody... I'll ask the guys at work tomorrow and maybe they'll have a quick fix.

  9. #39

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    thanks, if all else fails, im buying a linksys
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  10. #40

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    4,502

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted512
    thanks, if all else fails, im buying a linksys
    Just wondering, have you secured the connection? Change the SSID and hide it, create a new passcode. It's a long shot but worth a try.

  11. #41

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,904

    Default

    Sorry Cody, I totally forgot about this and didn't ask them yesterday :(

  12. #42

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sami
    Just wondering, have you secured the connection? Change the SSID and hide it, create a new passcode. It's a long shot but worth a try.
    did that...

    i think im probably just going to ebay a linksys
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  13. #43

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,124

    Default

    whats the difference b/t these 2?

    1.
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1051384663529
    2.
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1074787298555
    Another option:
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1051826245067
    theres also this one, i dont have vonage, dont plan on getting it, but it has $90 in rebates...
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1110267188736

    Out of those, which would you get? We do have a high speed cable connection. Both of us use it for gaming, but the wireless part will just be used for regular internet usage, mostly for school.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  14. #44

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    407

    Default

    guys just get a Linksys WRT54G and be worry free. there is no need for these 2 pages of discussion. the linksys is one of the best routers on the market today and with open source firmware its even better.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts