Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: File Sharing

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    1,853

    Default File Sharing

    Does anyone know how to do file sharing over the internet such that you can access the shared folder as if it was on your local machine (like mapping a drive)? Can MS Networking support this? It doesn't seem like it. The only way I've found to do this is to set up a VPN, but that unfortunately routes all your internet traffic through the VPN (and hence the remote computer's internet connection). I'm looking for an easy way to share a repository of documents with my friend so we can both easily work on them.

    Aaron

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    You can share files over the internet the same way that you do on a local network, at least as long as there is no firewall between you and the internet.

    You could also try setting up ftp real quick. I'd have to know more about your situation to better help you. Just remember that the internet is just like any other network for the most part.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    Ick, I'm not sure if that halped much. heh

    Just map a drive. It's that easy. For security reasons I don't recommend it though, unless you make sure that you've killed all the admin shares.

    You can always put em on an ftp server somewhere. Thats how most people do it. Your ISP probably already has ftp (or http) space for you to use.

  4. #4
    Spaceman Spiff
    Member Sales Rating: (22)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Surf City, CA
    Posts
    8,469

    Default

    Just make sure you use protection.

    Peace Out~:D
    If...
    Ron dislikes a film = go out and buy it.
    Ron loves a film = don't even rent.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    I use WarFTP, eff the shared folders.....

    -R
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    1,853

    Default Phuz

    FTP is definitely not what I want to do. I want to be able to easily work with these files from within any application (be it Windows Explorer or MS Word). Phuz, what info do you need? I'm on a cable modem with no firewall and my friend is also on a cable modem but connected through a router (which has a firewall, but port forwarding and such is configured). We both have dynamic IP's, but we're using DNS2Go to get around that problem.

    So, how do I map a network drive over the internet? Can my friend just set up a standard MS Networking share? This is what I'm entering as the network share and it's not working:

    \\his_host_name.d2g.com\share_name

    Aaron

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Funny Farm"no doubt there"
    Posts
    5,329

    Default

    I'm with Russ!
    ***WAREMTAE***

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    The only way I did it with mapping a drive to a freakin folder, was to setup personal web server, and share the folder(s). I could then map to the UNC path.... \\hostname.whatever\sharename.

    Then I could drag and drop, like any other folder.....

    Cheers,
    Russ

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mountains of Idaho
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Have you tried pinging his IP? I wonder if it's failing (like firewall issue on his end) before the name resolution part...

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    Ping doesn't work, but I believe that's because he has it disabled. We successfully set up a VPN, so (most) everything network-wise seems to be working.

    Aaron

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    532

    Default

    And to think Bill Gates thought the internet would fail...
    P2P baby!
    Some polks and stuff

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    I'm with Russ to, but if you really want to map a drive then it can be done. You are on the right track, but with the router and DNS to go running... it's going to be painful. Just set up a web share like Russ said. I could do it all easily, but it's not easy to type it out on a BB. :)

    You are on a cable modem with no firewall? Ouch. Get something like Blackice Defender or Zone Alarm at least.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas - Moo
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    Originally posted by Aaron
    Ping doesn't work, but I believe that's because he has it disabled. We successfully set up a VPN, so (most) everything network-wise seems to be working.

    Aaron
    He would have to map a few ports (at least port 139) and most likely disable a lot of the firewalling features for the sharing to work. Oh well at least you have a work around. heh

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    I usually run the Windows XP firewall, but I've had it disabled while we've been working out our networking issues. I also have a router with a firewall (which seems more like a firefence), but I'm not using it right now. We'll try out the web share tonight and see how that works out. Thanks.

    Aaron

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    seccond star to the right and strait on to morning
    Posts
    2,795

    Default

    get windows xp prow ot has remote desktop you can control another comp form across the country or wherever i have xp prow on my comp and it works great to control my other comp ps you can do a dual prossesor setup to
    Gonzo's World
    BenQ 8700+
    115in screen
    PS3,X-Box 360 and Wii
    Sunfire Theater Grand III
    ADCOM GFA-7607
    four avalanch 18 subs 26.12l of displacement
    Crown xti 4000

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    1,853

    Default ganzo

    We both have Windows XP Pro (and all the other Windows OS's for that matter), but I want share files, not control a computer.

    Aaron

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts