Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Willow Grove, pa
    Posts
    315

    Default No Line out on sub

    For those who are familiar, my sub whoas continue...had to take a break.. (Update - added an amp connected to preouts and now the sub doesnt even make a sound when i attempt auto setup using lfe. It was gradually getting worse, only holding signal for 5 minutes before fading out)


    Reviewed the polk klipsch method for hooking up subs. Searching for a temporary fix until i can get the sub-out on the receiver working.

    Methods says hook from amp to lin-in on the sub, then from line-out on sub to main speakers. Unfortunatly, my sub only has two pair (l &R) of line-in terminals and the lfe terminals. I dont have line out on the sub

    Is running from the speakers to the sub an option using the second set of terminals on the speakers? Thats a lot of gdam cable all over the place and I cant imagine the signal going to the sub still being strong.
    TV...............Hitachi 42hdS52a plasma (sexy one with the swival)
    Pre/Processor - Emotiva MMC
    Seven Ch AMP - Emotiva LPA
    Fronts - Tyler Acoustics 7U's
    Center - Polk LSIC
    Sub - DSWPRO600
    DAC - Music Hall 25.3CD - Marantz cc4001
    Blue Ray - PS3
    Speaker cables - Audioquest cv4 dbs
    Interconnects - MIT AVT1's
    Power Filter....Monster HTS 3500 MKII

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    i haven't followed your thread. but why not connect your sub to the pre out on your Yamaha RX? makes things much easier that way.

    can you post a picture of the back of you sub. showing the connections? that would be a huge help
    Last edited by danger boy; 06-11-2006 at 05:10 AM.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Willow Grove, pa
    Posts
    315

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jabrax
    For those familiar with my loss of sub-signal problem. Is it possible that the sub Y cables could be defective.

    Recap and where I stand today - The only way to get my subwoofer to play is to use the receiver auto setup feature (yamaha - ypao). It identifies the sub, sets main speakers to large and xover at 40hhz. I change the xover to 60 and sub to both to play in 2 channal also.....When I shut down the system for an extended period of time, the sub doesnt play when the system is restarted (have to do the auto setup again).

    Both yamaha (after I proved prob not sub) and klipsch (thought possible problem with powered sub amp) were at a lost and both recommended taking in their product for service. Just not being able to let it go, i am out to isolate where the prob is before I take it anywhere.

    First elimination - Went out and got another sub (to return of course) :D .. Hooked it up and the same problem (also learned bigger cabinet makes a huge difference). Newer model of same sub, much better sound. Cant buy yet still have not gotten a friggen amp yet :( ......Strike the sub as source of the problem.

    That leaves the reciever, maybe something wrong with the sub preout, or some sort of internal short when I shut the receiver down?

    While researching interconnect cables for future amp, I started wondering about possible faulty cables. They are cheap radioshack 24K subwoofer Y cable. Is it possible that it needs a big shot of juice from the receiver to kickstart?
    Hi Danger post from other thread. Preout for sub jack appears to have a problem.

    have to make new photos, wont let me post pics from older thread.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,835

    Default

    instead of trying to find a work around solution.. why not just take your receiver in for service and get the sub pre out fixed? instead of throwing money at the problem to find a so so solution that may not work... if the receiver is worth fixing.. that's what I would do. or go out and buy another receiver.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Willow Grove, pa
    Posts
    315

    Default

    If the alternative wiring scheme sounds good in the system, easy holdover solution because its FREE and saves me from multiple 50 minute each way trips to the nearest service center. At the moment spending more cash in the next few months is not at option (new house thingy), come early winter look out, i just might start over with everything!!

    Back to sub ---- so there is no way to hookup without line-outs on the sub?
    If that is the case I will call it quits with this thing until I eventually getting it in.
    Attached Images  

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. i need help !
    By 98thumpin in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 164
    Last Post: 03-30-2006, 01:30 AM
  2. FS: Audio Experience Symphonies Tube Line Stage
    By RuSsMaN in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-15-2005, 09:05 PM
  3. Is a new Polk line coming out soon?
    By Arcanum in forum Speakers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-12-2004, 06:23 PM
  4. New RTi line - timbre match
    By kryss in forum Speakers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-24-2003, 08:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts