Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Banned
    Member Sales Rating: (14)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    2,395

    Default Persistent ground loop

    I've had a minor ground loop hum for as long as I can remember. I can't hear it unless the volume is turned completely off and it doesn't get louder with the volume. It occurs when the amp is on even if all the other components are turned off. I've completely changed components from SS to tube so I'm confident it's not equipment related. I've read alot of the threads so I've done most of the suggestions except trying the 2 prong adapter which I prefer not to use unless the hum is going to harm my speakers.

    I unplugged everything in the house except the stereo, didn't help.

    I turned off all the breakers except the stereo, didn't help.

    I used an extension cord to try different outlets even in the garage, didn't help.

    I don't have cable so that shouldn't be a issue.

    I put a new 8' ground rod in the ground, didn't help.

    I've tried Monster and Panamax conditioners, didn't help.

    My friend that is an electrician says it's probably a loose ground wire in one of the outlets, switches, lights, ceiling fans, etc.

    Can anyone think of anything else I could try?

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    N. VA.
    Posts
    540

    Default

    try running a grounding wire between the chassis of your components...any wire will do, and attach it to the chassis....not sure about a "ground loop" but that cured my buzzing....
    System 1: Onix Rockets 750 Sig. Ed., Rotel RC 1070, Rotel RB 1080, Music Hall MMF CD25 w/627opamps

    System 2: LSi15, Marantz SR8400, Rotel 1080, RM6800 (C&S), Yamaha: 2300 Univ. DVD, CDC-625RS.

    System 3: LSi7, Yamaha SW215, HK 230, Elite DV-45A; Sony C445.

    System 4: RTi100, Onkyo TXSV717Pro, Monarchy/Sonic Impact Hybrid, Yamaha CD.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Patterson Cali.
    Posts
    3,251

    Default

    One thing I read is to make sure if you have more than one ground rod that all ground rods are connected.
    I rid my ground loop by running a ground wire to the chasis of each component in my system and all components through the Panamax.
    Have your electrician friend check the ground in your outlet. It seems to me if the outlet makes it to ground and you have all your components grounded then you might have another issue.
    Skynut
    SOPAŽ Founder
    The system Almost there
    DVD Onkyo DV-SP802
    Sunfire Theater Grand II
    Sherbourn 7/2100
    Panamax 5510 power conditioner (for electronics)
    2 PSAudio UPC-200 power conditioners (for amps)
    Front L/R RT3000p (Bi-Wired)
    Center CS1000p (Bi-Wired) (under the television)
    Center RT2000p's (Bi-Wired) (on each side of the television)
    Sur FX1000
    SVS ultra plus 2

    www.ShadetreesMachineShop.com
    Thanks for looking

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,490

    Default

    1. Try a cheater plug...reverse your power cords at the outlet.
    2. Buy a Mondial Magic ground isolator to plug your RG-6 cable feed into.
    3. Are your cables organized behind the rack?

    Check your outlet for loose connection (open the breaker first)
    Check your breaker boxes ground "bus" for tight connections, you'd be amazed how often there are loose ones.
    Last edited by steveinaz; 02-17-2006 at 05:04 PM.

    Transport: Oppo BDP-103/USB HDD (flac)
    DAC/Preamp: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Cables: Kimber Hero/8TC; DH Labs D-75

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    10,414

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by candyliquor35m
    .....I can't hear it unless the volume is turned completely off and it doesn't get louder with the volume......
    Ignore it (or let it stress your life and spend hundreds trying to make it go away...which it probably won't :))
    _________________________________________________
    ***\\\\\........................... My Audio Journey ............................./////***

    2008 & 2010 Football Pool WINNER
    SOPA

    Thank God for different opinions. Imagine the world if we all wanted the same woman

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (16)

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Six 'Burgh (Pittsburgh), PA
    Posts
    6,885

    Default

    Could it be a problem inside the amp?
    Carl

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Safely in my Faraday cage
    Posts
    1,840

    Default

    All the above. Also, you may have a neutral ground issue. You can pick up an "outlet" tester at Home Depot for around 5 bucks. Plug it into the outlet and see if you have a nuetral/ground wire swap/short. The tester is a quick way to find out if your outlets are all wired correctly with the "cold", "hot", and ground where they are supposed to be and that none are swapped. If you have noise on ground and it's swapped with the neutral (which will still power your amp), you will have a hum. Cheater plugs won't fix this.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts