Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default Amp question... and subwoofer box question

    http://www.crutchfield.com/S-EKMpZ7y...20&I=489AP1040

    Is this amp any good?

    And if it is ---

    Could I use two channels to power my sub (one per coil) and the other two to power my front speakers... (The sub has two 4 ohm coils)...
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    Profile is a good amp. They are a budget amp but are built well and will make their rated power. However dont expect any more than its ratings and the feature list will be small.

    And yes, you can run a VC off each channel.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Mac,
    Can you run down to what I would need to do to install a full setup - 2 speakers, a CD player receiver and amp...

    Im more concerned with breaking things when I take them off than doing it wrong... What is likely to happen?

    Thanks
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    Oof, thats a little broad of a question. Im not familiar with your truck so I cant tell you how to remove the dash panel or door panels and such. Cody, being a professional installer, will probably know a lot more about this.

    The basics are run your power wire from the battery, fuse it and run it thru the firewall down the left side of the truck to wherever your amps are going to be mounted. Find a good spot for a ground wire and be sure to sand off all the paint so that youre down to bare metal. You run down to Circuit City or your local shop and buy an adapter plate for your CD player and then itll be pretty much a drop in installation. You will hook the black wire to a ground, the red to the ignition and the yellow to a constant power source. Then youll take the blue or blue/white wire and run it to your amp for a remote turn on. Then you run your RCA's from the head unit down the right side of the truck to your amp and then speaker wires from the amp back up the right side of the truck to your speakers.

    Dont mount the amp upside down and make sure youve got plenty of clearance for cooling.

    Again, thats just a basic run down so just ask specific questions and we'll be able to get em nailed down for ya.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Hmm, I may just get Tweeter (how good are they, do you know?) to install it for me... more "insurance" that way.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    Dont do it. Just ask Brett. They ripped him off. Even if they were straight up it would cost you several hundred dollars.

    Trust me dude, you can do this and I guarantee you that once you do you will be so glad you did. Installation is half the fun of car audio.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Hmmm

    You ever come down to the Charlotte, NC area??? ;) *cough* *cough*
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    LOL! I dunno. How far are you from Ashville? Thats 3 hours from me.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Hmm....

    According to Mapquest, Chattanooga to Chalotte Area >insert my home town here< was a 6 hour drive. Hmmmm

    There was like 8 Ashvilles - didnt know what to choose.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,176

    Default

    building a box is much harder than installing a radio/amp/subs.

    Anyone with a third grade education can install a radio...yellow goes to yellow, red to red...etc.

    Amp install:
    connect fuse holder within a few inches of where the power wire would connect to the battery, make sure theres not a fuse in the fuse holder, connect the power wire to the battery. Run it back to where youre going to install the amp.

    Ground:
    Put the ground close to where youre going to install the amp. Scrape off some paint from the floor, put a couple screws through it.

    Remote/RCAs:
    connect the remote wire to the blue/white wire on the back of the radio, plug in the rcas to where it say subwoofer out...or "SW", or if it only has one or two outputs, itll say "Rear" plug it into that one. Run those wires back to the amp.

    Plug everything into the amp, put the fuse in, connect the speaker wire...voila.

    Its going to run you over $100 in labor for something that could EASILY be done yourself.

    For amps, try www.onlinecarstereo.com >> HiFonics...good stuff...GREAT prices
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    I forgot about HiFonics. I would recommend you also look at them, Sid. A HiFonics shouldn't run you any more than a Profile, and it will be a bit better, to boot.
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Thanks, will most definitely give HiFonics a look, Id rather have them than profile as well...

    I got my sub today, this is a nice lil 8" sub too
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    Sweet. Post a pic of it. I wanna see how it looks!
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default


    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,828

    Default

    LOL!! Leave it to ID. A little 8 with a magnet and motor assembly making up 75% of it! Thats a good thing tho, nothing wrong with overbuilding your stuff.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    Wow...that is very deep...

    Looks nice!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    do not run a voice coil off each channel... each voice coil should be tied to the other in either series of parallel... its nothing against you, but you have to really know what you're doing and have reliable test equipment to run coils off separate channels / amplifiers... i do not feel competent trying it myself.

    amps...

    DEI 1100D5
    http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/2666
    75 x 4 at 4 ohms + 400 x 1 @ 2 ohms (4 + 4 = 2)

    Viper 1100.5
    same amp as above, but with cooler looking casing...
    http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/2657

    DEI 6005
    http://www.ikesound.com/product-product_id/2281
    35 x 4 + 300 x 1

    all amps are $125 or less

    enjoy.
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    So what - wire them to 2 ohms, bridge two channels together? *hmmm*
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,962

    Default

    putting the coils in parallel is a 2 ohm load... if you bridge the rear channels of a 4 channel amp (or any stereo amp), then you'll have 2 ohms on a 4 ohm stable bridge... which means smokey smokey goes the amp.

    the 5 channel amps that i posted above all have "x" watts by 4 at 4 ohms for your highs... and then 300 - 400 x 1 at 2 ohms MONO (1 channel) for your sub. so you don't have to bridge the mono channel, tis already bridged for ya.
    "With your own attitude it is hard to survive here... But who gives a damn, we are here to change the world, and we dont need a password for that."
    - Anurag

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    ah....gotcha! Thanks!
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts