Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    173

    Default HDMi connection question.

    So i decided to ditch the component cables and go HDMI off my cable box. My problem is now that i have done so the optical wont output DD or DTS off the box, just PCM which sux IMO. As soon as i disconnect the HDMI it switchs back to the good stuff.

    I have the POS Scientific Atlanta frm time wrnr. I tried everything even the optical out on the tv which doesnt wrk. I figured it would just pass the digital frm the HDMI to the optical out but it doesnt.

    I wish the AVR had HDMI. Anyone have an idea how to get it to wrk?
    Onkyo TX-NR801
    Fronts- RTi 10's
    Center- CSi5
    Rear- Coming Soon
    Sub- Velo DPS-10
    Pwr- Monster HTS 3600
    LCD- KDL-40XBR2

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    173

    Default

    Im just gonna go back to component.
    Onkyo TX-NR801
    Fronts- RTi 10's
    Center- CSi5
    Rear- Coming Soon
    Sub- Velo DPS-10
    Pwr- Monster HTS 3600
    LCD- KDL-40XBR2

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    1,892

    Default

    I know some do and some don't, my Directv HDDVR will do what you are describing, but the older model wouldn't...It's really a crapshoot man....My HDA2 HDDVD player will do what you are describing as well...
    Quote Originally Posted by troyd
    Who cares if mainstream pop is released in SACD? In most cases, that amounts to polishing a turd.
    Quote Originally Posted by dorokusai
    Have you ever felt the legs of a female equestrian on your head?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    173

    Default

    Im not alone on this one i guess.
    Onkyo TX-NR801
    Fronts- RTi 10's
    Center- CSi5
    Rear- Coming Soon
    Sub- Velo DPS-10
    Pwr- Monster HTS 3600
    LCD- KDL-40XBR2

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    1,892

    Default

    Have you checked the audio/video setting menus for the box? I know I had to change the settings on my units when I set the up this way....
    Quote Originally Posted by troyd
    Who cares if mainstream pop is released in SACD? In most cases, that amounts to polishing a turd.
    Quote Originally Posted by dorokusai
    Have you ever felt the legs of a female equestrian on your head?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. LSi9 wiring connection question
    By stardrek in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 03:42 AM
  2. General Sub Wiring Connection Question
    By vinkalmann in forum Subwoofer Hookup & Bass Management
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-20-2007, 05:50 PM
  3. Sub connection question
    By tcrossma in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-19-2007, 08:11 AM
  4. speaker connection question
    By Larry D in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-01-2006, 11:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts