Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    101

    Default Rookie amp questions?

    Almost embarassed to ask some of these questions!!:D I have been looking at a lot of amps. Looking to run maybe just the center channel (rti12) off of an amp. Still planning on the onkyo 803 or hk 645 (Just missed out on one tonight on ebay) So with either of these I was thinking that they would have plenty of power to run the remaining speakers if I ran an amp to the center. Have been looking at mostly just two channel amps (parasound & adcom) Now here's where I get lost. Can I use just one channel on these and will all 200 watts go through the one channel or do both channels have to be running at 100 wpc? Also, the amp is the power to the speakers alone right? (Not added to the receivers power to the same speaker?) Sorry for the rookie questions!
    Silversmoky

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (40)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    18,401

    Default

    If you use 1 channel of a stereo amp, you use 1 channel. The wattage isn't increased unless the amp is capable of being bridged mono. If you have an RTi12 for center, you can always bi-amp using a stereo amp. One channel to the bottom posts, the other channel to the top posts.

    There are a lot of good monoblock amps out there also - you are headed in the right direction looking at Parasound and Adcom for bang for buck sound.

    Cheers,
    Russ
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    1,892

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chadjessie@hotm
    Can I use just one channel on these and will all 200 watts go through the one channel or do both channels have to be running at 100 wpc? Also, the amp is the power to the speakers alone right? (Not added to the receivers power to the same speaker?) Sorry for the rookie questions!
    Ok....Lets get this started. ;)
    Some amps can be bridged (meaning that you use the 2 ch. amp for 1 channel.) You will generally get double the power that it is rated for on 1 channel....Sometimes better than that. Different companies have different ways to bridge their amps (Switches on the back, Y cable (2-into-1), exc) and some aren't bridgeable at all....Make sure you know what you are looking at.
    You are right on about he second question.....Your receiver MIGHT have pre-outs (they will be labeled as such) on the back.....Front L+R, CENTER, Rear L+R........you plug up your RCA cable(s) to the pre-outs and to the amp(s).....It basically overrides the internal amp on the receiver, sends the signal through there instead of the internal amp...

    I hope this didn't confuse you too much...I've a been a drinkin':D
    Quote Originally Posted by troyd
    Who cares if mainstream pop is released in SACD? In most cases, that amounts to polishing a turd.
    Quote Originally Posted by dorokusai
    Have you ever felt the legs of a female equestrian on your head?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Actually that helps already. I was wondering if that is was bridged meant. So I should probably get a 2 channel amp that can be bridged to run to the rti 12? I would like to be around 200 watts to the rti12 or so. Also hooking the amp up to the avr through preouts means that the avr doesn't supply any power to those channels. So does that mean that the extra power from the amp not being used gets divided into the other channels that the avr is feeding? EX. 105 wpc in 7.1, Would it be higher per channel without 105 to the center?
    Silversmoky

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jackson, TN.
    Posts
    419

    Default

    Negative

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    101

    Default

    So max wpc is 105.
    Silversmoky

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    2,410

    Default

    Yep, the power per channel is independent on how many channels are in use.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. RT55i Help needed for rookie...
    By nakaya in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 12:37 PM
  2. Polk rookie with story and questions
    By jdla in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2006, 10:31 PM
  3. I'm a rookie and need some help. LC265i
    By steve-o in forum Speakers
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-15-2006, 07:06 PM
  4. rookie question
    By chris knight in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2006, 04:24 PM
  5. Rookie here, FXi 30 vs. FXi3
    By superbrett in forum Speakers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2004, 11:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts