Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    27

    Default Sub box wiring question

    Hey, this is a repost from a different(wrong) section, i apologize if anyone is reading this twice.

    Hey all, my first post here, so complete noob as it stands.
    I've just purchased and built a box for two MM2124 SVC subs. I'm going to use my current a800t monoblock audiobahn amp(yeah i know it's not great quality but i can't afford a new one atm) to power them.
    I'm wiring them in parallel which satisfies my power/resistence requirements..
    My only problem is actually implementing it. I was initially going to just install a terminal in the side of the box and have two wires running off the positive and negative terminals two each of the speakers, but i've since heard there's a fair bit of signal loss in using a terminal.

    So my question in short is how do i wire my subs in parallel with minimal signal loss where i split my positive and negative wires? If that makes sense..
    Any help is much appreciated. Cheers.. :)

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,180

    Default

    The answer is to solder the wires.

    If you can't solder, don't sweat it. If this kind of stuff keeps you up at night, get out of DIY audio.

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShinAce View Post
    The answer is to solder the wires.

    If you can't solder, don't sweat it. If this kind of stuff keeps you up at night, get out of DIY audio.
    I'm right to solder the wires, but i'd need a signal filter or something afterwards wouldn't I?

  4. #4

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,827

    Default

    Im not quite as fancy as other installers. I just use the terminals on the Momo sub and drill a hole thru the box and run the wires thru it then seal it up with silicone. It aint pretty but works.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post
    Im not quite as fancy as other installers. I just use the terminals on the Momo sub and drill a hole thru the box and run the wires thru it then seal it up with silicone. It aint pretty but works.
    that would've been my first instinct, but i've got myself some good quality 12 gauge wire and there's no way the terminals on the subs are gonna fit two lots of them..:(

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,827

    Default

    They should fit 12 gauge. My MM2104 is wired with 12 gauge and it fits fine.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Laker City (LA), CA
    Posts
    1,071

    Default

    i took my time (a lot of time) and was able to get these to fit inside of the terminals on the subs, but not the box, from the amp to box, i used the BIG monster cable and then doubled up the speaker wire to each point. http://www.monstercable.com/mpc/prod...3&section=four
    2013 Toyota Prius
    Audible Physics 3 Way: H6MB, AR3-A, AR2.0
    Image Dynamics iDMax 12" D2v4
    (2) Alpine PDX-V9 Bridged, Alpine PDX-M12 (500w Mid-Bass, 200w Mid, 200w Tweet, 1200w Sub)
    Mosconi 6to8 v8

  8. #8

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,180

    Default

    You can always solder all wires and then terminate with slip on terminals(solder these too).

    We are talking about getting the wires to the subwoofer tabs, right?

  9. #9

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,175

    Default

    You can just cut half the strands off of each speaker wire, twist them together, then stick it in the terminal. No signal loss.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  10. #10

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    27

    Default

    really? i would've thought that would've definitely meant signal loss.. or am i being naive

  11. #11

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Back from Japan in Clover, SC
    Posts
    7,864
    Shoot the jumper.....................BALLIN.............!!!! !

    Home Theater Pics in the Showcase

    http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/show...p?userid=73580

  12. #12

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    7,175

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by discopigg View Post
    really? i would've thought that would've definitely meant signal loss.. or am i being naive
    Youre just being naive:p
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it

  13. #13

    Member Sales Rating: (1)

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,180

    Default

    Look at the leads on the sub itself. The voice coil is much thinner still.

  14. #14

    Member Sales Rating: (0)

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    11,827

    Default

    It wont mean signal loss and the reason is resistance or rather a lack of. Having the wires reduced in size only inches from the terminals wont add up to enough resistance to reduce the signal.

    Actually you could run 14 gauge wire all the way from the amp to the sub and be fine for the same reason. Unless youre sub is going to be 20' away from the amp or youre going to be running 1000+ watts, 14 gauge will be fine.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

    polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Bi- amp wiring question
    By dfranks in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 08:14 PM
  2. Wiring question
    By Redrum-Det in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2007, 04:54 PM
  3. wiring question
    By simba_1984 in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-2005, 05:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts