Free Shipping on All Orders 1-866-764-1801

Vist our Online Store
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Member Sales Rating: (11)

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    516

    Default installing new tubes

    a friend of mine is installing new tubes on his tube amp for his bass. another friend of mine said he thought you were supposed to prep them before installing them or they will blow very soon. is this true or is he smoking crack?

  2. #2

    Member Sales Rating: (13)

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Beautiful Central Oregon Coast
    Posts
    4,132

    Default

    He probably read something online like this regarding the use of surplus (old) tubes. Not sure everyone would necessarily agree with this, I think it's just someones theory.
    http://www.nd2x.net/tube-prep.html

  3. #3

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    The must be installed while naked and strapped, by leg irons, to an 18ft ground rod.

    Just ensure the pins and sockets are clean.
    Last edited by dorokusai; 03-25-2008 at 06:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Audiophile
    Member Sales Rating: (30)

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    11,184

    Default

    I heard the best way to do this is to install the tubes with the amp already on. :p

    I also like the "a friend of mine".

  5. #5

    Member Sales Rating: (8)

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    3,044

    Default

    colombian gold

  6. #6

    Member Sales Rating: (2)

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    504

    Default

    Perhaps he was referring to tube biasing? Only amps that need to be biased, need biasing with a new set of output tubes. Failure to do so could result in premature tube death.
    Tannoy Dimension TD10, SOTA Star Sapphire, Heathkit W4A's, McIntosh MC2100, Eddie-Current Zana Deux, Singlepower SDS, Sennheiser HD650, Audio-Technica L3000, Sony Qualia 010

  7. #7

    Member Sales Rating: (58)

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    6 Underground
    Posts
    25,306

    Default

    Perhaps.

    You need to bias with a tube installed and if you change them, you should certainly re-bias them. This is covered in every user manual on the planet and if you don't understand this without a manual....you shouldn't own a tube amplifier.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Installing RDO 194s
    By polktiger in forum Vintage Speakers
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 03:36 PM
  2. installing new sys
    By gizsmo0 in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2006, 05:35 PM
  3. Installing speakers
    By admann in forum Car Audio & Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 02:53 AM
  4. 1st time installing on own
    By kyle_252 in forum Basic Hookup/Wiring Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2004, 12:41 AM
  5. installing subs, in need of help
    By jason in forum Car Subwoofer Talk
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-17-2003, 11:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts