Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    355

    Default Parasound HCA-1500A power amp output specs

    My Parasound HCA-1500A power amp output specs are as follows:

    Continuous Power Output:
    205 Watts RMS x 2 into 8 ohms
    315 Watts RMS x 2 into 4 ohms

    Continuous Power Output – Mono (Bridged):
    630 Watts RMS x 1 onto 8 ohms

    My question is about operating the amp bridged.

    For example, if you are powering Rti8 speaker (rated at 8 ohms) I understand the 630 Watts into 8 ohms (bridged) power output.

    What is the power output if one is powering Lsi15 speaker (rated at 4 ohms)? Would the power output double to 630 Watts x 2 = 1260 Watts into 4 ohms? This doesn't look right! Please help thanks.


    Gator :) :)

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,227

    Default

    Can't run the HCA at 4ohms/bridged. Parasound states this in the manual.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (39)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,657

    Default

    That seems to be the norm with most amps. Bridged is only advised and rated for 8ohm speaks. Anything lower and you might be in for some trouble.
    Stereo Rig: Hales Revelation 3, Musical Fidelity CD-Pre 24, Forte Model 3 amp, Lexicon RT-10 SACD, MMF-5 w/speedbox, Forte Model 2 Phono Pre, Cardas Crosslink, APC H15, URC MX-950, Lovan Stand
    Bedroom: Samsung HPR-4252, Toshiba HD-A2, HK 3480, Signal Cable, AQ speaker cable, Totem Dreamcatchers, SVS PB10-NSD, URC MX-850

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    York, PA / Mumbai, India
    Posts
    4,474

    Default

    Besides, looking at the unbridged mode, that amp can't "double down" at 8 Ohms anyways. I would bet your max wattage would be 630W regardless...

    BTW: Why on earth would 315W not be enough?
    There is no genuine justice in any scheme of feeding and coddling the loafer whose only ponderable energies are devoted wholly to reproduction. Nine-tenths of the rights he bellows for are really privileges and he does nothing to deserve them. We not only acquired a vast population of morons, we have inculcated all morons, old or young, with the doctrine that the decent and industrious people of the country are bound to support them for all time.-Menkin

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jdhdiggs
    BTW: Why on earth would 315W not be enough?
    I didn't imply 315 Watts is not enough. I was just not clear if one can run the amp bridged with 4 ohm rated speakers. Now I understand. Thanks for the clarification guys.

    Gator :) :)

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    In bridged mode an amp see a 8ohm load as 4ohm, this is why an amp not spec'd for 2ohm load can't run 4ohm load bridged.

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steveinaz
    Can't run the HCA at 4ohms/bridged. Parasound states this in the manual.
    steveinaz,

    I looked at the pdf manual on Parasound web site. In the bridged mode each channel of the amp “sees” only half of the speaker’s impedance. For a 4 ohms speaker, the impedance would be only 2 ohms per channel.

    I didn’t get the amp with manual. I did download pdf manual now.

    Thanks bro.

    Gator :) :)
    Theatre System 5.1
    Sumsung HP-S5053 plasma
    Receiver Denon AVR 3806 Pre/Pro
    Parasound HCA 1500A amp (front L/R)
    Parasound HCA 1000A amp (centre)
    B & K AV5000 amp (bi-amp + surround)
    Dynaco ST70 tube amp (Herbie HAL-O9)
    polkaudio Lsi15 (Cherry) 2-channel
    polkaudio Rti8 Front (Cherry)
    polkaudio Csi5 Centre
    polkaudio Rti6 Surround
    polkaudio PSW1000 Subwoofer (Cherry)
    Original A8T CD
    Pioneer DV-275 DVD Player
    MONSTER CABLE MP-HTS3500MKII Powercentre

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,623

    Default

    If the Rti8's can be bi-amped, I would use the 1500's in a vertical bi-amp configuration. This is similar to using each amp bridged, however you use one channel for the mid/tweeter and one channel for the lower/woofer.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    355

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dkg999
    If the Rti8's can be bi-amped, I would use the 1500's in a vertical bi-amp configuration. This is similar to using each amp bridged, however you use one channel for the mid/tweeter and one channel for the lower/woofer.
    That means I would need 2 1500's to run 2 RTi8's in bi-amped mode.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    York, PA / Mumbai, India
    Posts
    4,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dkg999
    If the Rti8's can be bi-amped, I would use the 1500's in a vertical bi-amp configuration. This is similar to using each amp bridged, however you use one channel for the mid/tweeter and one channel for the lower/woofer.
    Why? Why not have all the power transistors available to the entire speaker? Why break the power reserves in half?

    Remember, woofers are typically less efficient than tweeters and each octave drop in frequency requires a doubling of power to maintain the same dB level. The end result is that the tweeter section represents an insignificant load compared to the woofer sections. What you have done in bi-amping is effectively freed up you tweeters load from the woofers giving the woofers an extra watt or so in extra power. The tweeter section will only load the upper amp with maybe 2W at screaming dB levels. Bridging them, he gains >400W.

    In this case he should absolutely bridge the amps if he wants more power, not bi-amp. Better case: sell both amps for an even better one.
    There is no genuine justice in any scheme of feeding and coddling the loafer whose only ponderable energies are devoted wholly to reproduction. Nine-tenths of the rights he bellows for are really privileges and he does nothing to deserve them. We not only acquired a vast population of morons, we have inculcated all morons, old or young, with the doctrine that the decent and industrious people of the country are bound to support them for all time.-Menkin

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    York, PA / Mumbai, India
    Posts
    4,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GATOR3000
    That means I would need 2 1500's to run 2 RTi8's in bi-amped mode.
    Yup, double the cost for what amounts to about 2-10W (MAX) of extra power in real terms.
    There is no genuine justice in any scheme of feeding and coddling the loafer whose only ponderable energies are devoted wholly to reproduction. Nine-tenths of the rights he bellows for are really privileges and he does nothing to deserve them. We not only acquired a vast population of morons, we have inculcated all morons, old or young, with the doctrine that the decent and industrious people of the country are bound to support them for all time.-Menkin

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,623

    Default

    I can't argue with your logic, however I use two HCA-1500's vertically bi-amped to run my Magnepan 1.6QR. I experimented with horizontal bi-amping, and using one amp to power both speakers. The vertical bi-amping really made the Magnepan's come alive. I did it at the suggestion of a Parasound tech who gave me an equally plausible sounding explanation as to why you should always vertically bi-amp with the HCA series of Parasound amps. All I know is that it worked the best. Your mileage may vary!
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    York, PA / Mumbai, India
    Posts
    4,474

    Default

    Maybe the HCA do something different, I know some Carver amps ratchet up the distortion in bridged mode. I still think one amp for double the price would be the better option. Go grab a pair of JC-1's! :)

    For your maggies, go get a line level crossover and take out the external X-over and then write me a thank you note.
    There is no genuine justice in any scheme of feeding and coddling the loafer whose only ponderable energies are devoted wholly to reproduction. Nine-tenths of the rights he bellows for are really privileges and he does nothing to deserve them. We not only acquired a vast population of morons, we have inculcated all morons, old or young, with the doctrine that the decent and industrious people of the country are bound to support them for all time.-Menkin

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,623

    Default

    You are correct, the external cross-over would be an improvement. I am just not ready to take that jump yet. I just added a Rogue Audio Magnum 66 pre I got from Russman, and it made a nice improvement over the Audcom 110 I was using. I'm really happy with the system at them moment. I need to get moved to a new place and then I won't have the Maggies boxed in with other furniture, and then I can evaluate where I want to go with them. I have looked at the external cross-overs, and haven't been able to get a solid opinion base on which one to purchase if I did want to play with one. Any thoughts? Doug.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    York, PA / Mumbai, India
    Posts
    4,474

    Default

    For $25 delivered, not much risk... I'm using a 500Hz high pass on my knights and nothing on the adcoms. I could probably add a 1.5 kHz low pass to the adcom but I don't think that the tweeter signal is pulling too much of the 400+ Watts available.

    Check the x-over for the 1.6 QR (600Hz?) In that case a 500Hz one would be just fine. The next step down is 150Hz I think (Parts express line level x-over). The 150 would still eliminate a huge amount of load off the amp.
    There is no genuine justice in any scheme of feeding and coddling the loafer whose only ponderable energies are devoted wholly to reproduction. Nine-tenths of the rights he bellows for are really privileges and he does nothing to deserve them. We not only acquired a vast population of morons, we have inculcated all morons, old or young, with the doctrine that the decent and industrious people of the country are bound to support them for all time.-Menkin

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,623

    Default

    Thanks, I'll take a look at those options! Doug.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    York, PA / Mumbai, India
    Posts
    4,474

    Default

    Oh yeah, and since your speakers are 4Ohm, you wouldn't want to mono those amps for the reasons above.
    There is no genuine justice in any scheme of feeding and coddling the loafer whose only ponderable energies are devoted wholly to reproduction. Nine-tenths of the rights he bellows for are really privileges and he does nothing to deserve them. We not only acquired a vast population of morons, we have inculcated all morons, old or young, with the doctrine that the decent and industrious people of the country are bound to support them for all time.-Menkin

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (19)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kansas City KS/Central IA
    Posts
    5,623

    Default

    I agree! I was cautioned about that by the same Parasound tech. The Maggies seem to be a little challenging for amps to handle according to a lot of what I have read. I do like the sound of the Parasound amps when used with the 1.6's.
    DKG999
    -----------------------------------------
    HT System: LSi9, LSiCx2, LSiFX, LSi7, SVS 20-39 PC+, B&K 507.s2 AVR, B&K Ref 125.2, Tripplite LCR-2400, Cambridge 650BD, Signal Cable PC/SC, BJC IC, Samsung 55" LED

    Music System: Magnepan 1.6QR, SVS SB12+, ARC pre, Parasound HCA1500 vertically bi-amped, Jolida CDP, Pro-Ject RM5.1SE TT, Pro-Ject TubeBox SE phono pre, SBT, PS Audio DLIII DAC

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Parasound HCA 1500A amp and B&K amp what to do?
    By GATOR3000 in forum Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-06-2006, 01:25 PM
  2. Looking for amp opinions...again...
    By audiobliss in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-24-2005, 01:28 PM
  3. Amp ratings: how to undrstand them.
    By LittleCar_w/12s in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-06-2004, 06:03 PM
  4. Parasound HCA1000A
    By Terrax in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-28-2004, 12:49 PM
  5. question...
    By wangotango68 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2002, 10:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts