Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default 2 Soundscraftsmen amps - 2 acoustat speakers

    I have searched the site but I donít seem to find exactly what I am looking for.

    I need to know how to hook up 1 amp per speaker. I have a Soundcraftsman MA5002 Power Amp, that I bought brand new way back in the day, running off of an AudioSource Preamp Two. I recently acquired another Soundcraftsman MA5002.

    I acquired a pair of Acoustat speakers and they sound quite nice but, even with the power of the amp my volume is not as loud as I would like.

    What I want to do is have one amp run the left channel and the other the right.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Saginaw, Texas 76131
    Posts
    1,659

    Default

    can the amps be set to mono?
    Main system
    http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...pin&1162599347 Freelance reviewer for StereoMojo

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    This I cannot answer that at this time. I have the manual somewhere but I need to find it. I have not received the one I recently purchased. Let's assume for the sake of argument that they are just straight forward amps with no general provisions for mono.
    Last edited by kerneljacksom; 02-11-2007 at 07:51 PM.

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Saginaw, Texas 76131
    Posts
    1,659

    Default

    are the acoustats bi-wire capable?
    Main system
    http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...pin&1162599347 Freelance reviewer for StereoMojo

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I am sorry to say that I don't know that either. They are vintage speakers and I didn't get the manual with them but I will try to find out
    Thanks

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I am sorry to say that I don't know that either. They are vintage electrotatic speakers and I didn't get the manual with them but I will try to find out
    Thanks

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Saginaw, Texas 76131
    Posts
    1,659

    Default

    if you have the speakers on hand, check to see if each speaker has one pair or two pair of terminals.
    Main system
    http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...pin&1162599347 Freelance reviewer for StereoMojo

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    just 1 set of terminals on speakers
    Last edited by kerneljacksom; 02-11-2007 at 08:40 PM.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Just 1 set of terminals

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    sorry about the double posts, I thought i was deliting them. Need to get used to this forumThanks

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Saginaw, Texas 76131
    Posts
    1,659

    Default

    with the one set of terminals you can only use both amps if they can be run as monoblock amps.
    Main system
    http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...pin&1162599347 Freelance reviewer for StereoMojo

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    My preamp has 2 sets of Line outs and I had used the one Soundcraftmen on one set and the other line out with another amp. Each was controlling its own set or speakers though.

    Is there a way I can series the out puts of the Amps to make each control just one speaker

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    GA--Rollin' down Hwy 41
    Posts
    2,855

    Default

    There are two versions of the Ma5002. The MA5002 and the MA5002A. I don't think they are bridgeable. The MA5002A is 2ohm stable continuous. The MA5002 puts out 375 at 4ohms 2ch driven. That should be enough volume for anybody. Both are built for a ballistic rating. You can get music out of a fork laid across the terminals.
    >
    >
    >This message has been scanned by the NSA and found to be free of harmful intent.<

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Saginaw, Texas 76131
    Posts
    1,659

    Default

    not that i know of unless you can get someone to mod the amps.
    marvin
    Main system
    http://forum.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/fr...pin&1162599347 Freelance reviewer for StereoMojo

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I used to have a pair of Infinity Quantum 2’s hooked up to it and they were pretty inefficient speakers but I did get some sound out of them. They have since fallen in need of repair and I think I know of a place that I can take them to.

    With the Acoustat’s the amp will turn the green clipping lights on and with some transients will hit the red overload light and the you better make sure you turn the pre amp down before it resets. Tha may be te reason the Infinitys got sick. In those days there were no remote controled preamps and if you were in the middle of something, those speakers were gonna take a hit as well. The specs on the damm thing are outrageous.

    Maybe I need to get rid of the Acoustats and fix the Infinitys and get another set of speakers and run one amp for front and one for rear and set them up side by side. The Acoustats are very dirictional and you need to be in the sweet spot to get the most of them, but when you are there, man are you there.

    I have had other speakers set up with them and had the neighbors begging me to stop. Those days are behind me but once in a while I like to let it blast.

    I have always wanted to get another of those amps and I guess I should have looked into doing this bridge set up before I bought it. In any case it is a kick ass amp and will figure out something for them. I don’t know as to whether or not I want to modify them or what it would take to do it.

    These amps are the ones with the VU meters. I am looking at the owner’s manual right now and see no mention of A. I don’t want to go behind the thing right now to see but there is no A the front of the Amp.

    The spec sheet says Power output is 250watts RMS-8ohms/360 watts 4ohns (per channel) It also states
    I.M. Distortation - Less thab 0.05%
    T.H.D. - Distortation Less than 0.02%
    Signal to Noise -Greater than 105dB
    Frequency Response +- 1/4dB 20Hz to 20 KHz
    Slew Rate - Greater than 90v per micro-second (supply)
    Slew Rate - Greater than 50v per micro-second (amplifer)
    Damping factor - Greater than 100
    Stability - Any load 2 ohms to 32 ohms
    Input Sensitivity - 1.28 RMS for rated output
    Imput Impeadence - 15 ohms to 50k ohms
    Last edited by kerneljacksom; 02-12-2007 at 01:47 AM.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    If you have done that--got rid of the acoustats--and the amp is excess now--do you want to sell it??

    Just a thought.

    Mike mb2222@aol.com

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I lost interest in that project however during the time I Picked up A Rotel preamp.

    I now would sell one Soundcraftsmen amp, the Rotel preamp, & the Acoustat speakers. All are in perfect working condition.

    I am also willing to sell the Quantum 2ís. They need to be rebuilt, but cosmetically they are perfect, including original grills. If interested in any items I can send pictures.

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Deep Down the Rabbit Hole
    Posts
    9,610

    Default

    we should have a newb only FM. once you go past 25 you cant see it and all your posts their disappear.

    RT1
    REEL TIME THEATRE
    Onkyo-TX-NR5007
    B&K 7270 amplifier
    Polk SWA-500 Subwoofer amplifier
    OppO BDP-83
    Pioneer Elite 50"
    Polk LCi-RTS-105;LCi-RTS-C;LCi-RTSFx;LCi80Fx
    Subs-Twin Polk CSW200
    HTS5000


    RABBIT HOLE RIG
    BAT VK-31SE
    VTL MB-450 Signature monoblock
    Wolcott Presence monoblock
    Musical Fidelity kW SACD
    Rega P25/RB600/Clearaudio Aurum Beta
    Acoustech Phono-Pre
    Sound Lab Millenium ELS
    BillyBags Rack
    MIT S1/3 cables
    Shunyata/PS Audio/Virtual Dynamics Power Cords


    Everthing Matters...Tubes Rule...and It's Over until it's Not Over

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    You need the Soundcraftsmen "AB-1" bridging adapter...

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Where on earth would I find such an animal, or how would I go about building one?

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    16,228

    Default

    Ebay or audiogon, they are not made anymore....Basically both amps connect to it, your preamp--then it plugs into the wall; then you use both + terminals on each amp to each speaker. When I ran 2 Soundcraftsmen PM840's w/the AB-1, I got 600 watts/rms @ 8ohms---1200 watts peak. The PM840 by itself in stereo put out 205 watts @ 8ohms.

    I'm sure some DIY'er sites would have instructions on building a bridger--there wasn't much to it.
    Last edited by steveinaz; 03-09-2009 at 07:54 PM.

    Source: Squeezebox Touch/CIA Power Supply
    DAC: Benchmark DAC/PRE
    Linestage: Placette RVC Passive
    Power Amp: Parasound HCA-1500A
    Speakers: Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 Monitor
    Subwoofer: SVS PB12-NSD

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Amps for 6 ohm speakers
    By Ricardo in forum Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-31-2006, 10:34 PM
  2. ??? on RMS of amps and speakers
    By Shawshanks in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-02-2005, 12:30 AM
  3. 2 amps, one set of speakers...
    By Early B. in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2004, 01:57 PM
  4. amps & speakers
    By mesquitehead in forum Flea Market
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-13-2004, 05:13 PM
  5. Acoustat "Spectra passive Sub" & Pioneer 91D
    By HBombToo in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2003, 09:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts