Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default Internet Connection Problem

    Ok, so I'm having some difficulties with our connection.

    The wireless computer has been giving errors off and on, but repairing it has always got it back up and running. However, tonight I'm having problems with MY desktop connecting, and it's WIRED to the router. I've never had any difficulties with it before.

    However, for the last day or so several of my programs (AIM, MSN Messenger, xfire) would just randomly be disconnected and reconnect, and tonight I lost my connection completely. Repairing the network didn't work because it couldn't refresh the IP address. So I rebooted, viewed my network connections, it said I was connected, couldn't get anything online working, though. So I repaired it with the same success as before. So then I reset the cable modem and the router and rebooted again, and now I'm online.

    Why would I be having difficulties with my wire desktop? Is this signs that our old Linksys router is going out? Should I just go ahead and buy a new one? I'm not very fond of it anyways, so I want to do that, but if that's not the problem I want to know what IS the problem.

    Thanks!!
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    I just lost connection and had to reset the Linksys router again!

    What's this mean? If the router's on it's last leg, I'll just bring a WRT54G home from Walmart tomorrow.
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hot Springs,Arkanasas
    Posts
    555

    Default

    Yep same symtoms as when my linksys went out.
    TV: Philips 42" LCD 1080p
    Front Speakers: Polk Audio RT800i
    Center Speaker: Polk Audio CS1
    Surround Speakers: Polk Audio R50's powered of Denon AVR
    Subwoofer: Polk Audio DSW pro500
    AVR: Denon 3801
    DVD Player: Denon DVM 745 upscale 1080p
    Sat: Directtv HD 10
    Front Speakers Amp: Rotel RB 890
    Center Speaker amp: Rotel 970 BX

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6,974

    Default

    Try to wait a while for the Linksys to cool down first. I had the same experience with a few old Linksys routers - they overheat and fail. But it doesn't mean it's dead. Usually moving the unit to a well-ventilated, cooler location makes a world of difference.
    polkaudio RT35 Bookshelves
    polkaudio 255c-RT Inwalls
    polkaudio DSWPro550WI
    polkaudio XRT12 XM Tuner
    polkaudio RM6750 5.1

    Front projection, 2 channel, car audio... life is good!

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    My linksys is on 24/7/365 and will occassionally need to be powered off and on every month or two. However, I have discovered that my provider, Comcast, will drop the connection about twice a year for a few hours.

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, Florida
    Posts
    11,588

    Default

    I thought hubs died on the wireless side mainly not the wired side.

    But I say that just to say I'm surprised but not shocked that the wire side died. Anything can die, just me I replaced a ton of stuff everyday. ;)

    Speakers
    Carver Amazing Fronts
    CS400i Center
    RT800i's Rears
    Sub Paradigm Servo 15

    Electronics
    Conrad Johnson PV-5 pre-amp
    Parasound Halo A23
    Pioneer 84TXSi AVR
    Pioneer 79Avi DVD
    Sony CX400 CD changer
    Panasonic 42-PX60U Plasma
    WMC Win7 32bit HD DVR



  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    Hmm. I'm not sure what to do. I've been online fine now for about an hour or so. But I'd still really like to upgrade to something a bit less archaic!
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Annandale, Va
    Posts
    1,285

    Default

    Deathbed! heh, My first linksys loved to do that. Also, it should be mentioned, if you're engaging in any torrent downloading, the older linksys' have a fun habit of crashing routinely. I needed to get a firmware patch for my current one so that it wouldn't crap out when I downloaded stuff.
    Lovin that music year after year.

    Main 2 Channel System

    Polk SDA-1B,
    Promitheus Audio TVC SE,
    Rotel RB-980BX,
    OPPO DV-970HD,
    Lite Audio DAC AH,
    IXOS XHA305 Interconnects


    Computer Rig

    Polk SDA CRS+,
    Creek Audio 5350 SE,
    Morrow Audio MA1 Interconnect,
    HRT Music Streamer II

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    No torrents here. Just your typical browser and messengers.
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (5)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    If you disconnect the router and plug the desktop directly into the modem, does the problem go away. Of course, it can be a pain just to reconfigure the desktop for a direct connection depending on what your setup is.

    If the problem goes away, it's probably your router. Replace it.

    If the problem doesn't go away, the issue is with your PC (or O/S) or with the modem.

    Oh, yeah. Always check the connection. A bent Cat5 cable or a bad clip may give you intermittent problems.

    Good luck!

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    Thanks for the tip.
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Safely in my Faraday cage
    Posts
    1,840

    Default

    Same issue, same hub. When under load and generating heat, it would switch to using one IP/MAC addy for both/all computers. You can upgrade the firmware if you have the patience for such a thing, but you can also as easily 'brick' it during the attempt. If you want to give it a try, you might want to upgrade it with the open source firmware that will give you much more control over it. You can turn up/down the wattage on the radio etc.

    http://lifehacker.com/software/route...ter-178132.php

    I've yet to try it on the older Linksys, but I plan to over the winter.
    -Ignorance is strength -

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    LSU, Louisiana "In a galaxy far far away"
    Posts
    4,100

    Default

    And I was about to go get my wrt54g Linksys router today. Now problems with it already?
    Monitor 7b's front
    Monitor 4's surround
    Frankinpolk Center (2 mw6503's with peerless tweeter)
    M10's back surround
    Hafler-200 driving patio Daytons
    Tempest-X 15" DIY sub w/ Rythmik 350A plate amp
    Dayton 12" DVC w/ Rythmik 350a plate amp
    Harman/Kardon AVR-635
    Oppo 981hd
    Denon upconvert DVD player
    Jennings Research (vintage and rare)
    Mit RPTV WS-55513
    Tosh HD-XA1
    B&K AV5000


    Dont BAN me Bro!!!!

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (10)

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Safely in my Faraday cage
    Posts
    1,840

    Default

    It's better than any alternative that I've found. If you figure that they are on 24/7, and are capable of sending and receiving hundreds of terabytes in their life cycle, it's cheap. My average lifespan on them has been around 3 years, so at 60$, it's not even a set of wicked awesome Monster IC's.
    -Ignorance is strength -

  15. #15

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Allen, TX
    Posts
    1,041

    Default

    My Linksys wrt54g has been sitting behind a dresser on its end for 5 years running 24/7 and I have yet to have an issue. I have had to reset the router, modem, etc. periodically, but I don't consider that to be anything major when I might have to do it twice a year and it takes all of five minutes. Shoot, I didn't even update the firmware on it until a month or so ago.

    And there's about enough room between the wall and the dresser to fit the router. Just buy what you think will work best for you jakelm and what you feel most comfortable with. We have all had problems with all brands.
    Last edited by edbert; 11-09-2007 at 10:11 AM.
    I know just enough to be dangerous, but don't tell my wife, she thinks I'm a genius. :D

    Pioneer VSX-816
    Monitor 40's - fronts, bi-amped
    Monitor 30's - surrounds
    CS1 - center
    PSW10 - I'll let you guess
    Blue Jeans Cable - speaker cable
    Daewoo 27 incher - one step up from a console
    Sony Progressive scan DVD
    XBOX

    SOPA since 2008
    Here's my stuff.

  16. #16

    Member Sales Rating: (6)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NC/AR
    Posts
    11,295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SKsolutions View Post
    Same issue, same hub. When under load and generating heat, it would switch to using one IP/MAC addy for both/all computers. You can upgrade the firmware if you have the patience for such a thing, but you can also as easily 'brick' it during the attempt. If you want to give it a try, you might want to upgrade it with the open source firmware that will give you much more control over it. You can turn up/down the wattage on the radio etc.

    http://lifehacker.com/software/route...ter-178132.php

    I've yet to try it on the older Linksys, but I plan to over the winter.
    I updated it with the newest firmware listed for it on Linksys' website about a week ago.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakelm View Post
    And I was about to go get my wrt54g Linksys router today. Now problems with it already?
    No, no, we're using a much older router, NOT the WRT54G. If this turns out to be the router failing, the WRT54G is what I'm going to buy to replace it.
    Quote Originally Posted by George Grand View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jstas View Post
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    My Saga
    Equipment Pictures

    [2CH]
    Rotel RCD-02
    Yamaha KX-W900U
    Sony ST-S500ES
    Denon DP-7F
    Parasound P/HP-850
    Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-35


    [In Storage]
    Yamaha CDR-HD1300
    ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
    Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII


    [Car System]
    Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP
    Memphis 16-MCA3004
    Boston Acoustic RC520

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Internet problem, can't access certain websites..
    By Face in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 01:05 PM
  2. Problem with High Speed Cable Internet
    By exalted512 in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 90
    Last Post: 12-19-2006, 09:12 AM
  3. Internet Explorer 7
    By MacLeod in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 10-19-2006, 08:53 PM
  4. Internet Problem!!!
    By audiobliss in forum The Clubhouse
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-18-2006, 03:58 PM
  5. Connection problem PWS 1000 to Yamaha RX-V2600
    By toneil7163 in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-16-2005, 11:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts