Buy Direct M-F 9am - 10:30pm EST 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wheatfield, Kansas
    Posts
    1,457

    Default What does this look like?

    This really looks like a stock photo superimposed on a stereo rack background; or has the guy just emphasized the unit that is for sale?


    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...TODAY.m238.lVI

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    693

    Default

    Something funny is going on there... not sure what.
    My system

    "The world is an ever evolving clusterf*ck." --treitz3

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    8,008

    Default

    Looks like it's on the rack because of the window reflection on the back of the unit that's cropped by the above shelf of the rack.........
    .
    comment comment comment comment. bitchy.
    .
    http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/7995/meterdq8.gif

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    15,831

    Default

    either way.. it's not cheap.. over $500

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (4)

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denial...it's in Egypt.
    Posts
    12,639

    Default

    That's an easy trick to do with Photoshop or GiMP. Just easier to bring attention to the item you are trying to sell. I don't think it looks bogus but when you make the rest of the picture translucent like that, glare from a camera flash can seem like it's coming from somewhere else behind the subject of the photo. Also, you get the optical illusion that the full color subject of the photo is bigger than everything else in the photo.
    You're just jealous 'cause the voices don't talk to you!

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    132

    Default

    But it appears to have cables running through its image. And doesn't seem to be at the same attitude as the Sony below it, unless it's lifted up or something.

    Something looks fishy. He's got something else with doctored pics.
    - Onkyo TX-SR805
    - Polk RTi8's Main L/R's
    - Polk CSi A6 Center
    - Polk FXi3 Surrounds/Rear Surrounds
    - HSU VFT-2 MK3

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (3)

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    3,863

    Default

    No sales or feedback plus an obvious photoshop job.

    Definitely avoid this one!
    I'm not saying she's a slut, but if her vagina had a password...it would be password.

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    132

    Default

    I emailed for fun. We'll see how or if they respond. :D
    - Onkyo TX-SR805
    - Polk RTi8's Main L/R's
    - Polk CSi A6 Center
    - Polk FXi3 Surrounds/Rear Surrounds
    - HSU VFT-2 MK3

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (28)

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Powder Springs, GA
    Posts
    4,898

    Default

    Yes, avoid 0 feedback sellers. They are usually not legit. Only way to do something like that is if its local and can see the item personally. Notice the high bidder also has 0 feedback? Its either a shill bid or a dumbass bidder who is about to get scammed.

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    8,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by J_Kennedy View Post
    But it appears to have cables running through its image. And doesn't seem to be at the same attitude as the Sony below it, unless it's lifted up or something.
    The cables are reflecting that are hanging down and that looks normal to me.........if he responds go for it, but i dont' think the pic looks like anything is wrong with it,...........
    .
    comment comment comment comment. bitchy.
    .
    http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/7995/meterdq8.gif

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    'Bubba' land
    Posts
    4,650

    Default

    I like in the description: "May be returned for full value"???
    Naaaawww, that's NOT stolen!!!
    I refuse to argue with idiots, because people can't tell the DIFFERENCE!

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Yellowknife, NT
    Posts
    6,112

    Default

    Pure scam on that one.
    Michael ;)
    In the beginning, all knowledge was new!

    NORTH of 60°

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (43)

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    15,924

    Default

    It's one of the only worthy pre amps Adcom made, but I wouldn't pay that much even if it didn't look suspicious.
    Please. Please contact me a ben62670 @ yahoo.com. Make sure to include who you are, and you are from Polk so I don't delete your email. Also I am now physically unable to work on any projects. If you need help let these guys know. There are many people who will help if you let them know where you are.
    Thanks
    Ben

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (21)

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wheatfield, Kansas
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    The guy emailed me back and said he was trying to learn how ebay worked. The unit sold for $785. I have the Adcom 565, sorry Ben, and thought about getting this, but it really made me nervous. Why not use A-gon if selling high end stuff?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts