Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default RM6000 - Subwoofer no working

    I have a Sherwood RD6405 hooked up to my RM6000 and all runs well except no activity from the SW. I have followed the instructions, rechecked, and had someone else recheck the configuration... the FL & FR output goes to the FL & FR speakers, the FL & FR input comes from the FL & FR speaker output from the Receiver. SW is turned off on the Receiver. On the SW, the Phase switch is set to 180, the volume control and LPF control are set to 12oclock (have positioned up to 2 oclock also). There is another switch also AUTO which I can't find any info on in the manual... it has 3 possible settings but I have no idea what to set this to... have tried ON, OFF and the middle setting... whatever that is.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Something in your description does not make sense.

    Please describe what connection from each device is connected to what connection on the other devices.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    OK...
    Front R speaker connects to the R Speaker level output on the SW.
    Front L speaker connects to the L Speaker level output on the SW.
    Front R cable connects to the R Speaker level input on the SW and Front R Speaker output on the Receiver.
    Front L cable connects to the L Speaker level input on the SW and Front L Speaker output on the Receiver.
    That is the only SW connections.
    Centre and Rear speakers are connected directly to the Reciever via their corresponding jacks.

    Hope that helps

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Turn the subwoofer 3 way switch to ON.

    Does the subwoofer have a light that turns green when you do this?

    Are you getting any output now?

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    It's switched to ON... Um... no green light... but then again, I can't see any light, illuminated or not

    Hang.. just found the light... but it's not on... hmm, could be the reason.
    Last edited by crewmark; 08-27-2006 at 12:24 AM.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Is the sub plugged into the power outlet?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    LOL... yes :D

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Hmm... if its plugged in and you turn that 3 way switch to on, you should get a light. sounds like a blown fuse in the sub.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Buggar... only just got it as a replacement for my last speakers that didn't work. Is the fuse something easily changed without sending back again?

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Disconnect all wires from the sub, then plug it into the wall. See if that light comes on with the switch to on. (lets eliminate any possibility of a short somewhere else)

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Done that... nothing... looks like it's dead :(

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Make very sure your outlet is not dead. I did that once - hooked up a sub to a switched power outlet, and I was convinced the sub was not working when in fact it was getting no power.

    If you have checked that, you should call Polk Customer service. They are really great folks to deal with. In most cases you should be able to send just the amp in for service.

    From the looks of the rear panel on that sub (looking at the online manual), there is no externally accessible fuse. There probably is one inside.
    Last edited by anonymouse; 08-27-2006 at 12:45 AM.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    No.. definately dead... I'll contact customer service. Thanks for your help :)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. RM 6800 Subwoofer
    By keppy in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-31-2006, 02:31 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-20-2006, 11:32 AM
  3. RM6800 Subwoofer / Onkyp TX603 Setup
    By MLZ in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 01:44 AM
  4. My SVS PB10-ISD Help?
    By Vegaspolka in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-14-2004, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts