Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Hk Ez-set

  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massillon
    Posts
    188

    Default Hk Ez-set

    Recommend I Run This? I Have Had The Hk635 For A Few Years And Never Had? Will This Make It Sound Tons Better? I Have Made A Few Adjustments From Time To Time.....sorry Bout The Caps

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A.
    Posts
    3,194

    Default EzSet/EQ

    I recently bought a harman/kardon 147 (good connections, but much less powerful than yours) because AVS forum members seemed to suggest it was worth the extra to get the auto-calibration feature not present on the entry level 146.

    I am using four ten year old Polk "New MiniMonitors" and a CS245i. When I ran EzSet/EQ it set the crossovers at just 60Hz, and adjusted the output levels as well as the distances for all speakers and the subwoofer. I think it did a pretty good job and we have been very impressed by the capabilities of those modest little ol' MiniMons!

    The CW seems to be that nothing can beat an SPL meter though, so I now have one of those that I need to try out. It should be easy for you to write down your manual settings, and then run EzSet/EQ and see which settings you prefer. You can always go back and reset things to what you had before.

    In any case, EzSet does not seem to have the Audyssey flaw some mention on Onkyo receivers: setting the crossover far too high when it detects the presence of very weak rear speakers (frequently the case with Onkyo HTiB packages).

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    LSU, Louisiana "In a galaxy far far away"
    Posts
    4,100

    Default

    Run it hex..you will be pleased. You can do A/B test in the OSD.


    If not pleased then adjust the xover settings and rerun it in manual mode.

    MY EZ/EQ set the distance level almost exactly as my SPL meter. And it sets delay.
    Monitor 7b's front
    Monitor 4's surround
    Frankinpolk Center (2 mw6503's with peerless tweeter)
    M10's back surround
    Hafler-200 driving patio Daytons
    Tempest-X 15" DIY sub w/ Rythmik 350A plate amp
    Dayton 12" DVC w/ Rythmik 350a plate amp
    Harman/Kardon AVR-635
    Oppo 981hd
    Denon upconvert DVD player
    Jennings Research (vintage and rare)
    Mit RPTV WS-55513
    Tosh HD-XA1
    B&K AV5000


    Dont BAN me Bro!!!!

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4,500

    Default

    forget EZ Set. Go to RShack and throw some coin on a sound level meter - the analog one. And a Video Essentials disc. The only room calibration setup I trust even half-heartedly from an AVR is Pioneer's MCAAC.

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    LSU, Louisiana "In a galaxy far far away"
    Posts
    4,100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaharvel View Post
    forget EZ Set. Go to RShack and throw some coin on a sound level meter and a Video Essentials disc. The analog one. The only room calibration I trust even half-heartedly is Pioneer's MCAAC.
    But EZ Eq also does a great job on eq'ing the room. At least use it for that and recheck the levels with the SPL.

    If you dont like it...do a reset and your back to square one
    Monitor 7b's front
    Monitor 4's surround
    Frankinpolk Center (2 mw6503's with peerless tweeter)
    M10's back surround
    Hafler-200 driving patio Daytons
    Tempest-X 15" DIY sub w/ Rythmik 350A plate amp
    Dayton 12" DVC w/ Rythmik 350a plate amp
    Harman/Kardon AVR-635
    Oppo 981hd
    Denon upconvert DVD player
    Jennings Research (vintage and rare)
    Mit RPTV WS-55513
    Tosh HD-XA1
    B&K AV5000


    Dont BAN me Bro!!!!

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A.
    Posts
    3,194

    Default SPL meter choice

    Quote Originally Posted by aaharvel View Post
    ... Go to RShack and throw some coin on a sound level meter - the analog one. ...
    Why the analog one rather than the digital one?

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    LSU, Louisiana "In a galaxy far far away"
    Posts
    4,100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kex View Post
    Why the analog one rather than the digital one?

    To me the analog is actually easier to read and operate.
    Monitor 7b's front
    Monitor 4's surround
    Frankinpolk Center (2 mw6503's with peerless tweeter)
    M10's back surround
    Hafler-200 driving patio Daytons
    Tempest-X 15" DIY sub w/ Rythmik 350A plate amp
    Dayton 12" DVC w/ Rythmik 350a plate amp
    Harman/Kardon AVR-635
    Oppo 981hd
    Denon upconvert DVD player
    Jennings Research (vintage and rare)
    Mit RPTV WS-55513
    Tosh HD-XA1
    B&K AV5000


    Dont BAN me Bro!!!!

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A.
    Posts
    3,194

    Default Using the Digital Version SPL

    Quote Originally Posted by jakelm View Post
    To me the analog is actually easier to read and operate.
    You are probably right. I have had a quick try with the digital version and it is really annoying but I had thought that this was just because I hadn't taken the time to figure it out yet. If anyone has any tips for using this, I would love to hear from them!

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ashland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,208

    Default

    I found the room EQ adjustment to help improve the sound especially with my sub. It totally cleaned up the bass and tightened it. I found my (analog) Radio shack SPL meter to do a better job of adjusting the channel levels.

    I found an even bigger improvement when I listened to music in stereo mode with the DSP turned off. This can only be done using rca cables to connect the cd player.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Just got my hands on the 247 - I wired it all up - put everything back in place, placed the mic at head height where I sit and closed any doors that affected the dynamics. Turned it on and let it rip. Thought it did a great job. The only change I made was to move the crossover to 120Hz from the 100Hz that it picked.

    Upgrades will soon see a Csi5 and Rti10's...and will rerun it each time...

    Cheers

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A.
    Posts
    3,194

    Default

    Welcome SDG! This forum is somewhat more "closed" than some in my experience ... it takes time for members to warm up to you! Courage!

    Why did you prefer 120Hz to 100Hz?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts