Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    2,367

    Default Abnormal B&K Pop - Need Help

    A little history...

    Ok guys need a little help hopefully from someone who has a B&K Reference 50 and from someone with a B&K Reference 50 S2. You also need to have a 7.1 setup.

    The Ref 50 was known a while back for having a popping sound that occurred in all the speakers when going through menus, as well as when changing scenes in movies. They fixed it, if I recall correctly by adding a muting circuit, and all was good. This is a different pop.

    I wont bore you with the details but my system went through some changes, I went from 7.1 to 5.1 a few times, and changed my speakers from Polk LSis to Gallos all around. I had been using a Outlaw ICBM for bass management but took that out of the system, set my front speakers to large, center to none and my surrounds to small and everything was good...until I went back to 7.1.

    I got my Sunfire amp and the first thing I noticed was a very loud popping sound coming only from my back right surround speaker. I did all sorts of testing to figure out what was causing it but narrowed it down the the B&K. I tried doing a system reset which fixed the problem...until I changed the settings.

    XxXxX IMPORTANT PART XxXxX

    So here is what I need a couple of fellow polkies to do, can you change your settings for me? Nothing big just speaker size, set:

    Fronts to Large
    Center to None
    Surround to Small
    Surround Back to Small
    Subwoofer Yes THX (S1 only)
    THX Ultra 2...doesn't matter

    In my system with those settings I get a annoying pop in my back right speaker. It happens when I navigate menus, change scenes in dvds, or change the settings on the b&k.

    With Center to anything but none there is no pop.
    With fronts to small there is no pop.
    With both sets of surrounds set to large there is no pop.
    With Subwoofer set to no there is no pop
    With Subwoofer set to Ultra there is no pop

    I just want to know if this is a unique problem I am having or if it is common place. I also want to know if I upgrade to a S2 (I want PLIIx) if I will have the same issue. I talked to B&K and they have never heard of it, but could take a look if I shipped it in. I have put the ICBM back in to fix the problem, and would rather not be without my system for a few weeks and be out shipping charges to send it back.

    If you made it this far thanks for reading, and thanks to anyone who can help me out.

    Jared
    Last edited by Gaara; 05-16-2007 at 10:44 AM.

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Why don't you call B&K? I had the "pop" on my before the upgrade to 317 but its been solid since then.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Mark,

    I tried calling them and they couldn't figure out why it only popped with very specific settings. They said my only option would be to send it in, which would take a minimum of 2 weeks...assuming they could figure out what the problem is. I would rather not be without my HT for 2 weeks during the summer, as I have been using it 2-3 times a day recently.

    I have found a away around the problem, by setting all the speakers to large and using my ICBM to do bass management. I just want to know if this is a isolated incident with my unit, and if I upgrade to a S2 if I will have the same problem.

    Jared

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Jared - You know, as I read your response it reminds me of a couple calls to them. They are pretty short when it comes to troubleshooting on the phone and the quick answer is just what you said....send it in.

    I seriously doubt that you would have the problem after the upgrade. I was really pleased with the service and my issues were solved.

    I'm glad you found a workaround but settle in and take the hit....time to upgrade.

    Mark

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    I used get a pop when I switch certain surround modes but I haven't noticed it lately. Probably since I've settled in on THX mode and don't ever change it anymore. The reason I remember hearing was that the switch in the AVR was a mechanical switch.
    Fronts - LS-90
    Center - CS-400i
    Sides - FX-1000
    Rears - AB755 (2)
    Sub - SVS 25-31 PC-Plus
    Amp - B&K AVR317

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Brushy Mtns, NC
    Posts
    832

    Default

    The upgrade took care of the usual pop and mine seems to have a better overall performance. What ever, it was definitely worth the time and effort of sending it back.
    polkaudio SRS (rdo194 x 8)
    Dodd ELP (separate power supply)
    JC 1 blocks ( strapped )
    Rega Apollo
    MIT (speaker cables) Outlaw (ICs)

    polkaudio SDA2(rdo194x4) (front) polkaudio CRS (rdo194x4)(rear) polkaudio 400i (center)
    B&K 505
    Samsung LCD
    VIP 622
    HSU STF-2

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    I need a little clarification, which upgrade is everyone talking about? I sent it in to fix the popping sound about 2 years ago and it fixed the problem (Firmware 2.0 upgrade I believe). That pop happened all the time, not to loud, through all speakers. Or is everyone talking about the upgrade from S1 to S2?

    This pop only happens when I have the unit set up a very specific way as outlined above, and only happens loudly through my back right speakers. It also sounds different tonally then the popping before.

    Thanks.

    Jared
    Last edited by Gaara; 05-18-2007 at 09:54 AM.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    I'm refering to my upgrade in regards to AVR307 to AVR317. I had the audible circuit pop on all changes in regards to soundfields. The upgrade to 317 essentially turned the unit into an AVR507 S1 internally. The upgrade resolved my problem.

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (27)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    2,367

    Default

    Yeah thats the upgrade that I got a few years ago. They changed the firmware to 2.0 and did some internal changes...I believe they added a muting circuit. It eliminated the pop coming from all speakers, but this is a different pop.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts