Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 44
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default *Sigh* I bought a 360 today

    *sigh*

    With my friends starting to play Halo again --- I purchased one since my XBox broke many moons ago. *sigh*
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,060

    Default

    You buy a video game system and your sad? What kind of teenager are you?
    I'm in the high-fidelity first class traveling set

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Sid,
    I feel your pleasure/pain.

    1. Play games that are just not quite as revolutionary as all the hype.
    2. Stream music via wmp11 but the tagging system is just plain bad.
    3. Can't stream vobs from DVD's you own so you're left with attempts to transcode on the fly.
    4. No HDMI even though there's a HD DVD player available until the Elite comes out. Translation: more $$ for the new HDMI cord.
    5. Good luck with the periodic updates. Hope you don't get a BSOD.
    6. No DVD-A or SACD capabilities.

    Promising but not quite there yet. Sigh...

    Well, at least you'll get to frag your friends. Have fun!

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (31)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    14,790

    Default

    I just got the red ring of death last week. Waiting for MS to send me a box so I can sent the unit back. Of course if happens a couple of days before my 10 day vacation.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Well the reason I sigh is...

    I wouldnt have a 360 right now if I had not BROKE my original XBox by getting mad at it.

    I was originally going to wait until Halo 3 came out... but *sigh*
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,429

    Default

    Awesome.

    What is your gamertag?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Vr3Sid
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,429

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vr3MxStyler2k3 View Post
    Vr3Sid
    Lame. You've been added, son.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,056

    Default

    Hey man enjoy, I am sure you will.
    // Panasonic AE8000 // Pioneer SC-57 // Polk Audio RTi A9 // Polk Audio CSiA6 //
    // Polk Audio FXi A6 // SVS PB12-NSD Subwoofer // Logitech Harmony Ultimate // Pro-Ject Debut III //
    // Oppo BDP-103 // Microsoft Xbox One Day One Edition // Sony Playstation 4 1TB SSHD // Nintendo Wii U //
    Photo Gallery
    Movie and Game Collection

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,429

    Default

    What games are you planning on getting?

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Halo 3 and Gears of Wars...

    I want a good Wrestling, Racing, and Fighting (DOA type) game - and general arcade mission type game...

    Any thoughts. I hope they make Riddick backwards compatible - that game ROCKS.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,429

    Default

    I would get Forza 2 when it comes out next month.

    DOA4 is excellent.

    Whatever you do, just don't get Rumble Roses. If boxing fits the bill, I would highly recommend Fight Night Round 3.

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Heres the *REAL* question....

    What is the best way to get music from my computer to my xbox.

    I did the streaming thing - but I dont have my laptop on the same server as the XBox, what should I do. I cant run them "directly" linked all the time either.

    Will check out those games shortly --- Im making a list of music, movies, games to buy once my upgrades are done.

    Im still looking at a preamp, amp, sub, sub amp, tv purchase though - I hope to have it all done before Halo 3 comes out. Should be awesome though.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,060

    Default

    Well, you can't skip Guitar Hero
    I'm in the high-fidelity first class traveling set

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,429

    Default

    You owe it to yourself to purchase some sort of TV or monitor that is HD capable. You would be much better off using a 19 inch computer monitor than a 32 inch SD television. HD is a must for the 360.

    As for streaming, is there any computer that is on the same network as the 360? Is there anyway you can do that if not already?

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Yeah I plan to get a 40-50" TV after all the audio purchases are over with. So its in the thought process. Thats for sure.

    Guitar Hero - I played it on the PS2, will have to pick it up eventually as well...
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  17. #17

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    If I were to plug my connection in my room into a router ----------------------

    Could I use that router to break it off into 4 connections like I can at the modem?
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  18. #18

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sconnie
    Posts
    11,808

    Default

    Yeah, that's what the router is for. Should work just fine. One to your 360, one to your PC, and the other two to whatever other devices you have needing an IC.

  19. #19

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    Thats what I thought,
    Was just curious since I already have it broken down by a router at the modem, I didn't know if you could split it again though. Cool.

    Any input on the HD DVD addition to the console?

    Thanks for your help thus far.
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  20. #20

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sconnie
    Posts
    11,808

    Default

    The HD DVD is less than impressive. It does the job fine for me, but if you want great sound look elsewhere.

  21. #21

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vr3MxStyler2k3 View Post
    Thats what I thought,
    Was just curious since I already have it broken down by a router at the modem, I didn't know if you could split it again though. Cool.

    Any input on the HD DVD addition to the console?

    Thanks for your help thus far.
    Yes, you can run a cat-5 from your router at the modem to the other room and split it with another router with a 4 port switch on the back by plugging into the WAN port or you could find a cheap switch and avoid the router portion altogether. I guess it depends on what's on sale.

    If you go wireless, make sure you get a wireless router with "bridge" capability by the exact same manufacturer. On the other hand, although this will work fine with music, I'm not quite so sure what the lag time will be when you're playing Halo 3 on Xbox Live.

    I haven't picked up the HD player yet although it's been very tempting since new releases are a few bucks more expensive in HD format. Current news reports show Blue Ray winning so I'm a bit hesitant. I'd like to hear more feedback from others on this forum on the HD vs BR battle.

    Lastly...
    Table Tennis is surprisingly fun and a good respite from 1st person shooters. I picked my copy up at fry's for $20. :D
    Last edited by fatchowmein; 04-16-2007 at 12:39 PM.

  22. #22

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,904

    Default

    Probably be better to use a switch or hub instead and that way you don't have to bother disabling all the router features (dhcp / dns / forwarding etc..). I bought mine for ten bucks at best buy (gah) and for a home network it does just fine.

  23. #23

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    20,970

    Default

    would ratshack carry that?
    www.Vr3Mods.com ///// www.Version3Audio.com

    "No, that's silly talk. Dude, you can't possibly be this audio dumb so quit the act." - Doro

  24. #24

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sconnie
    Posts
    11,808

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vr3MxStyler2k3 View Post
    would ratshack carry that?

    This is all you need:



    That's a wireless, but I would suggest the wired, since that's what you have now. They're very inexpensive and work just fine. I'm not aware of any settings you would need to change, but if you do, all of that info is right with the router on a disk. Very easy to follow.

    Doesn't need to be Lynksys either. Plenty of other brands that are as good or better, depending on who you ask. I have had the same Lynksys router for 4 years and it works like a champ.

  25. #25

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,429

    Default

    ^ What he said.

    My linksys is working flawlessly with my 360.

  26. #26

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,904

    Default

    Switches & Hubs
    Don't need to spend 100+ on something for your room. Just something cheap. This is what I used for a while and never had any problems with it.
    Last edited by michael_w; 04-16-2007 at 03:09 PM.

  27. #27

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sconnie
    Posts
    11,808

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by michael_w View Post
    Switches & Hubs
    Don't need to spend 100+ on something for your room. Just something cheap. This is what I used for a while and never had any problems with it.
    $100?



    4-Port Wired Linksys from Amazon, $44.

    He could get a smaller one, and he could easily find it cheaper.

  28. #28

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,904

    Default

    When I said $100 I meant that he didn't need a cisco gigabit switch or anything fancy.

  29. #29

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sconnie
    Posts
    11,808

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by michael_w View Post
    When I said $100 I meant that he didn't need a cisco gigabit switch or anything fancy.
    Ah, sorry. :D

  30. #30

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Orlando,FL
    Posts
    78

    Default

    if you like the 360 so much you should of held off a few more weeks and bought the elite. which is a joke now you have a old model which the price will drop soon.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Bought my first car today
    By michael_w in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 11-22-2006, 11:14 AM
  2. So today I bought....
    By George Grand in forum Speakers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-16-2005, 09:19 AM
  3. Bought POLK RTi6 today for Back Surrounds!
    By hamzahsh in forum Speakers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-16-2004, 11:20 PM
  4. sigh again
    By i4gotmyid in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2003, 04:31 AM
  5. *sigh* yay...
    By Zero in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-22-2002, 08:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts